We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's very easy to panegyrize this place...”
Review of Hotel Penzance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Penzance
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I sat in the conservatory of this wonderful place watching the sunset over Mounts Bay. I overheard a guy at the bar say to a staff member: "This place is a real find" & Indeed it is. I too wanted to indulge in panegyric about this place but I truly believe one simply has to visit this atmospheric piece of heaven to really absorb what a proper hotel should be like. In the Sunday Telegraph, Fiona Duncan previewed the ''Abbey Hotel'' as the best place in Penzance. She is wrong & you only have to come here to see these polite, warm, über friendly staff gently "doing the do" without drawing attention to themselves as indeed, can be said of the building itself. Ask for room 16 for the best view & please indulge in high tea in the lounge which is redolent of all that makes England very special. Very special.

Room Tip: Room 16 has my favourite view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Xanthe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Got a deal via the Telegraph newspaper which made this place excellent value.

Service was always friendly and attentive. Breakfast and afternoon were both very good, especially considering they were included in the price at no additional fee.

Room was clean and well appointed with a decent TV and great view out towards the Atlantic.

You won't find anywhere better for value for money in the area I suspect.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aarond83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

First impressions of the hotel were very good and I am pleased to say they were maintained.
The room was as expected with a sea view, breakfast was excellent and the restaurant was so good we returned for the second night.
The hotel also has some very nice touches such as a complementary afternoon tea with cake which was very enjoyable. There was a good choice of places to sit and relax and enjoy the view. The staff were excellent and added to the enjoyment of the stay. I recommend the hotel and I will come to stay again.

Room Tip: Seaview or superior rooms are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janner37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Wonderful waterview hotel with impeccable service. The hotel location is ideal if you are arriving by train as it is a short, albeit steep walk up the hill to the hotel. Parking is also available if you were to drive. I love the fact that the hotel is a combination of old townhouses that twist and wind to get from your room to the lobby to the restaurant. We had a waterfront room overlooking the harbor and St Michael's Mount (which you must visit, more on that later) everything in the room was up-to-date and very comfortable. How nice to be welcomed daily with tea and homemade cakes in the afternoon (part of their "make the customer happy"). Buffet breakfast was lovely with all the traditional favorites served overlooking the pool, the water, and The Mount, where one is never rushed and always feels that you could sit there all day reading the paper while your tea is refilled. Interestingly enough, we met a local gentleman that came every moring to have tea and sit on the balcony enjoying the views, it must be ideal if the local people enjoy the hotel also. We did not have dinner in the restaurant, but by judging the breakfast food I am sure it is delectable.
One employee, Peter, makes you feel that any request is important, from when to visit The Mount, directions to Lands End or the best fish and chip shop in town. I generally have a "Peter Rabbit" syndrome and as a result left an article of clothing in the room. Peter returned it to my home and I appreciated the extra effort to do so.
As promised, more on The Mount, this is such fun for you can walk on the causeway from the mainland to get to the island and Medieval castle, but only at high tide. If you stay too long or do not judge your time properly you are stuck, haha, well in fact, there is a little boat that will take you back, but that is not the fun of it. St Michael's Mount is a Natioal Trust property and delightful for children as well as adults.
We so enjoyed ourselves that we are looking to return and book two weeks there in the spring.

Room Tip: Walk from the train station, go for the extra money for the waterview rooms, the view at night with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NordicSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We have stayed here twice now and have not been remotely disappointed. The staff are second to none in terms of helpfulness and politeness and the food and ambiance are wonderful. We ate in the restaurant and found the food and service both excellent - not cheap admittedly, but on a par with the prices we have paid elsewhere for the same or worse quality. We will be back.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the top floor in the eaves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Spent a couple of nights at this hotel and was pretty much all of the other reviews have said what a lovely 'old school' hotel where the customer does matter and service is what counts.
My only complaint about the place was the restaurant........................
This is a Michelin wannabe however it falls a long way short of the mark, they charge around £25 for 2 courses which is obviously not aiming for the budget market, however my food wasn't cooked properly and was quite frankly rather bland and the seafood wasn't very fresh, I had the feeling the cook had been pre cooked and zapped in the microwave to order.
While this restaurant as had glowing local reviews in the past standards have slipped to the point that maybe a surprise and more current review is required to reflect current standards, I don't mind spending £40+ per head but expect value for money when I do.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UK_EP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehribar, Owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Thank you for your thoughts and concerns about our hotel and restaurant, we do care that all our guests leave us completely happy with our service.
As I cannot identify from your review just when you stayed, or what you ate in the restaurant, I can, categorically assure you that our fish is delivered in fresh daily from St Ives, and we cook a la carte, never pre cooking nor using a microwave.
Our evening a la carte 2 course menu presently is priced at £24.50 up to £49 for our tasting menu. However our Menu du Jour, available from noon 'til 6.30 is only £11.95 for 2 courses or £15.95 for three. A price range suitable for most tastes and budgets.
We do have assessments made 'secret shopper' style several times a year, and have up to date reviews on many sites, including the AA, Which Good Food Guide and Michelin. I'm sorry that you don't share the general view that we are a place to enjoy a celebration, where service is given with a smile, and food is freshly prepared to order by skilled chefs. We are not at the cutting edge in a city, but we do try hard to provide a level of service and style that our customers appreciate, and we listen carefully to any constructive criticism.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Lovely boutique style hotel, very accommodating for families and a beautiful view of St Michael's Mount. We stayed here for one night in a large room at the top of the hotel- big enough for 6 month old in travel cot and 3 year old on small sofa with a great big bed for Mum & Dad. The Bay Restaurant is part of the hotel and serves delicious, mostly local cuisine. It is pricey but worth it for a treat. Breakfast was in the Bay Restaurant and was very good indeed. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating for our young family. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKTravellerLiz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
1.2 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
487 reviews
1.4 km away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
234 reviews
7.1 km away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
5.1 km away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
9.7 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penzance

Address: Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range: $171 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penzance 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star independent Town House Hotel. Converted from 2 Edwardian merchant's houses and perched on a hill overlooking the busy Penzance waterfront and harbour. 25 individual rooms over 3 floors with warmth, comfort and service a priority. Open all year with a 2 rosette restaurant - The Bay Penzance - Ideally situated for all the sites of West Cornwall from The Lizard to St Ives and the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing