We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (907)
Filter reviews
907 results
Traveller rating
550
238
71
30
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
238
71
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bay restaurant groupon deal steep hill car park lovely hotel sea view honesty bar st michael's mount no lift on arrival breakfast and dinner short break mounts bay both mornings poached eggs cream tea one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 907 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel nice friendly staff and spotless everywhere.
Very warm and welcoming, fire in reception very warm.
Room 8 has lovely views and was pretty quiet, your always going to hear people mooching about but stayed in places a lot more noisey.
Robes supplied clean and appeared newish, however no complementary shave kits, toothbrush etc
Only fault is breakfast.
A nice array of fruit and cereals if you like that for breakfast, I am more of a full English chap.
Day one I was amazed at the portion size very small more suited to a borrower, and just warm, not hot borderline sending it back and waitress was informed.
Day 2 was better heat wise but again not hot just warm.
We were also told “there are no mushrooms today as we have run out” firstly you shouldn’t run out as you know how many people are booked in, secondly there is a shop nearby.
Maybe something should have been offered as an alternative.
The toasters should be regarded in the same way as a Spanish sunbed get it in early and expect a good 5 mins to brown it.
It’s fine and location is ideal just a few mins from rail station and edge of town.
Didn’t eat meal in restaurant as we like to explore so cannot comment.
For the price we paid it was the top of its money, we have stayed in better hotels at a lower price.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank PuttyDood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerPenzance, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Dear Guests, it was our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel and hope we made your birthday special. Complimentary shave kits and toothbrushes are available from reception on request, as stated in our room compendium. Your comments have been noted regarding breakfast which is a continental buffet PLUS a full English breakfast cooked to order. Training is ongoing here at the Hotel Penzance and your comments will be used as a training exercise. We trust you had a safe journey onward and look forward to seeing you again when next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

Having arrived late due to the train being delayed we were met by a very helpful man who couldn't have made are late arrival more pleasant and relaxed.shown to our room which had lovely views over the town and harbour in the background (not docks).Everything was excellent staff,rooms and the food was excellent .A wonderful place for a base we WILL be back .

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank nettle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerPenzance, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Dear Guests, many thanks for your five star review. We are all very happy you had an excellent stay and look forward to welcoming you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

Mismatched dusty furniture & fittings, mould on the windows, broken blind I booked through a hotel booking company a superior double room with Seaview the view from our room was of the docs and the bus station a very small room on the webpage the picture rooms look huge when I complained they explained that the superior larger rooms were given to people the book directly through their website and stayed for longer I already booked to stay seven days in June @ £220 per night I needed to cancel that booking with the attitude of the staff who are very Defensive of the hotel And cannot see any of the faults I recommend they call the hotel inspector or get a review from four in a bed I spoke to people at breakfast and they agreed the rooms were very small and mismatched furniture but I think they were afraid to complain as they were elderly and didn’t want to be bullied by the staff

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank anthonyq790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018

very good value groupon deal. hotel well situated, few yards from promenade, albeit on a steep hill.voucher included afternoon tea and dinner, these have to be taken on the same day of arrival. not a problem as afternoon tea was scones with tea and prosecco, and dinner is just main course. room was on top floor, beware no lift. good view, and room looked very comfortable. don't know whether room hadn't been used for a while, but took a long time to run off brown water in hot taps. basin tap very dodgy, had been repaired before. the real negative was how noisy the room was,could hear conversations above tv next door, and bathroom on the other side. I understand other rooms similar. the real positive is the restaurant, very good food. cocktails 2 for 1 between 5 and 6, complimentary afternoon tea in lounge. public rooms attractive and staff pleasant.

Room Tip: dont know if any rooms quieter, but obviously stairs could be a problem
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sphinx304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerPenzance, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Dear Guests, glad you found us great value for money and enjoyed the services we provided, and the spectacular views from your room. There is always a member of the team on hand to help with luggage and trust you had a safe journey home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018

We had a Groupon deal purchased for us as a present for a weekend break here. I was truly surprised by the quality of the hotel and staff. Upon arrival we were shown to our room, a very beautifully decorated room on the ground floor with amazing views over Penzance and the sea. The staff here are very friendly and the rooms super clean, great coffee in the rooms or free tea coffee and cakes later in the day in one of the many little rooms to sit and relax in. Also a great honesty bar with a decent choice. Although on a steep hill, you can easily walk into the town and visit many of the local bars etc. We ate in on the first night, the food was very good and a reasonable list of wines to accompany the meals. It also has one of the best Breakfast menus of all the hotels I have ever stayed at, lots of decent choices and no ridiculous supplements. A great base to explore the many wonderful places within easy reach of Penzance, this is the first time I've been to Cornwall, but it wont be the last and I would highly recommend this hotel and stay here again. Thanks for a wonderful weekend!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerPenzance, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Dear Guests, thank you for your positive review and glad you had a pleasant surprise by the quality of your room and the service the team provided on your weekend break. We are looking forward to welcoming you again next time so you can explore more of Penzance and West Penwith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews