We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
40
15
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
15
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews treasure chest attention to detail room was large west cornwall yogurt mousehole host bedside sea
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 60 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2015 via mobile

This guest house is beautifully decorated & breakfast was beautifully presented.
Bed Room was spotlessly clean & all toiletries provided
Staff are wonderful .
We stayed for a week ! Would recommend a stay here.this guest house positioned just off the promenade! Local restaurants serve wonderful food .

Date of stay: September 2015
Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2015

Summer house can be found just off the main coast road and is surprisingly quiet. Jonathan and his crew are wonderful,full of local knowledge and make you feel at home immediately. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are well decorated and comfortable with all the extras you come to expect- tea and coffee making facilities, bottled water, bathroom accessories etc. Breakfast is a casual affair, which I really like. Wander down when you're up and ready and tuck into a variety of fruits, natural yogurt, cereals, croissants and toast. Then, if there's room, a full Cornish cooked breakfast all washed down with fruit juices, tea and coffee. You are given keys so can come and go whenever, it is so relaxed. There is parking around the back, which is a godsend due to the small roads and amount of cars around, although space can be limited but we had no trouble. I would go back again tomorrow. Just one slight improvement could be made and that would be the 'matress' in our room. When paying decent money a proper matress should be provided, but having said that it didn't spoil our stay, my husband has a bad back so needs proper support.

Room tip: Have a Georgian room that overlooks the garden. Ours was over the road and there is a local pub next door.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicolaLevett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

Spent a lovely weekend in The Summerhouse, Penzance. A stunning B&B superbly run by Jonathon and his small team. Rooms are a divine and calm seaside theme. Very tranquil and extremely comfortable with high quality finish but with reasonable price. House has a homely feel with fab private collection of art work and antiques. Breakfast is to die for. All locally sourced produce cooked and presented to perfection. Good choice of fruit, cereal, meats and cheeses along with choice of full Cornish cooked sausages, bacon etc or scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Gorgeous court yard is a sun trap. Had a cold glass of wine before venturing out...Jonathan kindly supplied us with another bottle too! Just up the road is lovely town and harbour. Plenty of places to eat and drink. We went to see or team Aberavon Wizards play a friendly against the Cornish Pirates , sadly we lost. But had the most amazing welcome. Highly recommend The Summerhouse and we will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2015

We received a very warm and friendly welcome from Jonathan on arrival. Our room was light and bright and with a shower only so you didn't have to climb into a bath to have a shower. The house is lovely with a nice garden to sit in and also a very comfortable and spacious lounge inside. Breakfast was terrific with plenty of selections. Jonathan and Catherine were both very helpful with suggestions of places to visit - well known ones and less known ones - and scenic routes to follow. The foreshore is at the end of the street and it is also an easy walk into the town centre for restaurants and pubs, etc. We would definitely stay here again but for more than 2 days.

Date of stay: August 2015
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2015

We have recently returned from a lovely two night stay at this hotel. The hotel was perfectly located for us - lovely and quiet. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, the staff very friendly, the breakfast was fantastic, bed very comfy and the shower was super - only 1 VERY MINOR point - the shower could do with a rack for toiletries - if I was visiting the area again I would definitely stay again and would highly recommend it to others. Thanks for a great couple of nights!

Date of stay: July 2015
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews