We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
40
15
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
15
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews treasure chest attention to detail room was large west cornwall yogurt mousehole host bedside sea
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 60 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2015

A really great find. Rooms lovely albeit a bit small. Service and eagerness to help was second to none. Breakfast was definitely the nicest cooked breakfast I have ever had. Lovely touches like a pre-dinner drink on the house if you want to attend at 6.30. Brilliant location , the Newlan side of Penzance , which is by far the nicest. Great to have a car park

Room Tip: one with a King bed would be great as a double felt small
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jollyCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2015

Jonathan, proprietor of The SUMMER HOUSE, gives a copy book example of how a well run `guest house` can be just that. `GUEST` is not just a word for Jonathan, its a concept. It goes beyond a quick `meet & greet`. We were treated like friends staying for the weekend, Nothing was too much trouble.
The house itself is light, gracious and warm. I was most impressed that when ambient daytime temperatures plummeted, even though it was very early September, without having to ask, the heating was turned on. Wouldn`t happen everywhere without a firm request!
The bedroom (no 4) was small in dimension, but perfectly formed. Everything conveniently to hand. Décor was bright and breezy modern beach hut style, yet did not feel stark, warmer in feel than many rooms furnished in that genre. All plugs, shelves etc were right where you wanted them to be. Make up mirror by the window in the bathroom, and the lighting everywhere was superb. At last, a bedside light that you could actually read by, even thread a needle if you had been so inclined.
Breakfast was marvellous. High quality ingredients, served promptly and piping hot. The Cornish croissants were the best I have tasted anywhere, including France!
Jonathon was previously an art dealer and this is expressed in the very fine paintings to be admired in the public spaces of the house. I very much enjoyed relaxing in the downstairs reception room and chatting to our host.
To summarise, THE SUMMER HOUSE is conveniently located close to town in a quiet area. It has parking (but phone first to check there is space) . If you prefer to whisper to your partner across the breakfast table taking furtive side long glances at other guests, then don`t go! This is the place to go if you enjoy meeting other guests,
being cossetted during your stay and have a curious mind that is happy to tap into a very attentive host. Thank you Jonathan! Sandy G.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sandy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2015 via mobile

This guest house is beautifully decorated & breakfast was beautifully presented.
Bed Room was spotlessly clean & all toiletries provided
Staff are wonderful .
We stayed for a week ! Would recommend a stay here.this guest house positioned just off the promenade! Local restaurants serve wonderful food .

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2015

Summer house can be found just off the main coast road and is surprisingly quiet. Jonathan and his crew are wonderful,full of local knowledge and make you feel at home immediately. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are well decorated and comfortable with all the extras you come to expect- tea and coffee making facilities, bottled water, bathroom accessories etc. Breakfast is a casual affair, which I really like. Wander down when you're up and ready and tuck into a variety of fruits, natural yogurt, cereals, croissants and toast. Then, if there's room, a full Cornish cooked breakfast all washed down with fruit juices, tea and coffee. You are given keys so can come and go whenever, it is so relaxed. There is parking around the back, which is a godsend due to the small roads and amount of cars around, although space can be limited but we had no trouble. I would go back again tomorrow. Just one slight improvement could be made and that would be the 'matress' in our room. When paying decent money a proper matress should be provided, but having said that it didn't spoil our stay, my husband has a bad back so needs proper support.

Room Tip: Have a Georgian room that overlooks the garden. Ours was over the road and there is a local pub next door.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicolaLevett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

Spent a lovely weekend in The Summerhouse, Penzance. A stunning B&B superbly run by Jonathon and his small team. Rooms are a divine and calm seaside theme. Very tranquil and extremely comfortable with high quality finish but with reasonable price. House has a homely feel with fab private collection of art work and antiques. Breakfast is to die for. All locally sourced produce cooked and presented to perfection. Good choice of fruit, cereal, meats and cheeses along with choice of full Cornish cooked sausages, bacon etc or scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Gorgeous court yard is a sun trap. Had a cold glass of wine before venturing out...Jonathan kindly supplied us with another bottle too! Just up the road is lovely town and harbour. Plenty of places to eat and drink. We went to see or team Aberavon Wizards play a friendly against the Cornish Pirates , sadly we lost. But had the most amazing welcome. Highly recommend The Summerhouse and we will definitely be returning.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews