We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic views”
other travellers have booked this property
Fabulous apartment in 18th Century Castle overlooking the sea sleeps 4
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fabulous apartment in 18th Century Castle overlooking the sea sleeps 4
Looking out to sea from the castle grounds in front of the apartment. The coast as viewed from Castle grounds.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Fabulous apartment in 18th Century Castle overlooking the sea sleeps 4
Looking out to sea from the castle grounds in front of the apartment.
The coast as viewed from Castle grounds.
View from Acton Castle
Living room - comfortable and bright
Garden view to sea.
bunk room
Well equipped kitchen
View out to sea from living room
View of St Michaels Mount from the Castle grounds
Living area
Entrance to castle
Double bedroom with ensuite
St Michaels Mount only 5 minute drive away
Bathroom with original hand painted tiles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Chawright
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I really enjoyed my stay at Acton Castle. It is a bit remote but the views were stunning. It is a good location for viewing the sites in this part of Cornwall. The apartment was very spacious and well equipped. Everything that I needed was provided.The apartment has loads of storage. Having the toilet downstairs might be a problem to some people; not suitable if you have mobility issues. Some of the fixtures were a bit tired looking; maybe because it was the end of the main season. I didn't use the apartment for main meals so I coped OK.
The food at the nearby pub was delicious, but you do need to book.
Overall a great experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, and we are glad you enjoyed the apartment. We are always keen to receive feedback, and will ensure we take time to have a good look at all the fixtures to see where we can update and improve going forward. Kind regards, the team at Cornish Seaview Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelleb...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We absolutly loved it especially the view of St Michaels Mount”
Reviewed March 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2014

The property was in a lovely setting with fabulous views, ideal for relaxing on a summers night , the residential apartment that we stayed in was beautiful everything you need (home from home ) the pub was on the main road "it is called the Falmouth Packet " they served lovely meals a bit on the pricey side but well worth it will visit again this year when we are around the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort and the feel of home as well as the views
Liked least: distance from the main road but it was'nt a problem
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Acton Castle. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time there. Kind regards from the team at Cornish Seaview Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merc158
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical and very romantic”
Reviewed March 3, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at Acton Castle, the property had everything we needed, and the heating was working well, which is always a worry in February! The castle is conveniently located and we found plenty to do in the surrounding area. A true gem.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2015
Many thanks for your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! From the team at Cornish Seaview Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sas1512
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location with 5 star potential.”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

When we arrived we were stunned by the beauty and peacefulness of the location. The property is easy find but the once you turn of the main road, there is a more than a mile of narrow country lane and 3/4 mile on a track across a farm.
The building is just as impressive as in the picture and the garden and views are even better. The Garden Appartment is approached by the flight of stairs in the middle of the picture. The sitting room is on the first floor so it has great views. Although the information says that the bedroom are downstairs, I had not expected the living area would be on the first floor. The bedroom are slightly below ground level but one has an external door which we wished we had found before taking our suitcases in via the front door. There are 15 stone steps, (like the external ones), down to the bedrooms. These gives the place a real castle feel, but since all of the toilets are all on this level, the charm does wear off.
The Appartment was created around the turn of the century. The Castle had been an hotel before the conversion. The sitting room is has lovely proportion, but Kitchen looks as if it may have been part of the hotel reception. It is a internal room with a glazed area between it and the hallway. It was not very pleasant to work in in May, but I think it would get even warmer in the summer. The kitchen has everything you need but the equipment mainly dates back to the time of the conversion.
In fact all of furnishing and equipment is dated. We had a particular problem relating to the heating. The Appartment is heated by old style storage heaters and it was difficult moderate the heat. The bathrooms have old fashioned electric oil filled radiators, which overlap the WCs. Unfortunately, after eating in the local village pub my husband developed food poisioning. He spent sometime in the bathroom that evening and caught his leg on the radiator. The resulting burn required hospital treatment plus 10 weeks nursing care. The Appartment has a first aid kit, but unfortunately the contents had not been replaced so I had retrieve our kit from the car in the dark and lashing rain.
A great location. But the Appartment is in need of upgrading. We did not have a good stay and I certainly have concerns about the overall safety of the rental accommodation. The agent was very understanding and was able to allow us to stay on until my husband was fit to travel. Our car performed well over farm track but did pick up a few scratches in the lane. I would not recommend to families with young children or to older visitors but if you are looking for a beautiful and unspoilt location, just off the coastal foot path, in a building with great character it could be for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The lack of safety
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here. I can confirm we have ensured the first aid facilities have been replenished and we will be ensuring this remains the case going forward. We hope your husband is now in full health again, and that the extended stay free of charge helped alleviate the inconvenience. Kind regards, the team at Cornish Seaview Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birgit A
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Die tolle Lage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
Wir sind so froh, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt im Acton Castle genossen und freuen uns auf Sie zurück in die Zukunft begrüßen zu dürfen!

The Team at Cornish Seaview Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra S
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and that you especially enjoyed the views and the walks along the coastal path. We are sorry we couldn't stop the stormy weather but it is good to know you stayed warm and dry inside the castle. We hope you had a pleasant journey home. Kind regards, the Team at Cornish Seaview Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing