We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tucked away in a quiet spot”

Review of Lower Laurels

The 'Slip', just 15 seconds from your door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The 'Slip', just 15 seconds from your door.
L.Laurels is the S/C ground floor of this 3 storey traditional Cornish house The open plan dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
The 'Slip', just 15 seconds from your door.
L.Laurels is the S/C ground floor of this 3 storey traditional Cornish house
The open plan dining area
WiFi, HiFi, DVDs, books, tea lights - just chill
View from front window, watch the world go by
Well equipped kitchen
Comfy bedroom with large EnSuite
The private 'suntrap'
The Warren. L.Laurels is 200 metres on the left
Polperro inner harbour
The tidal beach,just a 4 minute stroll away
Early evening in Polperro
The river Pol that runs through the village
Spectacular walks nearby
The outer harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lynz B
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“poor, damp, unclean”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

we were booked to have our anniversary break from the 10th to the 17th august yet we could only manage 36hrs in the apartment, we are deeply upset that the manager of the apartment who was staying above us wouldn't even come and see what we were unhappy with and has been very unhelpful. we arrived to a very strong smell of damp but thought this would settle,but having returned after tea to the same smell it was unpleasant, we got into bed which was damp and smelt damp so had a very uncomfortable night, the bathroom had the previous guests hairs around the sink and floor and the shower screen was very dirty, and when we went into the lounge area we were greated with slugs and the trails were on the wood underneath the fridge which was horrible. we are not people who complain easily and are so upset that our planned romantic break was spoilt due to this and also that the manager wasn't interested in what we had to say, and what we cant understand is that the manager keeps reverting back to the guest book in the apartment saying all his guests have enjoyed there stay which our only explanation is they didn't want to complain! but we couldn't of stayed there in the damp any longer. also the wall heaters wasn't working so we couldn't even heat the place although it was raining and cold. he wouldn't give us the owners email address so we cant contact them direct and he said he wont compensate us! we have lost a lot of money on this booking and are deeply upset at the lack of help. also drove 7hours to get there and left 36 hours later and having to put all our clothes in the wash due to damp, I have pictures of damp and slugs also. we didn't sign any agreement but ive had to fill it in above.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the food and shops in polperro
Liked least: the smell and damp of the apartment and cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2013
This reviewer knocked on my door at 8.15 on Sunday night (the second day of his occupancy) and aggressively stated that the property smelt of damp and that the bed was uncomfortable. When asked in what way the bed didn’t meet his requirements his response was ‘’too soft’’! He made no comment on the uncleanliness of the bathroom, which was immaculate before he arrived, as it could be instantly proved that this was utterly untrue. In fact the previous charming visitors who had left just a few hours before had written a glowing report in the visitor’s book. (The reviewer subsequently threatened that if I did not give him a substantial rebate he would write his defamatory review). As is usual in Cornwall, heating is by night storage heaters and as such do not come on instantly if activated in the daytime. The only comment I can agree to is that there was evidence of a snail which has now been released into his natural habitat – outside! I can only conclude that this visitor, for personal reasons, had decided before arrival that he didn’t want to spend a week’s holiday in an historic harbourside cottage in Cornwall. Thank you to all the previous visitors who have written lovely reviews online and in the book. We look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowlsmast...
Melksham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tucked away in a quiet spot”
Reviewed August 10, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Spent a week here recently, lovelly apartment in a quiet spot in this pretty cornish fishing village. I would recomend that you use the luggage service as its quite a walk from the car park, i certainly needed a cup of tea by the time we got the bags to the apartment. My wife commented that she had never been to a place so well equiped, it had everything that you could need, it was also nice to go on holiday and not feel cramped and confined by the accomodation, all the rooms were a great size.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the apartment
Liked least: Distance from the car park
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighthel...
Bbrighton Sussex England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous little hideaway”
Reviewed March 31, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Just stayed for four days at the "Lower Laurels" Polperro Cornwall.

I must say this was one of the best short breaks we have ever had. The apartment is almost on the quaint little harbour, just a few feet away. With easy access to the East and West Coastal walks, which due to the fabulous five days of cloudless skies we took full advantage of. The views from these paths are absolutely breathtaking and well worth the effort, we walked from Polperro to Looe in two hours ( Stopping at the really nice Talland Bay cafe for tea in between ) then returned via the bus. It's worth mentioning these walks are not for the less mobile. We found the Crumblehorn Restaurant/Pub at the top of the village to be the best value, great quality and good sized meals every night.
The apartment was well decorated in a nautical theme, spotlessly clean with a really comfortable bed. The shower was excellent. Everything you could possibly want and more was provided by the owners from Crockery to Books and DVD's. Kelvin and Barbara who manage it are very friendly and helpful. Had a great time here, could not fault it anywhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 6, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 4, 2012 for a stay in February 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: In very low season most of the shops are closed.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 19, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HG001Lond...
London
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed September 8, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

This review is long overdue ( i cant even remember exactly when we went!) but this is a great little cottage in the perfect location in Polperro. It is a proper fisherman cottage and you can easily walk out the gate and to all the little pubs/cafes of polporro in seconds. Its on one of the cute little lanes in the absolute heart of polperro. The living area was very pretty and decor as we would chose for our own home. We went off season in september i think and would definitely recommend this as the pubs are full of locals and you feel you are seeing proper cornwall! We dont often return to places but this is one we hope to.

Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing