We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect romantic break!”

Review of Lower Laurels

The 'Slip', just 15 seconds from your door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The 'Slip', just 15 seconds from your door.
L.Laurels is the S/C ground floor of this 3 storey traditional Cornish house The open plan dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
The 'Slip', just 15 seconds from your door.
L.Laurels is the S/C ground floor of this 3 storey traditional Cornish house
The open plan dining area
WiFi, HiFi, DVDs, books, tea lights - just chill
View from front window, watch the world go by
Well equipped kitchen
Comfy bedroom with large EnSuite
The private 'suntrap'
The Warren. L.Laurels is 200 metres on the left
Polperro inner harbour
The tidal beach,just a 4 minute stroll away
Early evening in Polperro
The river Pol that runs through the village
Spectacular walks nearby
The outer harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Nikki P
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect romantic break!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Kelvin for such a wonderful stay at lower laurels.
Polperro has truly stolen our hearts and we couldn't imagine a more comfortable, cosy place to stay. We stayed at the cottage from the 18th of Feb for 3 Nights and were ever so sad when we had to leave! Lower Laurels has everything you could need, great cooking utensils, an amazing shower and a seriously squishy bed. Sitting in front of the fire in the evening was an added treat and went perfectly with a glass (or bottle) of wine! If you are looking for a romantic get away with the other half I couldn't recommend this property highly enough.
Walk out your front door, down a few steps and you are on the slip, you couldn't be closer.
if your looking for a meal out, you must try the infamous Blue Peter Inn.Great Ales and incredible food. The seafood platter was so delicious we had to have it two days in a row (be warned the portions are belly busting and not for the faint hearted).
It was our first holiday together as a couple and as much as we want to explore more places I have a sneaking suspicion we will be returning to Polperro and Lower Laurels very soon.

Nikki and Pete

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayBe...
UK
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cosy and beautiful cottage”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a break at Lower Laurels and had an amazing time! The cottage is beautiful - really well decorated and furnished with everything you could need. It was larger than we had expected from the photos and a brilliant size for 2 people.

We were there during some of the awful storms which have battered Polperro recently and the cottage was so cosy and well sheltered - snuggled up in from of the fire was a wonderful way to spend the afternoon!

The bathroom was great - huge shower! Bedroom had everything you needed and was spacious and oh my goodness what a mattress! Amazing and just crazily cosy and comfy! Kitchen was really well equipped and there was nothing we needed that wasn't provided. Even a brilliant heated laundry airer which was invaluable for drying everything we'd worn outside!! Kelvin was really helpful when booking and popped down to see us on our 1st day to check we had everything we needed which was appreciated.

We will be back! Thanks for a fab holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bed, fire, style
Liked least: Loved everything but think it would be best as a winter rental as its so cosy but might like somewhere with a view in the summer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolynNa...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The delightful extra touches give this flat a homely welcoming feeling.”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Very tastefully decorated and equipped, Lower Laurels is the perfect base for a holiday in the beautiful fishing village of Polperro. The flat is very comfortable and more spacious than appears in the photos. We had everything we needed for a really enjoyable holiday. The coastal walks from the flat are breathtaking. The general store meets all basic needs and the pubs serve very good beer and food.
Our only issue and this was nothing to do with the flat or Kelvin's management, was Alan, who did not turn up to take our luggage from the car park, so that was quite a trek.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The creature comforts.
Liked least: The lack of view, although we did sit out on the lovely terrace on Christmas Day which would be wonderful in the summer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maizy01
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homely, friendly, perfect.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This cosy little flat was just perfect. As with the last reviewer we arrived late when it was dark and cold outside and the cottage was lit up, warm and inviting with a friendly note to welcome us - perfect place to relax after a long journey.

The size was just right for two people, the whole place was fully kitted out (even a spare iPhone charger!), and all the rooms were perfectly clean and modern throughout. Also, seriously comfy bed!

The couple running the place from the flat above are also really nice and friendly; we even got a jolly hello from Kelvin in the morning to check whether everything was in order.

Absolutely brilliant place to stay, couldn't recommend it enough and my parents are already looking to try the place themselves.

Big thanks!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaz E
North Devon, UK
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to stay in Polperro”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I looked at so many holiday rentals in Polperro, this pretty little village has so many to offer especially this time of year when the summer holiday visitors have gone which offers a perfect time to visit this quirky village and If like us you just want to walk the South West Coast Path with the dog you get a vast choice of accomodation plus you really do get to meet the locals....Lower Laurels with it's great reviews on TA is the perfect place to stay, the cottage is so comortable you feel your at home as soon as you first walk in the door, we arrived late evening and the cottage was warm with the lights on.....very welcoming....the cottage is well equipped and perfect for cooking....every utensil in the kitchen you could wish for...perfect if don't want to eat out every night....as well as the lovely kitchen you have a table..the lounge with a comfotable couch, electric fire, night storage heating, tele with dvd and wifi if you have a lap top....mobile phone service is limited to who your server is...the rest of the cottage offers a bedroom with a very comfortable double bed and a bathroom with a lovely walk in shower...it also has an outside seating area..ok small but for 2 people perfect.... you have to park at the top of the village and walk down to the cottage but this is part of the Polperro experience....we parked in the Crumplethorn Carpark for 3 days and it cost £19..as for eating out in Polperro it has to be the Blue Peter Inn....even now I can't believe how small this pub was but the best place to eat in Polperro..the curry was lush and the pub was dog friendly....for anyone walking the coast path and using Polperro as a base the walk to Looe is easy....the other way to Polruan..up and down..if you walk one way buses are available to bring you back....I have walked and stayed many places on the South West Coast Path but staying at Lower Laurels takes some beating...Thank you Kelvin

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homezee
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great week at the Lower Laurels, kicked off by a lovely warm welcome from Kelvin upon our arrival.
The cottage was warm and comfortable, an ideal base for visiting all the area attraction and literally a step away from the glorious coastal path.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Idyllic location
Liked least: British weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thom B
Marseille, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage on the harbour”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely little cottage on the small port of Polperro was exactly what we were looking for. Kevin was very welcoming, and the cottage was very cosy. Easy walking distance to all local commodities, as well as the cliff top walk nearby.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: All good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing