We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful harbourside cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mariners

Mariners is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mariners is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Mariners is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro A lovely lounge with harbour views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Mariners is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Mariners is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
A lovely lounge with harbour views
A lovely lounge with harbour views
Kitchen/diner with harbour views
Kitchen/diner with harbour views
Kitchen/diner with harbour views
Double bedroom with en-suite shower room
Double bedroom with en-suite shower room
Double bedroom with en-suite shower room
Double bedroom with en-suite shower room
Double bedroom with en-suite shower room
Double bedroom with en-suite shower room
Mariners is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Mariners is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Mariners is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Mariners is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kandjc
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful harbourside cottage”
Reviewed July 19, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We had a lovely few days in Mariners which was located over three floors. The living room had a window overlooking the harbour and a window overlooking the street and otherside of the harbour. The cottage was very tastefully decorated and had everything you could want. We had two pubs near at hand both serving food and lots of tea shops to visit as we walked round the village. We really enjoyed our short break.
The luggage taxi was well worth the money!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigz70
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delightful stay”
Reviewed April 7, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Stayed for the 1st week of April. Beautiful little cottage overlooking the harbour. Newly refurbished with great attention to detail, well equipped and great Wi-Fi connection! The cottage is on 3 levels : level 1 : entrance (bring slippers as it's requested shoes are left here), level 2 : 2 cosy double bedrooms & ensuites, level 3 : lounge & kitchen. The stairs are quite steep and the floors slope in differing directions, this would not suit the less mobile. The ensuite showers are well fitted, but are small, the best that can be achieved with the space available. I would say if you are over 5'8" tall you will struggle with headroom in this character cottage. The kitchen is well equipped, however there is no storage space for food other than the fridge. Maybe the standing lamp could move in the lounge and a small cupboard/dresser be placed for dry foods? The car park space is inside a small secure garage located 10 mins walk away. I would advise booking the "luggage taxi" in advance as it is quite a hike to the cottage with your baggage! There are plenty of restaurants, tea rooms, pubs and little shops within easy reach. There is a pub right next to the property but we weren't disturbed at all. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this quaint grade II cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo S
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage and great location”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage was lovely and the location was prefect, it overlooked the harbour and the views were gorgeous. There was even a very friendly sea gull that was waiting on the window ledge when we arrived and frequently came to visit us and get fed. It's worth noting that the bedrooms were down stairs and the living area and kitchen were upstairs. This was not a problem but, as a previously reviewer also said, you could hear snoring at night from the people letting below us. Both bedrooms had en suites but it might have been a better idea if there had been just one larger bathroom as the baths were very small and designed only to be sat it. The showers were very low too but as these were former fishermens cottages the designers had tried to make the best of the space and fit 2 en suites but one would have been better. Also, the cottage was very near a well known and popular pub, The Blue Peter Inn, and quite literally just feet away. They had live music 2 nights a week and it was very loud until about 11. I would still highly recommend it, the location made up for the small faults.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2018
Mariners, under new ownership, has undergone a major refurbishment during Jan/Feb 2018 and now boasts two new en-suite shower rooms, new furniture, new flooring and soft furnishings. The lounge has also been transformed with a new feature wall and LED fire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessiehip...
1 review
“Beautiful location. Really enjoyed the holiday.”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Need signs up to stop you from hitting your head. Cups needed bleaching and the cutlery. Towels where like sandpaper. Windows where hard to shut. Lovely cottage but more like a cottage apartment as you could hear people snoring. Would not pay full price,unless things where sorted.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2018
Mariners, under new ownership, has undergone a major refurbishment during Jan/Feb 2018 and now boasts two new en-suite shower rooms, new furniture, new flooring and soft furnishings. The lounge has also been transformed with a new feature wall and LED fire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazzy1313
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Weekend away for 4 with 11 month baby”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Nice quaint but small house right in the village overlooking the harbour and opposite the blue peter pub few steps to the front door then more stairs to two bedrooms and more stairs up to lounge and kitchen which are all small and narrow ,this cottage is ideal for a small family or small couples as the ensuites in each bedroom are ok if ur 5ft or less we were all taller than that and it was very uncomfortable and a challenge having showers as they are very low and one has a beam right in the middle of the ceiling where shower is so watch your heads ,beds were very comfy but it was cold at night think they need new storage heaters , no heating in one bedroom at all to be fair only warm room was lounge where the electric Fire is which was brill ,kitchen was ok could do with more pots & pans though and no cupboard space for food except fridge also not really child friendly did ask for stairgate ,high hair ,and travel cot ,but was only told could do cot for £20 so we took our own ,plus had to buy a travelling high chair ,but they defiantly need a stair gate where the bedrooms are if you have infants ,the lounge has a door so its safe up there .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2013
We thank you for your feedback on the experience at Mariners with an infant. Mariners is not the ideal choice for a toddler being a 3 storey cottage (there fore 2 flights of stairs) and this was explained at the time of booking. Most of our child friendly cottage offer free use of cots, high chairs and stair gates but Mariners does not own these so they have to be hired from the house management company hence the offer to hire them for £20. The heating is all electric as is the case in most of the harbour cottages as there is no gas or oil facilities. Storage heaters are provided in every room except one of the bedrooms (the one you mentioned) which has a free standing electric convector heater. Storage heaters work well provided they are set correctly and from time to time the settings do get changed by guests and their efficiency can be affected. It appears the free standing heater was moved and a simple call to the house manager would have rectified this situation, we don't expect or wish our guests to feel cold when staying in any of our cottages has they all have more than sufficient heating available. The kitchen does have a free corner cupboard for storage and we have asked the house manager to check the supply of utensils. We want all of our guests to have the best holiday experience they can in Polperro and we urge the to contact us to resolve any matters that are not to their full satisfaction while they are in the cottage so we can rectify them as soon as we can. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Polperro again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Reviewed October 27, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Kitchen, Lounge, Condition of Property
Liked least: Beds creaky / Mattresses very uncomfortable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 28, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the blue Peter pub
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing