We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Strawberry Fields

Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strwaberr Fields with it's sun drenched front patio/seating area Comfortable lounge with log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strwaberr Fields with it's sun drenched front patio/seating area
Comfortable lounge with log burner
Fully equipped kitchen
Lovely bedroom with vaulted beamed ceiling
Luxury bathroom with roll top bath and walk in shower
Sun drenched front patio/seating area
sun drenched rear patio/seating areas
sun drenched rear patio/seating area
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
Strawberry Fields is located in the heart of the Polperro & just 2-3 mins walk from the harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway”
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Have been to Polperro a couple of times now and this cottage is one of the best. The interior decoration and exterior facilities are far superior to standard holiday cottage fare and the property is well looked after. We intended a romantic getaway and we got it - lovely log fire (augmented with efficient central heating) and comfy sofa, plus an amazingly modern bathroom and shower for such an old building. Yes, as a previous review notes, the toilet is on the middle floor which isn't ideal, but given it's a 200 year old building and the general level of excellent comfort inside this is hardly a big deal.

The cottage is really pretty outside and gets plenty of admiring comments from passers by.

Location wise, it's within easy walking distance of all of Polperro's pubs and restaurants - if you're worried about coming to Polperro out of season, don't - most outlets seem to be open. The cottage is by the road into/out of the village and opposite a small car park where delivery vans stop and the village car park tram terminates...the same previous review notes about the noise and, in high season, there's likely to be a fair amount of activity outside. However, I disagree that this is an issue as, when night falls and day trippers disappear, there is no noise, indeed far less so than cottages by the harbour with lots of seagulls. During the day, you should be out walking the cliff paths!

Whilst the cottage has a reserved car parking space a minute's walk away, those who (a) have a large (especially length wise) car and (b) are of a nervous disposition, may be better off parking in the main village car park, approx 1/2km up the road, as navigating your vehicle around the narrow street to get there can cause premature ageing:-)

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2015
Thank you very much for your excellent review of our Strawberry Fields cottage, we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. We endeavour every year to improve the cottage and facilities and this year we have installed Sky TV for your entertainment and a bigger and better Barbecue for your outdoor enjoyment, we always appreciate any comments on how we can improve the facilities and look forward to welcoming you back to Strawberry Fields.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OK-George
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage for two in the heart of Polperro”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked a 4 night stay at this cottage which had been recommended by a friend of ours.
The cottage was well equipped with everything you could possibly need, although we didn't do much cooking as you are within easy walking distance to plenty of good pubs and a great restaurant we went to called Couch's which is well worth a visit to see Richard Mc Geown the owner.
Also well worth a visit was The Blue Peter Inn, staff there are very friendly and they do fabulous food.
We have booked again to go to Strawberry Fields in March and we would definitley recommend this lovely cottage.
Don't be put off by the cold weather as they have a great central heating system so it's really cosy and warm when you come back from your coastal walk.
Looking forward to going back already and would definitley recommend this lovely cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2015
We would like to thank you for your Trip Advisor review and extremely
happy you enjoyed your holiday in Polperro at Strawberry Fields, we
always endeavor to make the cottage as comfortable as possible for our
guests and always appreciate the time guests take to make a review.
We look forward to see you again at Strawberry Fields
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendsford
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A perfect get away”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

It's taken a while to get around to writing this review, a whole year in fact !!. We arrived on a windy Nov 1st for a quiet and cosy weekend for two . We loved Strawbery Fields. We loved the cosy kitchen, the comfy living room with the wood burner and the ace window seat from which to watch the world go by. The Ship was handy for a Sunday carvery and the harbour and the fireworks were the perfect backdrop to get engaged in front of . If of course they hadnt cancelled the blinkin fireworks!!!. We still got engaged in polperro whilst at Strawbery Fields though as nothing was stopping that !!! :). Polperro and Strawbery fields will always be that special place for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
We would like to thank you for your very nice comments on your stay at Strawberry Fields, we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your Holiday and look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottNort...
northants
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful polperro”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We visit polperro about three times a year and have stayed at most b&bs and a few cottages in thrill age. We found this cottage via a cottage letting company and recognised where it was from the pictures as it's very different from the other cottages. I'm guessing the owners are Thai as there is a strong Thai influence inside and outside of the property.

The cottage has been nicely modernised and feels really cosy / homely and very clean. It has everything you need for a couple although there were no large plates which was a bit odd but as we eat out all the time, not really a problem. There is allocated parking just a few minutes walk away although it's a tight fit so leave your range rover at home....

Just one constructive observation for the owners, as it's a very small property, a bit of a de clutter of some of the nick knacks around the property would give it a bit more of a airy feel.

We would definitely book it again and recommend it to some friends who already booked it for the first weekend of December...

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Strawberry Fields as we are always open to comments and suggestions. If you decide to return to our cottage again you will find four large dinner plates located in the plate warming draw located under the oven. If you are unsure about any of the facilities in the cottage our House manager Jan is only too pleased to help and advise. Regarding the tight parking unfortunately the lanes in Polperro were built long before cars were invented so care and is required when driving and parking, especially with larger vehicles like my Freelander.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future and do appreciate your feedback. Best wishes, David and Jing, (British and Chinese)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andyhoss
Alderholt, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Some unique touches, but very noisy”
Reviewed October 17, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The property looks great from the exterior. And the stairs at the rear go right up to covered seating. This has fantastic views of the village. The house is themed with an oriental style and clearly quite a lot has been spent. Some lovely paintings and touches. When we have stayed in polperro before it has always been so peaceful. But in the morning there is constant thunder of deliveries and cars and voices can be clearly heard. My only other gripe is a toilet which opens into the living room, really? Also means your going down stairs for the toilet from the bedroom. Pain!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
We always appreciate guests comments on Trip Advisor regarding their stay at Strawberry Fields so we can if possible improve the facilities in the cottage that has achieved a 5 Star rating by Visit England two years running. Regarding your comments on a noisy location unfortunately Polperro is a working village that caters mostly for Holiday makers therefore deliveries have to be made in the morning to supply the shops, restaurants and Pubs but usually they are all gone after the morning deliveries. One of the benefits of Strawberry Fields location is that you can drive to the front door, discharge you passenger and luggage with ease and then park your car in the private secure car park only 2-3 minutes away , no carrying your bags through the village especially in bad weather. Regarding the position of the separate WC unfortunately we were unable to relocate the WC to the en-suite Bathroom due to space requirements but generally found that guests used the WC more throughout the day and evening and less while in bed therefore the location was more suitable next to the lounge. Finally we thank you for choosing Strawberry fields for your holiday and hope the issues you brought to our attention did not spoil your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborahw2...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, noisy location”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage in the special village of polperro. Noisy location at night due to refrigerator unit from ice cream shop opposite & very busy due to deliveries early morning. Back garden wasn't private, a couple of times people came through from side gate! Really enjoyed staying in polperro especially in eve as pubs great.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thank you for your feedback, the owner responds as follows:
I am glad you liked our cottage in Polperro and appreciate any constructive comments Good or Bad, regarding the noisy Refrigerator in the Ice cream shop on the other side of the road I must admit I have not noticed this before but shall look into this matter on my next visit, in reference to the persons coming in the side gate in the back garden this is only used by our neighbours who's garden is next to ours separated by the side path and fence as all the gardens in Polperro are separated, hope the slight intrusion of the neighbours going to their garden did not spoil your holiday and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 23, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Feb 2014
A message from the owner: Dear Guests, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our little bit of heaven in Polperro and extremely happy you enjoyed your holiday, we hope to see you again in Strawberry Fields and will always endeavor to make your stay a great experience, Happy Anniversary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing