We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“getaway!!!!”
Review of The Slipway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Slipway
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“getaway!!!!”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

clean,friendly,would definately stay again,if they change the matresess and pillows!

Room Tip: rooms at front get the seaview, but you will have to put up with the sound of late night drinkers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delhampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    130
    53
    34
    20
See reviews for
55
248
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Visited in July this year. Disappointing food & service at this restaurant. Seems to be living on it's location rather than the quality of the food. As with other reviews the service doesn't make you feel special. Could be so much better.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank therisks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Ate in the restaurant in October 2011. Food was overpriced but of good quality. What let the evening down other than price was the fact the waitress was also the barmaid and wearing a dirty black t-shirt with the pub logo on it. Decor was bad and the bay window we sat in was in serious need of repair.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank true_gentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I and my new wife ate there for one evening. We were staying about 5 miles away so cannot comment on the hotel element.

The food was very poor indeed. We both ordered the Cod Compete dish. It was served quickly to their credit. So quickly in fact that the fish wasn't fully cooked and the plated were almost thrown down in haste. The compote comprised 4 luke warm cherry tomatoes placed under the fish; an interesting variation on what every other restaurant would call a compote. The butter served with the bread was frozen; really frozen! The veg was nice and al dente, but sadly swimming in water, lots of water. I was charged £16 for each meal. The meals would not look out of place in a £3.99 Wetherspoons deal. Suffice to say we did not grace them with our presence on the holiday again. Port Isaac is a fantastic place though and well worth a full day visit at least.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Just had a lovely long weekend at The Slipway Hotel, staff were very helpful and friendly. Resturant was very nice & of a high standard, we only ate there once, & this was only because there are so many other places close by to try - which were also very good. It is a perfect base for walking and sightseeing, everything right on your doorstep. If we stayed longer we would have ventured outside the village and hope to do so in the future but decided to make the most of what the village had to offer. You need to park away from the village (about 15min walk) which could be a problem for some but it was no problem for us. Villagers were also very friendly and welcoming. Would recommend this hotel and certainly hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: We had a small room & it was very small but we did find it perfectly adequate, if you need more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skigirlEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

To sum up our arrival, "Here's the room key, pull around to the stairs, first door on left.
No one helped with baggage. The room was not pretty. Missing knobs on furniture, dead light bulbs and a bath room you so small your knees could touch the door if using the toilet.
The balcony was covered with sea gull droppings. I could understand this since it is a port but it looked like it had not been cleaned for months.
The best thing about the Slipway was they could only give me a two day reservation.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We visited this hotel only to use the restaurant. (It is only listed on this website as a hotel)

We booked on the busiest night of the week- Friday, when the local "Fishermen's Friends" sing on the beach (they said there was a crowd of 3,000 that night) so the whole village was very busy, and the restaurant was full.

The service was excellent, the best I have experienced in ages! Four young members of staff all worked extremely well as a team. We were served quickly and efficiently, they checked regularly that everything was OK, and we had a very good meal.

I really liked the food, the puddings in particular were very good.
There was also a good children's menu.

I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nottinghams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
1.3 km away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
3.2 km away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 km away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
6.9 km away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
10.1 km away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slipway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slipway

Property: The Slipway
Address: Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL29 3RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slipway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slipway is a licensed cafe, serving traditional seaside lunches and afternoon teas. Above the cafe is a 7 bedroom Bed &Breakfast. Evening meals are served for B&B guests and a limited amount of reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Slipway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slipway Hotel Port Isaac
The Slipway Port Isaac, UK - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing