We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely restful holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wheel Lodge

Exterior - Wheel Lodge
Easy access from both doorways
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior - Wheel Lodge
Easy access from both doorways
Shower enclosed, large basin, mirror with shaver point and toilet Wheel Lodge double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Exterior - Wheel Lodge
Easy access from both doorways
Shower enclosed, large basin, mirror with shaver point and toilet
Wheel Lodge double bedroom
Wheel Lodge double bedroom showing wardrobe
Wheel Lodge
Each property has own garden with patio, table and seating.  Fenced. Ample parking
Entrance leading to the cottages
Port Isaac with harbour where fishing boats work and visitors browse
Doc Martin's surgery on the hill at Port Isaac
Port Quin which is just along the coast from Port Isaac. Take the footpath for a good walk
Daymer Bay beach with John Betjeman's loved church in the sands, a pleasant walk
Padstow harbour, home of the 'Obby Oss' and National Lobster hatchery. Catch the ferry from Rock!
Prideaux House, Padstow overlooking the deer park. Event venue and film location.
Vintage rallies are held throughout Cornwall during the summer.
The Old Post Office, Tintagel,also King Arthur's Castle and Great Hall with fabulous stained glass.
Boscastle a pretty village with a harbour, rugged cliffs footpaths.
Camel Trail, 18 miles of traffic free walking and cycling (bikes can be hired) Tea rooms on route
Eden Project with the largest indoor rain forest. Also England's largest zip wire here
Lanhydrock house and gardens with little church in the grounds. Cycle Hub & trails, bike hire here
Bodmin & Wenford steam at Bodmin Parkway. Walk to Respryn and Lanhydrock, also woodland walks
Caerhays Castle, near Gorran (South Cornwall) Beautiful gardens and over looks Porthluney cove
Polperro near Looe (South Cornwall) fishing village with history of smuggling
Lerryn small quaint village with lovely wooded river walk to St Winnow where there is a farm museum
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Port Isaac, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs Mary...
1 review
“Lovely restful holiday”
Reviewed August 30, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We greatly enjoyed our stay at Wheel Lodge.
The location was good and the accommodation was clean, comfortable and well-equipped.
We enjoyed the peace and quiet and our hosts were welcoming and helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2018
Thank you Mary for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We would welcome you back for a return visit and stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edblanch7...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable well situated,quiet and very well equipped.”
Reviewed June 1, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Wheel lodge is a lovely cottage,situated about 3miles from port Isaac,excellent position for touring north Cornwall coast,loved the peace and quiet.Angela and Phil made us very welcome and where very helpful.thank you for the Victoria sponge and milk it was very thoughtful.Will be back .Thanks again Ann and Ed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2018
Thank you very much for your review. It is really appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable cottage for two in a peaceful location close to Port Isaac and the North Cornish coast”
Reviewed April 15, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This comfortable little double-bedded cottage for a couple is part of a working farm. It is for two people and is reasonably spacious although the dining table is squeezed in a tight corner. The cottage is well equipped (but see below): the bathroom is spacious, and there is an entrance lobby to the back garden which is ideal for shoes, jackets etc. The cottage is clean and, whilst the weather was still cool in the delayed spring, warm and cozy.

Two minor gripes: we would rather have had a dishwasher as opposed to a washing machine, and the Wi-Fi wouldn't connect.

The cottage is an base ideal for exploring this part of the North Cornish Coast.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2018
Thank you for taking the time to give Wheel Lodge a review. We do provide satellite broadband and appreciate that it is much slower than most guests are used to. We shall of course keep a watch on connection and endeavour to improve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neisy1
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant place to stay,”
Reviewed April 11, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Had fantastic time staying here, accomadation was brill, everything you needed was there, was made very welcome, host and family were lovely, friendly people, even got hands on at the farm.Beautiful scenery all around, first visit to cornwall and didnt want to leave. Will def recommend this place .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2018
Many thanks for your review and delighted you enjoyed your stay and our part of Cornwall. Would love to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma W
bath
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed November 9, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Wheel Lodge was very handy for us with our dog. It had easy access to lovely walks with close proximity to the coastal path. It had everything we needed and the biscuits and milk left for us were a lovely touch. We would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2018
Thank you for your review. We would be pleased to accommodate you on a return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainer S
Ritterhude, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal Place to stay”
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We were two people staying there for 10 Days. Everything was great. Clean smaller apartment equipt with all needed. Wifi working but very slow.
Would stay there again.
Good place to explore Cornwall

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review which is much appreciated.
We know sometimes the Wi-Fi is not always up to speed but it is via satellite, difficult in our rural area.
We would welcome you to a return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duncmusic
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A cosy 'home from home'”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from a relaxing week touring North Cornwall, staying at Wheel Lodge at Higher Hendra farm. We found it to be a great base to travel around the breathtaking coast and villages of this part of Cornwall. The cottage had everything one could need to make for a peaceful and enjoyable holiday, and a cosy place to come home to after a good walk along the coast. Owners Angela and Phil make you very welcome - thank you for the delicious cake !! We cannot fault Wheel Lodge, and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We would welcome you to a return stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing