We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Engine Inn(Nancledra)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Atlantic(Carbis Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
159
224
119
52
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
224
119
52
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshearings holidaycoach driverself driveentertainment areashearings groupevening entertainmenta sea view roomives bayweekend breaksuperior roompaid extra for a sea viewmeal timeshalf boardmobility problemsbeds were very comfortablesingle roomlong journey
Filter
Updating list...
487 - 492 of 600 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This review is influenced heavily by what I paid for it! It was a Shearings trip from Yorkshire and it cost £99 (albeit a late booking) for transport, 3 hotel nights, breakfast 3 mornings, dinner 3 nights, entertainment 2 nights and 4 free drinks on each of 3 evenings. The hotel would have had to have been pretty bad not to have been value for money but it wasn't, it was quite good in many respects and I actually liked it.
Our room was spacious, modestly furnished and decorated but clean and acceptable. The bathroom was also quite large and had by the look of it been tiled recently. There was a good supply of hot water and plenty of towels. There was a little bit of maintenance backlog (window would not close, no lock on bathroom. shower screen coming off its runner, towel rail not working and a loose fitting on top of one bedside light) but nothing desperate. Room 25 to be exact.
Meals were reasonable. A full English breakfast was offered and there was a good menu selection at dinner. Soup was generally served luke-warm but the salad was good, as was the cheese plate and portions were generous. The bar was nice and fairly pleasant and the bar staff were excellent - as, indeed, were all other staff whom we encountered: they worked really hard and were very courteous. The entertainment in the bar on two evenings was very good and there is a lot of talent outside TV wannabe shows.
The hotel is superby situated, less than 5 minutes from the bus station and on the verge of the centre of St Ives. There is not a lot of accommodation in St Ives which is better situated.
To sum up, it is not 5 star and doesn't pretend to be. I can only relate it to what I paid for it and it offered fantastic value for money. When I worked I was told that the definition of "Quality" is getting the specification right, first time, every time. I had a very clear idea of what I wanted as the specification and it was achieved and surpassed. My advice to customers is to consider what you are paying - and then enjoy the hotel - and to the management to get the proposed refurbishment work done as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hibees43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

You are quite right when you say that we are not 5 star but then we do not pretend to be either. What we focus on is giving friendly service and from what you have written looks like we managed that.
I am surprised to hear that you were served lukewarm soup as the chefs pride themselves in serving hot food on hot plates, I have investigated this so thank you for reporting this.
If there is a fault that needs reporting in the room we encourage this so that we can rectify the problem straight away. I can certainly explain the towel rail, as for some unknown reason it does not work in the normal way that you would think.When the light is on the towel rail is off and when the light is off the rail is on. I cannot explain why this is the cases.
We are in line to have have some refurbishment work carried out in early 2013 and it would be great for you to revisit and see the changes.
Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hi just got back from a 4 nights holiday staying at the st Ives bay hotel traverling with shearings holidays,our driver was a chap called eddy who I must say was a very proffesional and experienced and informative driver as he told us that he had done this trip many times before and it showed,he was very polite and nothing was a problem for him.
after a long trip from Liverpool we arrived at the hotel around 5 oclock and was greeted by the hotel manager (craig)who was down to earth and friendly,we then went into the hotel and was given our room key,we were in room 15 which was at the back of the hotel with a gloomy veiw but we expected this as we never upgraded,the room was big and clean and the bathroom was of a large size and very clean and warm with a heated towel rail,we had a tv which was small and out dated and just plonked on the dressing table out of veiw of the bed and the there was no light on one side of the room so you could not see in the wardrobe properly but because the room was so clean and spacious and warm these things did not matter.on our way down the the bar for a pre dinner drink (which we got 4 free drink vouchers per person per day in with our price)it became clear that the hotel was in need of a refit as it was dated and old looking and a bit shabby but again when we noticed the veiws over looking the beach in the bar area you just forget about the decor,the bar area like most of the hotel was massive with a plasma tv in the main bar area showing sky tv channels which was a big plus for us in the hotel as there was europa football on that week,the actual bar was very tiny in comparison the actual room it was in its self which was a bit odd,when we went into the dinning room this again was massive resulting in it being a bit chilly tho,the food was just the same as most shearings hotels just very average and cafe like standard with polish staff waiting on who incidently were very good and attentive.at breakfast the nexy day we were sat close to the windows were you have stunning veiws over looking the beach which was like every guest commented on the same,as the week went on were saying that because of the beach location the hotel just grew on you more and more which made this holiday one of the best we have been on with shearings,here a liitle tip in stead of turning left out side the hotel and walking down the hill to the centre from the steps you will see some steps across the road which lead you down the beach and also gives you a public footath to the town were you will come across narrow cobbled streets with small quirky shops on the way which was very pleasant.when you get to the town its a typical cornish sea side town with narrow streets that go on and on with gift shops and local pubs serving real ales and bakeries selling taisty pasties, all in all we found st ives to be a charming litle place that takes you away from it all even in the winter months.in the hotel we had entertainment every night which was of good standard with a different artist every night,we would recommend this hotel to you because of its stunning location clean rooms great staff and because of a loverly charming little town its in and for the price we paid you get all this so trust me as I can be a bit of a moaner at times but we had a memorable holiday and were sure that you will good luck .......

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Eddie is a very knowledgable tour driver who takes pride in his work. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Since your departure we have had new furniture in the lounge area, this arrived on the friday that you departed. It does look really nice.
St Ives is a lovely seaside town that is good in any month of the year, and Shearings offer many different options for tours throughout the year.
I early 2013 more refurbishment work will be taking place here with reference to bedrooms.
Certainly hope that you will pay St Ives a visit again in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Had a lovely upgraded room with sea view as our booking at St Mawes was cancelled by Shearings at short notice.We also got free parking, normally £5 a day!
The view was tremendous and the staff were very helpful.
The breakfast was ok with a good selection but the evening meal was very poor, with a limited selection of starters and main courses and extremely odd pairings of vegetables offered with the main course.There seemed a shortage of potatoes as we were never offered any except fried at breakfast!
The food at the Coast & Country, St Mawes, Ship and Castle was far superior on a previous stay.

Room Tip: The Superior rooms with sea view are lovely the extra price would be a disapointment as the food in the evening was poor
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

The views from the hotel overlooking Porthminster beach are stunning I agree. We are a Bay Hotel not a Coast and Country Hotel. At any Bay Hotel you get a Table D' Hote menu which has a variety of choices, three starter choices, 5 main courses and 4 choices of sweets finished off with tea or coffee. The main courses are served with two vegetables selection and one potato. At breakfast there is a wide variety of cereals, fresh fruit, porridge, juices to start and this can be followed by either kippers, full English, home cooked ham and eggs as you like them, beans on toast but to name a few.
As previous reviews have shown and comments from departing guests this very morning, people are very happy with the variety on offer. We also get many returning guests so this speaks for itself.
At a Coast and Country Hotel you are able to upgrade your meal with a choice of supplements available. What is included is not such a vast choice as at a Bay Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

an expensive holiday for such a poor room
1 paper peelng from wall
2 toilet roll holder coming away from wall
3 paint peeling from windowsill
4 only one chair in room
in all very dull room at back of hotel.
very poor value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank albiemr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

It is very disturbing to hear of the issues that you raise with the room that you had been allocated, if these issues had been reported however they could have been addressed. As you can see from previous reports many people consider Shearings to be offering value for money so this surprises me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This Hotel does exactly what it says on the tin. It offers budget breaks and delivered in line with my expectations.
To some specifics: The position of the hotel is fantastic. Great views over sandy beach, short (hilly) walk into town and close to the train station which services the coastal branch line to Penzance (£8 return for 4 people return with Group Saver!)
The room was a little tired and ready for the refit scheduled for 2013. However it was big enough and I slept fine which is always the acid test for me.
Dining: Yes you are adjacent to other diners - only a problem if you are sat next to guests who spend meal times moaning (if they want 5 star then they need to spend 5 star money!) Breakfast was good; normal array of cereals and juices, then order what you want from the cooked menu - all good. Dinner was a bit low budget, in line with expectations. That said I enjoyed all three evening meals and the staff were prepared to do a bit of mix and match within reason including additional portions if required.
Agnes is worthy of particular mention - she looked after us very well!
Entertainment: It was just old fashioned good fun. Bingo and a General Knowledge quiz followed by an abortive attempt to get the guests line dancing.

In summary....book this hotel and go with an open mind. The price
point for this Hotel should guide your expectations so adjust them accordingly.

Would I go again? Absolutely with an open mind and conscious of the value for money offered.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdmontonPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As you quite rightly state we are not and do not say that we are 5 star in the building stakes, However what Shearings do offer is value for money and the staff offer friendly service which is value in itself.
As can be seen from previous reports many people confirm that we offer a warm friendly welcome to all and try to offer enjoyable breaks here in St Ives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews