We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveller rating
163
227
123
57
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
227
123
57
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshearings holidaycoach driverself driveshearings groupentertainment areascilly islesevening entertainmenta sea view roomweekend breakives baypaid extra for a sea viewmeal timeshalf boardmobility problemssuperior roompublic areasbeds were very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 625 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile

I visited this hotel as part of my Shearings trip to St Ives. Firstly the journey down was brilliant our driver Steve made the journey his local knowledge of the area mixed with the love he obviously has for the area was so apparent and a great start. He was on hand throughout the trip with help and advice well done mate.
Now the hotel itself, the location of the hotel is good it's on a hill which leads down to the town and the harbour, the hill may be a bit of a challenge if you have problems walking but the views from the edge of the road over the bay soon take your mind off how tired your legs may feel. In a similar vain there are 14 steps to the hotel reception and a few steps inside the hotel. There are rooms on the ground floor next to reception so if you do have mobility problems it would be worth grabbing them when you book.
The reception is modern and cosy with excellent reception staff where nothing is a problem in fact all the staff at the hotel are lovely very polite and courteous and Carl the General manager is available to help which is rare these days to see the manager actually running the premises.
The hotel itself is 2 hotels joined together the old hotel where I was is 2 floors but no lift. My room was one of the best rooms I've had from Shearings a sea view which the view over the bay is magnificent with it's own balcony which I was so pleased with. The shape of the room gave me enough space to move around. The cleanliness of the room was very good despite earlier reviews I found the chambermaids did a good job in fact the whole hotel was very clean.
The bar and restaurant have plenty of seating and although the bar itself is quite small this was not a problem. The restaurant staff are very courteous and patient my waitress was Martina who had a great perception of customer service but all the staff were good at their jobs making sure everyone was served. The food was 3 course with a choice of 3 different things and a chef's special. The food was a great choice very tasty and the vegetables were fresh and tasty.
The entertainment in the hotel was a singer every night each one was different so plenty of choice.
Is urge you to book the bay for your trip to St Ives you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
3  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl S, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Wow, thank you for taking the time to leave such an honest and positive review. The team will be thrilled to hear your kind words. Everyone in the hotel does work very hard over the course of the year and your kind words are a great recognition of this fact. I thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Regards

Carl Sunley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2017

this was a shearings 4 day weekend break. the hotel was great all the seaviews at the front were fantastic. the staff were all friendly, room was clean ,comfy bed tv ,teamaking., plenty of choice for food which was delicious.al lthe people in the hotel were friendly.plenty of places to visit.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank looffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl S, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Thank you for your kind and positive review, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your weekend break with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards

Carl Sunley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on the 14oct for one night as we where passing through! Bit weary as it was only a three star. But it was perfect in what we needed! Nice clean rooms, pay and display car park across the road and friendly staff!!!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank crabshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl S, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Thank you for your review, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed and we surpassed your expectations. We hope to see you again in the future if you are passing through.

Warm regards

Carl Sunley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

Stayed 23rd September in seafarer van. Lovely clean amazing sea and godfrey lighthouse view. Lovely walks through sand dunes. Well equipped van. Hurt leg on Sharp metal corner seating area had to protect with cushion good job me and not young granddaughter. Lidi supermarket nearby. No family entertainment dirty old family room poor arcade. Lovely outdoor balcony overlooking park with sea view great when weather ok. Staff not very friendly at all both in reception and shop. Mainly gift shop not much food at all. Being has family had to sit in conservatory area at night pub no kids allowed however staff really nice and friendly there especially Leon credit to you very good customer service and lovely young sorry didn't get name blonde hair girl. Would recommend on views amazing. Go wrong time of season disappointing.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank smithjulie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl S, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Thank you for your review, however I do not think that it was intended for our hotel. Possibly St Ives Bay Holiday Park?

Kind Regards

Carl Sunley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2017

We had a room in the old part of the hotel, with no lift, so not suitable for people who have difficulty walking. The room was shabby and in need of cleaning and painting. The room was cold, so reception staff provided us with an electric heater and an extra blanket. The room was not cleaned, only the waste baskets emptied and clean towels given when needed. The breakfast was mainly fried food or toast and marmalade. The dinner was plenty and nicely cooked. The waiting staff worked very hard and were polite. We went to the evening entertainment twice, and there was a young man who played guitar and he was very talented. The trips were very enjoyable and we had an very skillful driver (Steve) who told us a lot of history about the places we were passing and visiting

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a seaview
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheresaG806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl S, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that there were issues with the cleanliness of your room, I shall ensure these are passed on to the Head Housekeeper to look in to. I am sorry that you felt there wasn't much choice with the breakfast however there is other options to the cooked breakfast including cereals, fruit, yoghurt, kippers and boiled eggs. I shall pass your comments on to your driver.

Kind Regards

Carl Sunley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews