We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff and good hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff and good hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

we stayed here earlier on in the year, the hotel staff are really friendly and helpful and nothing is to much trouble.

We hada standard room with a shower, and I has a bad back and longed for a bath, the staff went oout of their way to swap rooms. so my long hot soak made the day.
The selection at breakfast and in the restaurant is excellent.

We would reccomend this hotel and it's staff and will be visiting again in the near future( when i can fly there!!!!)
Simon & Andrew
London

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonmarshall40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    293
    120
    57
    27
See reviews for
154
520
41
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed for 2 nights recently and would certainly return when visiting St Ives in the future. All staff were effecient and attentive. It was a pleasure to see that they all seemed to be enjoying their work - not always the case in many hotels.We booked a room with balcony and sea view and would recommend the extra cost - lovely views. Booked B & B and the breakfasts were excellent - self service buffet when hotel is busy and cooked to order when not. Ate in St Ives the first night at Ocean Grill - fish restaurant overlooking harbour. Not recomended - had trio of fish as main course - fish had no taste at all and poor choice of vegetables. 2nd night ate at hotel restaurant. Thought we would try the trio of fish again to compare. Amazing the difference - Presentation, quality and taste were excellent and the extra plus point was that it was not as expensive. Don't be put off by the small car park at the front of the hotel. There is also one at the rear which we preferred. You can leave the car there as it is only a 5 mintue walk into the town.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view rooms, A little more expensive but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontycatPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at this Hotel very recently, we love St Ives and try to stay for a few days most years. . On checking in we found that we had been upgraded to the Executive Suite at no extra charge. The room was extremely spacious with Lounge area, Dining Table, Chairs, settee and even a Kitchen area. Bathroom had bath as well as a seperate shower. Views from our room overlooking St Ives were stunning. The Hotel was clean and tidy, many rooms being redecorated. Staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.Buffet cooked breakfast was excellent. The only disappointment was the evening menu. When we stayed this appeared to be limited to very few choices and was expensive. I understand the changes to this is being made. We decided to eat in St Ives all three nights we stayed.

Room Tip: Rooms with Sea View more expensive but wee worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnthebattery46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

In the first room, a very squashed family room the heating, wifi and remote did not work. Walls painted a nicotine yellow, depressing and old-fashioned decor. Place felt like a retirement home. Asked to move: lovely manager called Julia was very helpful and apologetic. 2nd room brighter, better with a decent view. Nothing to recommend this for kids.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. It is unfortunate that on your day of arrival there were certain maintenance issues with your room, which were investigated straight away, but as the heating problem required an engineer it was beyond my control as I discussed with you. Our standard procedure in this event would be to offer an upgraded room; I am glad you enjoyed the second room which I was able to move you to; this had just been refurbished as part of our spring refurbishment program so I appreciate your comments and you may also be interested to learn that the first room has been refurbished to the same standard of the second room now. I would take pleasure in welcoming you back so you can experience the hotel as it was meant to be. Once again please do accept my apologies and I hope that the remainder of your trip was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

decided to book a short break at chy an albany and rather wish we hadn't now! our room was very small and cold with a tiny bathroom..the hotel in general was dull and lacked character. most of the staff are very young and seemed to think standing around gosssiping together was appropriate behaviour! one young lady in particular was very "put out" that we asked to be served at the bar..breakfast was fine but again staff were to busy chatting to notice our table full of empty bowls plates etc etc. we love st ives and stay in many hotels but wont be returning to chy an albany and will not reccomend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannesmith_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. I appreciate your feedback and comments regarding behaviour of staff and your breakfast service; this is not typical and I have investigated and raised these issues with the staff involved. The hotel has also recently undergone some staff changes so I hope that if you return back to us in the future you will not encounter the issues you have raised previosuly. In regards to your room size, I would recommend for you to try our Deluxe Sea View facing rooms or family rooms if you prefer larger spacious rooms. They also benefit from a fantastic view of Porthminster Beach. I appreciate your comments and will pass onto the Chy an Albany team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Only booked for one night but could have stayed longer. Good position for St. Ives town and a plus with a free car park. Staff very friendly and tried hard to please. Had a meal in the restaurant in the evening when the food was very nicely presented, hot and tasty. For £15 per head for two-courses found the price reasonable and probably around the going rate. Room large with nice bathroom and a shared balcony on the first floor (ran right along the front bedrooms) with a nice sea view. As a birthday treat wasn't disappointed!

Room Tip: First floor front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grasshoppermonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We had a lovely stay this weekend. The hotel is very clean nd comfortable and the views from the sun room over the sea are great. Well situated for exploring the town of st Ives.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deathsblackdove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.4 km away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.1 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.7 km away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 km away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Property: Chy-An-Albany
Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing