We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gull's eye view of St. Ives”
other travellers have booked this property
The view from the flat lounge window.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from the flat lounge window.
View from lounge looking towards Godrevy lighthouse. Andy's Place lounge showing view through bay window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The view from the flat lounge window.
View from lounge looking towards Godrevy lighthouse.
Andy's Place lounge showing view through bay window
Andy's Place lounge
Andy's lounge with shutters fully open to main bedroom.
Andy's Place lounge with view through to bedroom - note end panels close fully for privacy.
Main bedroom with dividing shutters folded back.
Main bedroom.
Main bedroom
Bedroom towards lounge - showing the 2 shutter doors that close fully.
Kitchen/dining
Kitchen / dining
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bunk room
Bunk room.
Rear patio
Front exterior.
Front exterior
Sam's Place lounge - 1st floor flat.
Sam's Place kitchen
Sam's Place double bedroom
Sam's Place double/twin bedroom
Sam\'s Place shower room
Creative weekend course - sewing
Creative weekend course in beginners sewing - the group with their finished cushions
Creative Weekend residential course - hard at the sewing.
Creative Weekend residential course - felting
View from lounge window to Godrevy lighthouse
godrevy lighthouse & Hayle beach
Cliff top view from Gwithian to Pertreath coastal path
Sunset on Hayle beach
Bassetts Cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SFSusanW
San Francisco, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Gull's eye view of St. Ives”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I wanted to come to St. Ives to combine a holiday with family history research, and was drawn to Andy's Place because of the view. I wasn't disappointed... I could sit in the bay window and watch the gulls circle endlessly, watch the tide fill up and empty the harbor, watch fishing boats come and go. It was so peaceful, so magical. If I wanted to "go to town", all I had to do was walk down the steps to the heart of the tourist buzz.
Although I have to admit that coming back up those steps was not as easy, I did find the #10 bus from Royal Square, which runs until about 6 pm, and whose lovely drivers will drop you by the flat. The 1 pound fare is quite worth avoiding that climb!
Was there anything I didn't like (besides leaving)? Not really. The kitchen equipment is fine (pots, pans, spatulas, knives, utensils, etc.). There is coffee, tea, sugar and salt provided, but anything else you'll have to buy yourselves. (But the Co-op convenience store is just at the foot of those steps, and right by the bus stop to get back up.)
The owners have a little binder that gives you all the information you need about the flat and town, and a separate little book on restaurant recommendations.
The bed is a bit low (maybe 12 inches off the floor), but very comfortable. I would happily book this again (and in fact, am thinking of doing so next spring....)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the living room!
Liked least: Wi-fi access was a little intermittent
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Reviewed October 6, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Oct 2013
Hello Jenny, Joel & girls,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Sam's Place.
We're so happy that you all had such a good time in St Ives, and we hope to see you all again sometime.

Kind regards,
Clare & Neil.

PS - and glad that Billy behaved approriately! She is adorable and very well mannered!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Martin B
Osaka, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful views. Very conveniently located. Coop grocery, jazz club, music pub just five minutes away.
Drawbacks: kids jumping around upstairs can be annoying; the Wifi didn't work for me, had to subscribe to BT; the bath and washbasin taps are badly designed making them difficult to turn off with wet, slippery hands; the door keys and the key safe were tricky to use.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the bay window
Liked least: Struggling with the key to open the flat door
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2013
Hello Martin,

Many thanks for taking the time to review of our flat - we're glad you had a good time in St Ives and hope that if you ever visit again you would come back to Andy's Place. We hope the rest of your holiday in the UK was enjoyable.

We would just like to respond regarding the wi-fi problems: - We appreciate you had difficulties and are very sorry about this, and understood that the issue was to do with the actual netwotk key that you had to type in having a dash within it. You were unable to key it in from your Japanese keyboard. We did look into this for you, but as far as we were told all UK network keys have a dash in them separating the password. We're very sorry that this meant you were unable to get on line.
We would also like to inform any future guests reading your review that we did offer to reimburse you the fee you paid to BT for the subscription.
We also must point out that, in general, the wi-fi connection in that part of St Ives is not the strongest, but this is something completely out of our control. We look forward to receiving Superfast broadband when it finally reaches us - hopefully in 2014 as we are informed by BT!
Thanks again for your review and it was a pleasure having you at our flat.
All the best, Clare & Neil.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Reviewed June 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed June 28, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Jun 2012
Thanks for your lovely review Paul...it's always good to get positive feedback.
And just to let you know, we now have a new high def 32" TV to boot!
Are we tempting you back for next year?

Thanks again,
Clare & Neil.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ilkley
Reviewed November 28, 2011 for a stay in August 2010
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrew H
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
Reviewed September 30, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Andy's Place is all as described and a bit more . Accommodation is just right and as for the location and views , just brilliant. Clare and Neal are great hosts , if that's how you would describe them. Very helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble . If you want a self catering spot in St Ives then I don't think that you can do better

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Difficult one but, the bed may be a bit low for some people
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing