We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
86
23
8
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
23
8
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselvis tribute actquiet positionfantastic hospitalityfeel so welcomefull englishbrilliant stayrooms are spacioushotel is situatedliving roomtea coffeenothing too much troublelovely hoteldouble bedother guestsyogurtwarm welcomelong weekend
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 125 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

We stopped off on spec in need of food. We were greeted by the lady owner and made to feel very welcome. The food was delicious. The mackerel and crab cooked to perfection! Definitely recommend if passing!

The menu was varied from macaroni to curry, lasagne to steak and seafood and average price £11 for a main dish.

The Countryman was a clean and tidy establishment if not a little dated around the bar area.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank SusieQCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2016

We stayed at the Countryman twice in 11 months. Rob (Elvis), and Sylvia, are excellent hosts. Nothing is too much trouble, the breakfasts are very good, and food eaten by guests, and those coming in for a meal whilst not staying, were thoroughly enjoyed.

At night, having walked our legs off, we were greated, (after a little nap ), with open arms when joing Rob, Sylvia, and freinds and guests, at the bar. So warm and freindly were they all, that even after travelling over 250 miles, and visiting local villages before booking in that first night, we got tk bed at 2.30 AM. A great experience indeed.

Room Tip: Higher floors are good.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2016

We did not stay at The Countryman, nor did we eat there, so I shall only be talking about a quick visit for drinks. It was a quiet time of day admittedly but we were the only customers there at all, which, it seems, was what caused our problem, if it could be called such. We both felt completely leapt upon by Elvis himself, not a phrase I'd ever anticipated writing.

The service was fine, the drinks were fine - if a little expensive due to being so close to St Ives undoubtedly - our issue was that we were pounced upon by The King and hauled into conversations that we simply didn't want to have. It is pleasant to chat when out and about, nobody was rude or offensive in any way, it just felt extremely over the top. Not a failing that would bother most people, probably.

The cleanliness of this place was remarkable. There is a pleasant seating area at the front. I am sure that many would like The Countryman very much, but unfortunately it did not suit us.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hurricane139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

Our expectations was high, but Robert and Sylvia managed exceed our expectations!

The hotel is situated closed to St Ives with easy access to all of west Cornwall.

The food and service was amazing.

For the first time we felt that we would rather spend our evenings in the hotel bar/living room than spend it in our room.

Robert and Sylvia are amazing hosts and we will for sure stay at the Contryman next we we come to Cornwall.

Örjan & Åsa from Sweden

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kahre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

Love the Countryman great place stay or pop in for a pint allways a smile to greet you a song ☺Keep a eye out for the entertaint specials allways good you never know who wil turn up. Food is always available and of a good quality have a try of the fresh trout fish cakes well nice

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews