We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for St Ives & Penzance”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Countryman Hotel St Ives
Ranked #40 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2016

This is a quite comfortable and unremarkable hotel in the country but convenient for St Ives and Penzance if you have a car. Breakfast OK and freshly cooked. Quiet location. Finally, I have discovered that this is where Elvis lives.

Room Tip: Wifi not in every bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard7060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We stopped off on spec in need of food. We were greeted by the lady owner and made to feel very welcome. The food was delicious. The mackerel and crab cooked to perfection! Definitely recommend if passing!

The menu was varied from macaroni to curry, lasagne to steak and seafood and average price £11 for a main dish.

The Countryman was a clean and tidy establishment if not a little dated around the bar area.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank SusieQCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We stayed at the Countryman twice in 11 months. Rob (Elvis), and Sylvia, are excellent hosts. Nothing is too much trouble, the breakfasts are very good, and food eaten by guests, and those coming in for a meal whilst not staying, were thoroughly enjoyed.

At night, having walked our legs off, we were greated, (after a little nap ), with open arms when joing Rob, Sylvia, and freinds and guests, at the bar. So warm and freindly were they all, that even after travelling over 250 miles, and visiting local villages before booking in that first night, we got tk bed at 2.30 AM. A great experience indeed.

Room Tip: Higher floors are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We did not stay at The Countryman, nor did we eat there, so I shall only be talking about a quick visit for drinks. It was a quiet time of day admittedly but we were the only customers there at all, which, it seems, was what caused our problem, if it could be called such. We both felt completely leapt upon by Elvis himself, not a phrase I'd ever anticipated writing.

The service was fine, the drinks were fine - if a little expensive due to being so close to St Ives undoubtedly - our issue was that we were pounced upon by The King and hauled into conversations that we simply didn't want to have. It is pleasant to chat when out and about, nobody was rude or offensive in any way, it just felt extremely over the top. Not a failing that would bother most people, probably.

The cleanliness of this place was remarkable. There is a pleasant seating area at the front. I am sure that many would like The Countryman very much, but unfortunately it did not suit us.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Our expectations was high, but Robert and Sylvia managed exceed our expectations!

The hotel is situated closed to St Ives with easy access to all of west Cornwall.

The food and service was amazing.

For the first time we felt that we would rather spend our evenings in the hotel bar/living room than spend it in our room.

Robert and Sylvia are amazing hosts and we will for sure stay at the Contryman next we we come to Cornwall.

Örjan & Åsa from Sweden

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kahre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Love the Countryman great place stay or pop in for a pint allways a smile to greet you a song ☺Keep a eye out for the entertaint specials allways good you never know who wil turn up. Food is always available and of a good quality have a try of the fresh trout fish cakes well nice

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

An excellent place to dine. Great selection. Friendly, professional staff. Wonderful atmosphere. Just right for a gentle conversations as you dine. Well worth the visit. You will find you repeat the experience, tme after time.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
2.2 km away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.2 km away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
134 reviews
2.3 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.9 km away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,042 reviews
1.9 km away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Countryman Hotel St Ives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Countryman Hotel St Ives

Address: Old Coach Rd, St Ives TR26 3JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: $62 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in Style Superior comfort and a warm welcome awaits you at the Countryman Hotel, set in one acre of landscaped gardens with rocky streams and pond, Dating from the 17th century, today this small hotel has recently been renovated to meet the needs of the modern visitor, all rooms have new flat screen televisions and tea making facilities, modern en-suite shower, basin, and toilet, baths are available in some rooms, The atmosphere of the hotel is friendly and inviting, the emphasis being on cheerful service and good value for money. Accommodation: Whether you just require a double room for the night or a twin room for a weekend break, Maybe a Family room for two weeks Holiday, our choice of bedrooms will not disappoint. Sand stone effect en-suite bathroom and Shower rooms are available with white fluffy towels and attention to detail to make this hotel in Cornwall extra special. Our Location: The Countryman Hotel is fast becoming one of the places to stay in St Ives. Situated just a five minute drive on the outskirts of the historical quaint town of St Ives in the valley of Trink Hill with magnificent Cornish country views, this hotel in Cornwall is perfectly located to explore the beautiful rugged coastline, sandy beaches and rolling countryside of Cornwall. Our Breakfast: Breakfast is of the traditional Cornish variety: we endeavour to offer the best standards of service and presentation to ensure that our guests start the day in time honoured fashion. A wide choice of fresh, local and seasonal produce appears on our menu, juices, yogurts and cereals, together with full cooked breakfasts of every description, we also cater for all appetites and diets. Our Cosy Bar: Have a refreshing draught beer or maybe a bottle of ale from our collection of Local Cornish ales, ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Countryman Hotel St Ives Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing