We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Already booked for next year!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Mermaid House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mermaid House
Relax and enjoy al fresco dining! Spacious - home from home!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Mermaid House
Relax and enjoy al fresco dining!
Spacious - home from home!
Kitchen showing French windows.
Kitchen which looks out onto garden
Work rest and play area!
Family Dining!
Whether or not the sun shines, you can take in the view from inside!
Lounge
Save money and dine in comfort at home
Upstairs En-suite bedroom
Get away from the children in your en-suite bedroom!
En-suite bathroom with shower
Peace and quiet in this room
Double bedroom
Comfortable 'home' for the younger ones
Twin room
Plenty of room for the whole family in this bathroom!
Parking a'plenty!
St Ives - Feb Half Term 2013 - And the sun shone!  Beach every day!
Local views to die for (don't jump!)
Famous 'Harbour, or Town' Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Zoe T
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Already booked for next year!!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I have recently spent a week in this fantastic house with my friends and family. I have been coming to st Ives for many many years and can honestly say this is the best accommodation I have stayed in. Everything was to a very high standard and Denise was / is so helpful, friendly and welcoming. The town is a short walk away but in lovely weather it is very a enjoyable walk. It was our first family holiday with our 6 month old daughter and they really have thought of everything to make it a home from home experience.I have already booked for next year!!!!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immymae01
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mermaid House a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 14 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

I have just spent the first week in September at Mermaid House with my husband, son, daugher in law and 2 year old grand daughter.

From the moment I first made the enquiry to the holiday itself I found Denise to be most helpful nothing was too much trouble.

Mermaid House is a lovely place spotless and clean with all you need really like home from home. We were blessed with good weather and having a 2 year old with us it was nice to open the 2 patio doors and let her loose in the garden which was perfect and safe.

St Ives centre is only 1 mile away we did manage to walk there and back but found walking back a bit too much you would probably be alright with no children. We found in the welcome pack three taxi firms which we made use of and at only £4.50 good value. So in the end we walked there and had a taxi back.

To sum up I would recommend Mermaid House to anyone wanting to stay in St Ives and if you get lovely weather you must visit Carbis Bay beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I could not fault it
Liked least: Only the up hill walk from the centre of St Ives
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sargant_1...
Bulawayo, Matabeleland North, Zimbabwe
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“These guys have thought of everything!”
Reviewed 10 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed in Mermaid House late in the Summer and found it to be everything we had hoped and more. We travelled with 4 young children and found that they were made to feel very welcome with games and info as well as all the essentials like high chairs and stair gates. You will have to be on your toes however as everything in this rental is immaculate and sticky fingers and climbing toddlers will have to be watched carefully!

The rooms are wonderfully spacious and private. The kitchen is well equipped and the information provided is nothing short of 'fully comprehensive'!

The walk up from the centre of town and the beach is quite a climb but is manageable when the weather is nice.

All in all, a great stay. We would make the trip all the way from Zimbabwe again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari H
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So well equipped, spacious and great for families with young children!”
Reviewed 10 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We were a large family group with 4 young children between us but we found the apartment offered ample space and was extremely comfortable. It is on two levels so great for large family groups. The outside area was wonderful for the kids because it is completely enclosed and safe and gets lots of sun.
The owners went to a great deal of trouble to make the children feel special - they received welcome packs, had their own welcome folder and games, puzzles and books to enjoy. Our older boys were very entertained by the treasure hunt laid out for them - looking for hidden Muswell the seagulls all over the house. Our younger two were also well looked after, they were able to supply us with two cots and two high chairs and stair gates which we made full use of.
The house is very well equipped with a fully kitted out kitchen and a washing machine, tumble dryer and dishwasher. The owners have gone to a great deal of trouble writing out instructions for operating all of these as well as the TV and DVD player which certainly made our lives easier! There is a large supply of DVDs, books and magazines which were great for a bit of R & R in the evenings.
The location of the house was ideal for us because it offered easy access in and out of St Ives so was great for day trips. It is about a 20 minute walk down to the town centre and beaches which are very busy in the summer months, and traffic and parking are a bit of a nightmare. We were very pleased to have 3 parking spaces at Mermaid House and we were happy to be on foot in town. The walk back up the hill is rather steep but great exercise after a pastie and an ice-cream! When we were in town late one evening we caught a bus which was able to take us about 3/4 of the way back up.
There is a Co-op nearby for essentials and a large Tesco's a short drive away where we did our big shop for the week. The kids had a great time at the Potter's just down the road which runs summer classes for children called Clay Time. They also enjoyed a wonderful production by the Kids R Us theatre in town. The beaches were their favourite though and there is a great selection of those in St Ives.
We really couldn't have enjoyed it more, it was a wonderful place to stay and I would highly recommend it to any large group - and especially those travelling with kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall level of service - we felt that the owners and agent really cared about our comfort and holiday experience
Liked least: Personally I would have loved to have had wi-fi access
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola D
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at Mermaid House and we absolutely love it. It is perhaps a little further out of St Ives than we are used to, but the ample parking and amazing facilities more than make up for it. We have stayed at Mermaid for the past two years with our two young children and my parents - the house is extremely child friendly and has everything we could possibly want, including a very well stocked bookcase! It is Denise's thoughtful additional touches which really make the holiday special, and the addition this year of a special welcome pack for the children really made their week,
We would recommend Mermaid to anyone and are already counting down the days until our next stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden is perfect for the children and we just feel so at home here.
Liked least: The only fault we have ever found is that the dinner plates don't fit in the dishwasher - a small price to pay however for what is our faur favourite holiday let of all time.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lottie141...
Swn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mermaid House is home from home”
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We recently returned from a week in St Ives, staying at Mermaid House, sadly the weather could have been better but Mermaid House was perfect.
From the time I made the intial enquiry about availabilty to getting the secrutiy deposit returned, I found Denise to be a very kind & thoughtful lady & this showed in the Mermaid House.
The attention to detail in the furnishing of the house, is fabulous, lovely light airy big rooms where you feel the space which was great for a party of 5 adults & a noisy toddler. Mermaid House is like home from home & every detail has been thought of. Mermaid House is a great place to go with family or friends for a holiday. I would recommend.
Its situated about a 20 min walk from the town centre which is downhill, coming back was a challenge but we sent the boys to pick the car up to pick the ladies & toddler up, save our legs! The fish & chip around the corner is must try, no dive bombing seagulls to worry about & it was the best Ive tasted in a while!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how well the house was equipped
Liked least: having to meet to collect keys, this meant we were time restricted, but in fairness we could have changed times, but we didn't think they would appreciate meeting at 5am!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing