We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spot on for everything in St Ives”

Review of The Sail Loft

Spacious yet cosy living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious yet cosy living area
Open plan living area Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Spacious yet cosy living area
Open plan living area
Kitchen
Entrance with beach paraphernalia for your use - wetroom is through the door on the left
Bedroom 1 - First Floor
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3 - ground floor
Bathroom
Bath with shower
Equipped with everything you need for a great holiday
Dining for 6
Ground Floor
A place for little people to sit!
Plenty of comfy seating for six
A cosy place to spend Christmas
Wetroom detail
Bedroom 2 - first floor
X marks the spot - ideally located close to the beautiful blue flag beaches
Porthmeor Beach (less than 5 minute walk from the cottage) on a sunny September morning
Our own private parking space
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mims P
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spot on for everything in St Ives”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a super 'secret' little cottage. From the outside you wouldn't know it was there. A door takes you down to a little Cornish haven, beautifully designed and equipped. The position is ideal for all beaches, harbour, restaurants, galleries and shops. Greta has even left beach mats, tent and boogie boards so we left ours in the car. The car parking space was quite a trek away but we didn't need it everyday. Just thankful for it as it is like Cornish gold!
Met Bernie the cleaner who did a 'proper job'. Even though there was no outside space, we sat out on the little lane or had a coffee at Olive's cafe above.
We loved our fortnight there.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caro11839
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Greta rewrites the rules for holiday rentals at the Sail Loft. It is best practice in every sense. The decor is beautiful , everthing has been considered and included for a relaxing holiday and best of all , it was spotless when we arrived thanks to Bernie the cleaner. We will definitely be back for more. Thank you so much for helping to make a memorable holiday.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pIDGGIEro...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at the sail loft was lovely , it's beautifully furnished with comfy sofas and lots of quirky trinkets.

The rooms were great and we all slept very well apart from the downstairs room where my sister slept who was kept awake by the seagulls and pigeons ( but you can't help that).

We would happily stay there again and the added wii was great fun! Also olives scones with clotted cream and jam were fantastic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon B
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great central hideaway”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Really enjoyed our week here. Tastefully decorated apartment with spacious living area. Enjoyed having the wet room as you came in the door to wash off sand etc. Location marvellous for accessing Porthmeor, Porthgwidden and the Harbour for beaches or walking into the centre for the shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feel of the aprtment and its location
Liked least: Personally, we missed having an outside area in which to sit.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMCCHHote...
East Sussex, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I want to live here”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Sail Loft is fabulous. We all loved it.
Grand Design conversion. Near to beaches. Dog friendly. Comfy beds. Friendly kitchen table. Lovely bathroom. Cosy living area. Seaside-y decor without being tacky. Some lovely touches. Brilliant Island Square location. Easy to book. Spotlessly clean.
There was nothing I would want to change about it and would happily move straight in!
Thank you for a lovely week Greta.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellielc20...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amongst all the treasure, there lies a hidden gem.”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

As far as I know there is no shortage of delightful holiday lets in St Ives to suit all. However, I have to say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Sail Loft at St Ives. It offers a well thought out kitchen with all mods and cons such as a decent dishwasher, microwave/oven, a large family table so you can enjoy a family meal together. There was even a complimentary bottle of wine left for us upon our arrival, along with an array of essentials to make a well deserved cuppa after our journey. The shower is over the bath as opposed to a cubicle but still provides lashings of hot water with a good amount of water pressure when taking a shower, plus there is an additional shower by the door to wash away the sand after a day on the beach if required. There has been a great deal of thought put into the overall look of the The Sail Loft building with regards to the interior decor. Using stylish sail boat type lighting, an oar on display, lamps with a basket finish on the base and an abundance of delightful pictures adorn the walls which shows a lot of attention to detail has been applied when choosing the theme for the cottage. All pictures we saw displayed on their web site at the time of viewing were accurate. In fact it's exactly the style I was seeking when booking a holiday let, after all who wants swirly red and gold carpets with multi- coloured wallpaper. Believe me, they are still out there! The bedding is of a high quality and everything was spotless. The location was perfect, only minutes from some fantastic beaches, harbour, shops and much more. A parking space was provided free of charge for the duration of the stay which is a bonus as we had two cars to consider as it can be difficult to park in some of the more convenient car parks near the cottage in high season. On this trip April 2015 we were able to park the second car easily in a car park that was only a few minutes away from the cottage. The icing on the cake would have been a small courtyard area and a sea view but then it would have probably have been more expensive, besides being in the heart of St Ives you only have to step out the door and it's not long before you come across some spectacular scenery. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Greta the owner for her friendly manner as she helped with all our every request. Would definitely return. Unsuitable for guests with a mobility difficulties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, decor, owners helpfulness, well equip kitchen, cleanliness.
Liked least: Personal choice would prefer firmer mattress.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful cottage in the heart of St Ives.”
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most fantastic week in early March. Beautiful blustery days with dramatic scenery. The cottage was warm and friendly and inviting and had everything you would ever need. It was spotlessly clean with crisp white sheets and gorgeous fluffy towels.
Maintenance work was on going in adjoining properties and the week was not without incidents but the owner, Greta, was truly remarkable and proactive in sorting the issues that arose going way beyond our expectations in ensuring we were happy.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing