We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
47
80
44
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
80
44
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jazz club early morning deliveries local live music staff we met were friendly leisure centre sunday carvery central location council car park excellent breakfast definately stay here comfy bed shower cubicle one night stay minutes walk away nice stay a bit tired night's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 212 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2018

Used Booking.com the morning of our visit to find accommodation. The deal was right & this hotel is extremely convenient for the town. The room was average size but had been recently refurbished & was presented to fairly basic but modern standards - all we needed for a couple of days away. Some aspects of the hotel are a bit tired, rooms on the front are perhaps slightly noisy (but not excessively so) & the breakfast was again very good 8/9 out of 10 for value

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nre718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

My partner and I stayed for 4 nights at the end of September. The location could not be beat. It was an easy walk from the train station and no more than a 10 minute walk to either Porthmeor or Porthminster beaches. Our room was clean, the shower was great and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was good but basic. Service was friendly. The only drawback was a little noise. There is an attached pub, the Kettle and Wink, that has live music every night. If you are looking for a super quiet stay, this may not be for you. But if you want to end your night listening to great local live music with a pint or two before heading to bed, this was a perfect end to each evening.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank spring-violet-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

It was difficult to get a booking in this area as Music Festival was in full force. Managed to get 2 rooms in the Western Hotel at £75 per night. B&B. Reception area attractively decorated and comfy - area not manned - telephone provided to contact and book in. Young lad came and booked us in and showed us to our rooms. Bedrooms were excellent, double bed, modern furniture, tea and coffee facilities. ensuite with shower etc. spotlessly clean and adequate space. Hotel obviously undergone a lot of interior work. The stairs leading to the rooms are the original stairs and looks like original carpet. Stairs need to be looked at and reapaired or replaced and carpet requires to be replaced or removed completely. Breakfast was served in dining area which was well laid out. Breakfast was well cooked and pleasantly served. Overall very pleasant experience and I would visit again.

Room tip: Room 9 - at front of Hotel. Room 20 at back of hotel (overlooking smoking area) garden etc.,
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Normski S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel good points it's very central for st ives there is no parking at the hotel but you can park at the leisure centre car park £8 for 24 hours and there is a bus that runs every 10 Mins for £1 that stops right outside hotel. It's not a place to stay if you cannot climb stairs though as there is no lift. Breakfast is good with very friendly staff. We had a family room for 2 of us which gave us plenty of room and the shower was lovely. The one thing I would recommend is to bring some ear plugs as it can be a bit noisy with music from the bar below and early morning deliveries at the Co op opposite but I had a lovely night's sleep with the ear plugs in. Overall a very good stay

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank YvonneS3192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

good points. very central to harbour and shops. comfy bed,good shower and breakfast. bad points. room was dusty. we had room at front and bar below was noisy until early hours then the coop lorry woke us up again at 6am. secondary glazing did not block noise and we couldn't fully shut bathroom window either. it was expensive for what we got.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rosie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews