We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,000)
Filter reviews
3,000 results
Traveller rating
1,148
940
487
256
169
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,148
940
487
256
169
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west wing self catering leisure facilities lovely grounds sea view indoor pool woodland walk tennis courts steam room buffet style hotel grounds reception area overlooking st ives special offer the main hotel bit dated short break
Filter
Updating list...
671 - 676 of 3,000 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

We went to Cornwall on the search for the best beach to get married and ended up in St Ives. As we didn't know beforehand where we would be ended up so we didn't book a hotel in advance. Once we got to St Ives we thought that we would book a hotel. But no. We knocked on every single hotels, guesthouses, and B and B and all of them were full. Just when we lost hope and thought that we would end up sleeping on the street, we saw Tregenna Castle and decided to try the last time. Lucky us they got one room left and decided to give us a bit discount since it was past midnight already and the check out time was 10 am. The room was big, the bed was really comfy that made me sleep straight away. So once again thank you Tregenna Castle for saving us.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannah286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are pleased you found your room to be big with a very comfortable bed which assisted your sleep immediately.

We would recommend pre-booking accommodation in advance should you revisit St Ives as we cannot guarantee a ‘saviour’ room will be available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2016

We self catered and our 2 bed cottage was well equipped with some modern touches, dishwasher and up dated bathroom. We were provided with t towels and washing up clothes etc, the linen, duvets were good and the beds really comfortable if on the small side, you get used to King sized beds!! Large soft fluffy bath towels....
Overall the cottage needed a revamp to bring the decorations etc up-to-date.
The castle grounds and amenities were well cared for and we used the par 3 golf course. Well laid out walks around the grounds.
Amazing location on the edge of St Ives and a short stroll down to the beach and harbour, get the bus back! The food in the restaurant was excellent, all the staff we came into contact with were helpful and friendly. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GraphiteGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent self-catering stay with us.

We are so pleased your two bedroom cottage was well equipped.

Our resort does offer a lot of ‘Olde world charm’ and we are delighted you found it during your stay.

We very much appreciate your kind comments regarding the excellent food you enjoyed and our staff who you found helpful and friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2016

Well like my fellow travellers another mixed review, disappointed that for the price you pay and the star rating it is defiantly wrong,a basic no frills hotel, not even a bottle of water in the room's in the middle of summer! again very stuffy rooms and the shower or should I say lack of it, a very very slow dribble and only if you had it on COLD! And I did not think I had booked into a holiday camp with the hi de hi breakfast, buffet set up, yes fine but no service for tea's/coffee etc.sorry remind me what star hotel we were staying in! The morning staff have not been taught table manners, (sorry guys, not all of you), that you do not take plates away when people are still eating! and to run out of white bread, and the brown was so cheap even the seagulls turned their back on it! not the best breakfast or breakfast experience. Good things were also evident, very clean and the staff where fantastic (apart from trying to take your breakfast away) evening meal's where good and staff worked very hard, the hotel chain who ever you are at least got something right! same this wasn't our first stay, bring back old owners, to commercial. Least they can not down grade the views! oh and NO Wi-Fi in the rooms!

Room Tip: Sea view but very expensive for what you got!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Our resort is a family friendly 3 star resort and our prices are in recognition of this and comparable to other hotels within the St Ives area.

Our staff are often praised for delivering a very high standard of customer service and we apologies if you witnessed some instances where this standard was not maintained.

The owners of the hotel remain the same and investment in our bedrooms, bathrooms, self-catering properties and public areas will continue for all our guests’ enjoyment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend in July for our anniversary, on arrival the hotel is situated in stunning grounds and has lovely views of the sea from the window. However the room was disappointing given we paid £235/night. The bed was so hard and uncomfortable, we had two pretty poor nights sleep. But the worst thing for me was the bathroom. There was no pressure at all in the shower and it was merely a dribble of water that came out. The bath tub was old and extremely weathered making showering quite the miserable experience. Not what we expected from a premium hotel!

Also we were not provided with any fresh towels or toilet paper when the cleaners came through. Other than the bed being made it certianly did not look like it had been cleaned and we had to call down to reception to ask for fresh toiletries.

Such a shame really as the grounds are stunning and the walk down to the town is beautiful, but certainly not worth the money that we spent. I would highly recommend sorting out the water pressure as we heard other people talking about the same issue and the lack of wifi in the room was also disappointung!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chody36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our stunning grounds and lovely views of the sea.

Our resort is being refurbished and redecorated, when completed it will include all bedrooms and bathrooms.

We are a proud 3 star family friendly resort and hope you do decide to stay with us again so that you will be able to witness the improvements we will continue to invest in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Went to a great wedding here and stayed a few days extra lovely food , nice room sea view.
Busy but relaxing swimming pools, lovely food.
Just one critical point really small portions of ice cream from the local Moomaid ice cream cart in reception and it was very small.
I am a ice cream connoisseur , it's a lovely ice cream portions here very different to their shop on st Ives.

A few boosters on wifi would be good.
We have enjoyed our stay so far we go home on Monday.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us so far.

Our staff will be delighted to read your fantastic comments regarding the lovely food and sea views which you have enjoyed.

We will take on board your comments regarding the ice cream portions.

It is pleasing to know you have enjoyed your stay so far, we hope this continues until your departure on Monday, so that it may help with your decision to return for another stay at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews