We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,981)
Filter reviews
2,981 results
Traveller rating
1,139
933
484
256
169
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,139
933
484
256
169
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west wing self catering leisure facilities lovely grounds sea view indoor pool woodland walk tennis courts steam room hotel grounds buffet style full price reception area overlooking st ives special offer the main hotel short break
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 2,981 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2018

This resort is perched on the hill above St Ives with amazing views of sea and the Town below. They offer both self catering cottages and hotel rooms. We were self catering and enjoyed a really peaceful week there. We used the heated indoor pool and the gardens and were delighted by both. There are lots of other things on offer so check their website including a children's play area heated outdoor pool leisure and beauty centre. All of the staff were extremely courteous and helpful, Gill from reception was outstanding when we had a problem with our first cottage and offered an alternative immediately. The area around St Ives has so many beaches and such a beautiful coastline for walking and family days. The town is bustling with shops art galleries and bakeries. We visited Lands End whilst there which is an easy journey by car. We were blessed with 6 sunny days and spent most of each of them out of the cottage, had we wanted to stay in the cottage more it was very comfortable and clean with tv and an excellent WiFi connection. There are lots of other attractions in the area and I would highly recommend it for a family or couples visit. It is a wonderful wedding venue we saw one on either weekend we were there. The walk up and down the hill to the town would be challenging for anyone with walking difficulties but again easy by car.

Room Tip: Stunning views from sea facing rooms lovely quiet resort with great leisure and beauty facilities
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your week break in one of self catering properties.
We are delighted you enjoyed your peaceful week and we all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

2 nights at £338

Fairly nice entrance expecting a nice hotel, but on arrival from the car park which resembled a builders yard and all the way to the bedroom was a disappointment with an old fashioned reception with no one in sight , old fashioned all the way up to the bedroom, basic room with tired carpets and not warm, tap in the bath not working, and no nice bottles of shampoo or body wash . No sea view or garden view only a view to a roof and courtyard with a rat trap. We wandered off to the bar which looked like something from the sixties. There was no hair dryer in the room and for this day and age even the most basic hotels have one in the bedroom, and for the room rates what a disappointment all the way, we will not recommend and we will not stay again unless this place has a serious update . Thank God we decided to eat out for Breakfast and dinner so that we did not have to spend any time here

Stayed: September 2018
2  Thank 69Pinkpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

We are sorry to read your disappointing review of our hotel. The castle was built in the 1700's and the hotel has been continually updated over recent years with the consideration of being in keeping with the property. We are sorry it didn't meet your tastes. We have many different room types to choose from including sea view rooms. The room you chose was a non-sea facing room. All of our bedrooms should have hair dryers and the reception team would have rectified this issue if they were made aware. This is the same for any issue you had with the bath tap. Our bar/Brasserie generally has some fantastic reviews, both for its appearance and for our lovely menu. It's a shame you did not eat at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018

We stayed in the new signature collection property, Really enjoyed our time there, Hotel staff a little snotty and not very welcoming tried to check in a 3.56 was told we had to wait until 4. we waited 4 minutes went back and queued with everyone else, not very welcoming I would say, I mean 4 minutes Also went in for a coffee, asked for an Americano , waiter said white or black, I said black with milk on the side, he said you mean white, !!! why the need for sarcasm , Was pleased we didn't stay in the hotel, kids loved the in door and out door pools, Golf course a little rough, not worth the £15 charged, would rather drive a little way out and play a proper course for not much more money, but that's just my choice, lovely grounds, would go back for sure but wouldn't stay in the hotel because of there attitude

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kwok113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay in one of our Signature properties and enjoyed most of our facilities too. We are sorry you had to wait a few minutes to check-in. The reception staff have to make sure a property is ready before keys are given to our guests and they had not had confirmation that your property had been vacated by our cleaning team as it was before 4pm. Of course, we aim to have our guests check in as quickly as possible if we can do so. On the whole, we receive fantastic reviews about our customer service so are very sorry to read that this was not the experience you believed you had and this will be investigated. We take pride that our golf course is well maintained, so are disappointed that you found it a little rough. I will pass your feedback to senior management and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Lovely setting with great views if St Ives, there's a beautiful walk down to the town through Tregenna's gardens. Plenty of on site amenities for both adults and kids - a very good Par 3 course, tennis, swimming pool, sauna, steam room etc... Top spot & we'll go back

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank johndunlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

If you are after a venue with beautiful grounds, stunning views and the option of getting married outside... Tregenna Castle is a must!
Can not recommended this venue highly enough. From the day we booked our wedding date, everything run smoothly, our wedding coordinators are amazing. Everything I asked for, the venue did. Food on the wedding day was outstanding - All guests rated it. All staff were excellent on the day, couldn't do either for us.
Tregenna Castle for a wedding venue can not be beaten. We fully enjoyed our stay with Tregenna and will return again in the future.
Thank you all Tregenna staff for your hard work and making our wedding day so perfect. 10/10

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Kelly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Congratulations Mr & Mrs Doyle!!
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent wedding at our hotel.
Our friendly staff in particular our Events team will be thrilled to read your kind comments regarding the service they provided throughout your wedding day and also the time leading up to your special day.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Tregenna Castle and rekindling some of the special memories that you have already made.
We wish you both every happiness in married life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews