We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Proper pub

Visited the Union Inn today for lunch. It's a great traditional pub with friendly staff. We... read more

Reviewed November 26, 2017
HobbitHJ
,
Newquay, United Kingdom
via mobile
Sunday Roast to die for...

This is our 3rd visit to this pub, and it's fab! It's a proper pub serving proper food! The Sunday... read more

Reviewed July 11, 2017
Jenlux9
via mobile
Read all 22 reviews
  
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
9
10
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
10
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 21 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2017 via mobile

Visited the Union Inn today for lunch. It's a great traditional pub with friendly staff. We decided to have lunch and myself and my mum had the Sunday roast which had a buy two and receive a free bottle of wine. My dad ordered his favourite liver and onions which he throughly enjoyed. The portion sizes are massive so you certainly won't leave hungry. The pub welcomes dogs as well so you can take your furry friends in with you.

Thank HobbitHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

This is our 3rd visit to this pub, and it's fab! It's a proper pub serving proper food! The Sunday roast is fantastic, and when you order 2 you get a free bottle of wine!
Definitely one to visit for some home comfort foods!
The beer battered cod and chips is also fantastic!!

Thank Jenlux9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2017 via mobile

We had been in search of somewhere that had tables available and had Moules on the menu. The Union did not disappoint. It was very sociable and got chatting to German visitors as well as other English visitors. Landlady was very helpful. The food was good quality but inexpensive.

Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2017

Very good for lunch
Good range of food - quickly served
Staff friendly
Good beer
Not on the promenade and yet it was full - so the TA reviews count
Could not fault

Thank DavidTLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2017

Having had experience of "fine dining" this pub provided just what was needed, that is good quality traditional English pub food. This was the tastiest ham sandwich I had eaten in a long long time. As an added bonus the young man in charge was very personable and willing to tell us about the life growing up in this famous beautiful, peninsular, historic seaside town.

Thank familytraveller840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2016 via mobile

Called in twice while holidaying in Cornwall in November. Traditional pub menu plus specials board, we all had different courses and all v good.I had the crab sandwhich, superbly fresh can well recommend this little gem.

Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2016

Called in for lunch we had a ploughmens, and mackerel, both were very good, loads of it, had a job to finish but we managed have a look if you are in the area,

Thank NoahBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

A great place for food and drink. We found a table in the back on a busy evening and had a lovely meal and a few drinks.
Have been in before but not for food.
Might have to add it to my list of eateries now.

Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2016

whilst in st ives we ate at the union twice , each time the food was really good, especially the cod and chips, it was beautiful

Thank kirstylou9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

We had just arrived in St. Ives and unpacked when we headed out for a drink after a 12 hour train journey. Walking down Fore Street I heard some music coming from what turned out to be The Union Inn. As it was a Friday night it was busy but the bar men were on the ball and it didn't take long for one to serve me. A cool pint of lager and after explaining to my wife what they had in wine he poured her a Zifandel. Cheap and cheerful. The duo playing the music were more than competent in playing seventies rock. The mixed age crowd liked them. A pleasant evening out.

Thank Felonious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews