We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Blue Hayes Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Hayes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

It's difficult to top the other reviews-- a beautiful hotel where you wish you could curl up and stay for a week. The staff are so warm and inviting from the moment you arrive and the rooms are quite, private and beyond immaculate. We stayed in the Bay suite, other family members stayed in Treylon, both were wonderful. The views from the Bay suite are incredible. We can't wait to return next spring.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plannergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
272
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent,
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This is the perfect place to recharge one's batteries and enjoy the delights of St Ives. The whole staff are incredibly welcoming (pot of tea and biccies revived us after the train journey from London) and the overall impression is that they really care about the hotel and your stay. The rooms are tastefully decorated and furnished and as other reviewers have commented, everywhere is spotless! Breakfasts are hearty and delicious. We always enjoyed the coastal walk into town and even braved a return journey one night armed with a torch.

Room Tip: The Trelyon Room looks out onto road but it's very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjcanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2011

A beautiful hotel in beautiful settings with very very friendly staff and owner. It was clean enough to eat your food off the floor and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stuart Moroney

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Location - perfect - with far reaching views over St.Ives and extensive seascape.Hotel - perfect - with calm and tasteful decor throughout. Hospitality - perfect - greeted in the car park on arrival followed by a brief tour of the facilities and completed with a welcome pot of coffee.Suite - perfect - large comfortable bed,ample storage for a week long stay,french windows to private patio and a large luxurious bathroom.Housekeeping - perfect - just perfect.Public areas - perfect - comfortable seating everywhere,cool yet bright and boasting the best sound system and music selection ever encountered. Cuisine - perfect - quality produce prepared and plated to perfection.Staff - perfect - always bright,cheeful and most helpful.Weather - almost perfect -for the last week in September

Room Tip: All quality suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank syewtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We were welcomed by the friendly staff of the hotel! Stayed in the Treylon suite! Very nice room with a very large terrace! Breakfast was served at our requested time and was wonderfull!!! From the hotel a short walk to the center of St. Ives! Nice restaurants and a large selection of pasties! We really recommend this hotel to everybody who's searching for a romantic getaway! The staff was truly great!

Room Tip: Treylon suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuidubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarisbrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This was our second visit to Blue Hayes,and definitely not our last,as we have already booked for next year !!
Once again we were greeted by Malcolm,and made to feel like friends returning, everyone there,make you feel as though you are special guests,but all the guests are made to feel the same,it is just part of the wonderful ambience created by Malcolm and all the staff.
As expected,everywhere is immaculate,and the beautifully appointed lounges and dining rooms, with the calming colours of cream and pale blue,immediately make you feel rested.
Our suite was immaculately cleaned,and toiletries, and hospitality tray replenished daily by Louise.
Breakfast is served between 8:30 to 10:00 am. and the choice is endless,and cooked to perfection,and was served by either Stephanie or Jade,,who were always so pleasant,polite and friendly.
Breakfast is served either in the dining room, your own suite, or on warmer days, on the terrace overlooking St. Ives bay.
I cannot fail to mention Sue,who greets you daily on reception,a wonderful lady,who will help with any queries, or recommendations for dining out or places to visit,and never fails to have a smile,and will always have a friendly chat.
Malcolm has made Blue Hayes something special,and it is little wonder that guests return year on year.
I know that there are some people that I have failed to mention,and for this I apologise,but my Husband and I would like to thank you all for making our holiday so wonderful.
Many thanks.

Room Tip: Any room would be wonderful but Trelyon and the Master suite have their terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at Blue Hayes for 3 nights during our honeymoon trip to Cornwall - my husband booked it (as a surprise) based on reviews on Trip Advisor.

On arriving, Malcolm and Sue were waiting by the door, expecting us. They greeted us warmly, and showed us around the hotel and onto the terrace, with stunning sea views, where we had a drink before being shown to our room. We stayed in the Trelyon Suite, which had a huge private terrace, with partial sea views, sunloungers, chairs and table. It was fantastic to be able to sit here late afternoon, enjoying a drink in the sun before dandering into St Ives for a meal.

There was also champagne on ice and a personalised card from the staff - a fantastic surprise, making our stay all the more special.

The room itself was extremely comfortable, with a large bed, hairdryer, torch (for late night walks along the coastal path!) and the bathroom was also large, with molton brown toiletries.

I was also struck by how clean our room and the rest of the hotel was - especially with the white carpets and sofas. We were very impressed.

We hope to return in the future for a longer stay, as St Ives is wonderful and we didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Although the Trelyon Suite is on the road side of the hotel, there was no noise at night, and the te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kfa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.4 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.4 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.4 km away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
30.1 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.6 km away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Hayes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hayes Hotel

Property: Blue Hayes Hotel
Address: Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#4 Family Hotel in St Ives
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Hayes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small private luxury hotel in its own grounds above Porthminster Beach, overlooking the harbor and St Ives Bay. Six luxurious rooms - one has a balcony, another a roof terrace, and another a patio and garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Hayes St Ives
Hotel Blue Hayes
Blue Hayes Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing