We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay. Highly recommended”
Review of Ten Ocean View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ten Ocean View
Ranked #36 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 June 2010

We received a very warm welcome from Marilyn and Rubens. A good location, about a 10 minute walk into the centre. We stayed in room 3. Fantastic view of the bay. The whole place was spotless. Breakfast was lovely - everything you could want and beautifully cooked. Lovely place, very warm and welcoming owners who couldn't do more for you. We certainly recommend Ocean View.
Anne and Ian

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne_and_IanKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2010

We stayed here for 7 nights in June 2010. We are not normally B&B people, but could not find a suitable cottage in St Ives at a sensible price, so we booked here on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews. What a fantastic choice!!
The owners, Gill & Mike, were the perfect hosts and it felt as if you were staying with family or close friends. The view from the property is amazing and there were even dolphins playing in the bay most evenings to watch with the supplied binoculars. There is also the massive advantage of having a parking space, as parking can be difficult/impossible when St Ives is busy in the summer. Our room (No.3) looked as if it had been recently decorated and was spotlessly clean. The decor, linen, accessories and bathroom with spa bath were absolutely top notch. The breakfasts were amazing, all wonderfully cooked to order, huge and extremely filling!!
Part way through our stay Gill & Mike left for a long term break and handed over management to their friends Marilyn & Reuben. They have had plenty of experience (and excellent reviews) from running the next door property. Although we were sorry to see Gill and Mike go, Marilyn & Reuben did a fantastic job from day one and even mastered the troublesome toaster!!
I would highly recommend Ten Ocean View to anybody, young or old. Book your room soon before it's full for the summer!!
Finally I would like to wish Gill and Mike all the very best in their new surroundings and thank both them and Marilyn & Reuben for a fantastic stay. We hope to return before too long.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SS2Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Stayed ocean View for 2 days in room 3. Sunsets and sunrise outstanding, have never had such a lovely view anywhere for any price! Room very nice getting a little dated, bathroom very nice indeed. Quality breakfasts (too much so ask for less) lovely home made cakes and breads pleasant couple now managing this B and B with very hard working Welsh gent eager to help in any way

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LillyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Chose Ten Ocean View because of the glowing reviews, and they were not wrong. Comfortable, clean and tidy, well maintained, excellent breakfast. We were made very welcome. The other three couples staying had all been there before, and I'm guessing from the reviews that these return visits are normal here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

This was a perfect getaway location for my partner and I, St.Ives was as beautiful as it looked when we booked our holiday. What we didnt expect was to get the accomodation and service that we recieved from Mike and Gill at Ocean View to be just as delightful as the views and town!
Ten Ocean View was the icing on the cake...Such comfortable beds, spaceous rooms with a view to die for, digital plasma tv and a spa bath...who could want more?! Well no-one but we got more when we headed down for breakfast...
Full fry fit for a king, fresh fruit and home made breads of all kinds! Just perfection!
The owners, Mike and Gill really did feel like our personal caterers and tour guides as they gave us great insights to what was on offer around the bay.
All in all.....Were coming back next year and wont be staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

What a delightful time we had at Ten Ocean View! Gill and Mike were hugely welcoming and also helped to arrange a few surprises for my wife. Very comfortable room, warm with great amenities. Our hosts provided great suggestions for day trips.
Amazing breakfasts, courtesy of Mike, plus some very useful bread baking tips. I couldn't praise this place enough.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrispyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

This is now my second visit to Mike and Gill at 10 Ocean View and if I thought I stayed in sheer comfort and food heavan last time, this guest house has improved!! our room was beautifully decorated, with a fabulous view over the bay, I immediately felt relaxed as soon as I put down my bag, and of course then staright into fresh tea/coffee and of course Mike's freshly baked breads and cakes of which I have yet to find a rival in flavor. Gill was as always so warm and welcoming making you feel like your in a home away from home. Next day the breakfast, which I had remembered to be a gastronomical delight was so sublime that even a michellan starred restaurant would struggle to compete with, again freshly baked breads, pastries and traditional rock cakes ladened our table and topped with homemade preserves this feast was one to savor. I already look forward to making a reapeat reservation to stay with Gill and Mike as this really is a guest house with a difference, many 5 starred hotels would do well to take a leaf out of Mike and Gills book.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrscorcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,769 reviews
2.5 km away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
2.7 km away
Oystercatcher
Oystercatcher
#2 of 7 in Carbis Bay
71 reviews
0.7 km away
Trevose Harbour House
Trevose Harbour House
#1 of 102 in St Ives
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Ocean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Ocean View

Address: 10 Ocean View Terrace, St Ives TR26 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: $158 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Ocean View is a luxury B&B with breathtaking views of Porthmeor Beach, The Island and across St Ives to Godrevy Lighthouse. Being just a stone's throw from the beach we are ideally placed for a beach break, with St Ives harbour and town only a few minutes' stroll further. We have four beautifully appointed en-suite guest rooms, all designed to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. Two of our rooms have spectacular sea views, one of which boasts a spa bath. All our rooms are flooded with the world-renowned St Ives light and elegantly furnished to ensure you enjoy the perfect holiday or short break in Cornwall. There is free parking with three of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ten Ocean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Ocean View
Ten Ocean View Hotel St Ives
Ten Ocean View St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing