We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
37
10
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
10
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose cottage min walk on arrival sunflower path cornwall properties
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 56 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2008

An amazing place. Beautiful cottages. Very well equipped kitchens etc with top end appliances. Nice touches such as the IPOD docking station. Fantastic beds. Amazing location overlooking the sea and beaches and next to a golf course.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gr00mus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2007

Often a webite will leave you disappointed by the reality of a holiday - the reverse is true at Gonwin Manor: the website doesn't do the experience justice.

We were greeted by Sharon's mother who made us feel really welcome and at ease. Our hosts couldn't have been more friendly and obliging but were always completely discrete. As mentioned in other reviews, the attention to detail and the provision of a fresh cream tea, bottle of wine and chocolates was a lovely touch. The facilities in Lavender Cottage were first class; the kitchen was more than well equiped and the furnishings were beauiful. The owner's dogs were a extra added bonus - we wanted to bring them home with us!

The manor overlooks Porthkidney beach - truly amazing and almost empty even on a hot sunny day. The walk into St Ives is also stunning but takes a good 45 minutes. Restaurants we can recommend in St Ives are The Wave and Alba - both serving excellent seafood and other local produce, with very reasonable wine lists.

Further afield, the walk from Zennor to the Casacks and back via the fields is well worth the effort - about 3 hours in total. Sennan to Lands End is a much shorter walk but still provides breath taking views. There are also plenty of walks to be had closer to Gonwin Manor.

The Minack theatre is also a worthwhile trip but get there when the gates open to get a good seat, take a cushion and picnic and wrap up warm as it does get cold!

A perfect holiday, you will not be disappointed by this place - we certainly intend to visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kellyws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2007

we stayed in Bluebell cottage at the beginning of August and loved it. Everything is 5* quality, comfy beds, plasma TVs in all rooms so no kids arguing which channel they want on! Don't forget your iPod as you can plug it into the cottage wide hi fi system. The kids fell in love with the owners two spaniels, George and Jessie (I've never spaniels so placid, maybe it's the west country air?). Beautiful walks on the doorstep, and only 10 mins walk to Carbis Bay beach - pure white sand and turquoise blue water - paradise.

Nothing's too much trouble for Sharon and her mum, we really appreciated the little touches, like the bottle of wine and the clotted cream that greeted us on arrival, the kids even had some treats to feed the dogs.

Sorry we had to leave, we'll be back. Thanks.

The Grahams

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BecandBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We recently stayed at Gonwin Manor cottages in Rose Cottage.

The cottage has lots of lovely gadgets such as fantastic kitchen equipment and jacuzzi bath. The IPod link that allows music to be played in any room was great. The cream tea and wine and chocs were a nice touch.

We were disppointed though by the noise that carried through from above. It didn't explain on the website that there would be an apartment above the cottage. We were woken early every day and kept up late several nights by the people above walking about, and things like the washing machine/dishwasher on. We were quite surprised how much noise carried. This obviously wasn't their fault but meant we never really had a lie in, which we were looking foward to. If we had known this, I would have chosen a smaller cottage which didn't have anyone above.

The lake and decking area is lovely and the views amazing. We were surprised people didn't seem to be there more often.

Is in a good location for St Ives and the rest of south of Cornwall. We were a bit disappointed by St Ives, which wasn't quite a nice as we expected. Highly recommend the Porthminster Beach Cafe and a trip to Falmouth.

Overall, it was a lovely place but would not recommend that particular cottage if you do not want to be risked being disturbed from overhead.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank Padston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2007

We have just come back from Gonwin Manor and I can't say enough good things about it. We stayed in Rose cottage and I have to say it was better than home. We had a lovely 4 poster bed which was heaven. Everything you need or want is in the kitchen - All Dualit! The only thing we had to do was turn up with some food. We were greeted with a lovely cream tea and a bottle of wine and chocolates for later. The owners and their family are lovely and willing to help with anything. Good location - just a short drive into St Ives. Lovely decking area down by the pond where you can have a BBQ. A path down to a stunning beach. We couldn't have asked for more - defo recommend this place to anyone. BTW kids are very welcome and cots etc are provided!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hjdklhsrijeua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews