We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly not five star”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gonwin Manor Cottages
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Booked this cottage for a special 60 th birthday , on arrival we were so shocked by how utterly
filthy it was ! We called the office and had the cleaner come back , there were to many areas to mention , she wiped the crease that wS running over the cooker with a cloth and then used the same one to wipe a dirty fork , she then rubbed a saucepan lid on the sleeve of her jacket ! The beams in the bedroom were thick with dust which had obviously
been there for months ! We were told they only got dusted at the begging of season! The furniture in the lounge is terrible and so unconfortable , we have photos to back all this up , think twice before you book , the grounds are lovely , I'm still waiting for a response from August .It was advertised as having a spa for treatments which we wanted to do however that was empty , also the walk to the pub and beach is not as close as stated , 2500 paid and we had to clean up .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank lynny719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Fabulous cottage set in beautiful surroundings . This was our 3rd consecutive visit to the gonwin manor cottages and our 2nd stay at bluebell . A lovely cottage perfect for a break with our daughter and two pugs during the October half term. The kitchen is stacked out with every possible utensil and kitchen gadget that you could possibly imagine and more! no expense spared. The cottage is a good size which flows well , the living area is large but cosy especially with the log burner. We will definitely visit again and would definitely recommend especially if you have lots of extended family would suggest all hiring out a cottage as this would make a wonderful family holiday particularly if you hired the cottages exclusively , the grounds are huge , there is a designated dog excercise area which is perfect to let your dogs off for a good run. We will be back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We have stayed at Gonwin Manor cottages 5 times now. I do not think we will be going back. No Wifi for the week and when I telephoned to get some help I was told that Pure Cornwall do not guarantee Wifi.
Clean, every single cooking implement you could imagine
Since a holiday company have started managing it it has got worse, all the nice little touches have gone. It is looking quite shabby now for example only three glasses! I do not think it is worth the +£1100 for a 2 bedroom cottage for a week.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Visited Rose Coattages in June 2017. My partner and I booked it for our honeymoon as we have a baby and did not want to travel abroad. Rose Cottage is described on the website as the honeymoon suite, with countryside views from the bedroom, a private courtyard, 5 mins from the beach, ideal for couples with a baby.

Upon arrival all seemed well however we soon realised there was no countryside view from the bedroom - or from any window, the seating area is in a shared courtyard with each cottage having a small waste height hedge dividing it up, and access to the beach was down a path which at the time was overgrown with nettles and inaccessible. What should have been a 5 min walk became a 25min walk up the main road.

Phoned to complain, got an apology but no offer of a partial refund/upgrade/voucher or anything else to attempt to put it right. Emailed a complaint when home and as yet no reply.

We paid £1000 for the week based on the description which we had read. Mainly for the view from the bedroom which was non existent. There was only a view if you walked out of the cottage and up the back of the field.

As for the private lake, this is a pond; with a deck area for a few sunloungers.

Don't get me wrong, Rose Cottage is a nice cottage and I can't speak for the other cottages at Gonwin Manor. It's just wrong how they are describing it as this luxury little retreat for honeymooners when it's clearly not.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank markandkirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay with our dog & children. Cottage was perfect, so much attention to detail. Everything was included (dishwasher tabs, barbecue charcoal & dog poo bags) that isn't normally. The walk into st Ives is beautiful on the coast path, although quite a work out! Just a brilliant base for tge beautiful St Ives area

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Farnboroughmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

My family and I have just returned from a lovely 3 night weekend break at Poppy Cottage. The cottage was beautifully furnished, very clean and perfect for our every need while in Cornwall,

If I was to be super picky then I think the late check in time of 4pm is not ideal, especially with the check out time of 10am, and while pet friendly, there is no outside area enclosed for dogs, so it doesn't really have a 'fully enclosed courtyard.'

My family and I very much look forward to returning in the future, and would thoroughly recommend to anyone thinking of visiting.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AmesB1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

This is our 5th visit to gonwin manor. We love going as a family. We came down on the 2nd of April with our family and in-laws for our usual easter break. Only to find the cottage below us was having a bathroom refitted . The noise was terrible.... not exactly a restful holiday. Which is what we came down for. Then we hado problems with the heating.... cold bedrooms.
I must say we were very disappointed .

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
5  Thank cludetat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
1 km away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
3.7 km away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
134 reviews
2.1 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.6 km away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,042 reviews
0.9 km away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gonwin Manor Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gonwin Manor Cottages

Address: Gonwin Manor Gonwin Manor Drive | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 3GN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Speciality Lodging in St Ives
Hotel Class:5 star — Gonwin Manor Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Gonwin Manor Cottages Hotel St Ives
Gonwin Manor Cottages St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing