We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gonwin Manor Cottages
Nearby Hotels
The Atlantic(Carbis Bay)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$311
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$420
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
US$184
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Boskerris Hotel(Carbis Bay)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
37
10
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
10
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose cottageon arrivalmin walklittle touchessunflowerpathbluebellwificornwallproperties
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 56 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed in Bluebell for a holiday by the sea as the website seemed to imply that the beach was just at the end of the garden. What was actually at the end of the garden was the coastal path that led down to the beach after a 20 min walk. (There was me dreaming of us strolling to the beach in flip flops before breakfast!). Now the coastal path is lovely (having spent a week hiking it a few years ago) but you do need to come prepared for mud and nettles in some places and so I feel the website was not at all helpful and downright misleading with its description and photos.
Also, my brochure stated a fully equipped gymn (and this is also shown on the arial map on the website) but no sign of this at the actual place (not as disappointing as the distance to the beach).
Now the cottage itself was very nice and clean. Being rated as 5*, it had supremely comfy beds, quality bed linen, lots of white fluffy towels, bath robes etc... which were all wonderful. Add to this TVs everywhere, ipod dock and a very well equipped kitchen and you have an extremely comfortable stay. The double bedroom is a bit dark as there is only a small window in the corner. Bedside cabinets and lamps are NOT standard which was surprising. Our five year old loved the jacuzzi bath but it wasn't actually very comfy to lie back in due to the spouts digging into your back.
There are wonderful views from the garden. There could be some outdoor games/equipment if they were trying to make this place family orientated. Don't know how well the 'private' patios with barbecue work as the weather wasn't ever nice enough that week for any of the cottages to brave it - but the hedges are only 1m high around each patio so it's more personal rather than private. And there was a patio belonging to some other cottage around the other side which looked directly through the corridor window into our bathroom so we had to keep the blind down (frosted glass might have been better!).
All in all, we did enjoy our stay. It is, after all, a lovely area. There's a lot that's spot on and just a few niggles that let it down especially when considering the price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyXS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Spent 2 weeks in Sunflower cottage with our 3 young children and it really was the most wonderfully relaxing experience. The cottage is amazingly comfortable with such excellent fine details to make your stay as enjoyable as possible! The beds are simply to die for! The children could play outside in the grounds and just loved the resident pooches George and Jess!..The location was perfect as not too far from St Ives and it's wonderful ambience and not to mention the Porthminster cafe which is an essential visit and finishes your walk along the exquisite coastal path walk perfectly!! VBook a table by the window asap..
We will most defineltly stay again..is pricey but you only get what you pay for these days and this guarentees an unforgettale stay!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoodwinsDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2008

An amazing place. Beautiful cottages. Very well equipped kitchens etc with top end appliances. Nice touches such as the IPOD docking station. Fantastic beds. Amazing location overlooking the sea and beaches and next to a golf course.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gr00mus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2007

Often a webite will leave you disappointed by the reality of a holiday - the reverse is true at Gonwin Manor: the website doesn't do the experience justice.

We were greeted by Sharon's mother who made us feel really welcome and at ease. Our hosts couldn't have been more friendly and obliging but were always completely discrete. As mentioned in other reviews, the attention to detail and the provision of a fresh cream tea, bottle of wine and chocolates was a lovely touch. The facilities in Lavender Cottage were first class; the kitchen was more than well equiped and the furnishings were beauiful. The owner's dogs were a extra added bonus - we wanted to bring them home with us!

The manor overlooks Porthkidney beach - truly amazing and almost empty even on a hot sunny day. The walk into St Ives is also stunning but takes a good 45 minutes. Restaurants we can recommend in St Ives are The Wave and Alba - both serving excellent seafood and other local produce, with very reasonable wine lists.

Further afield, the walk from Zennor to the Casacks and back via the fields is well worth the effort - about 3 hours in total. Sennan to Lands End is a much shorter walk but still provides breath taking views. There are also plenty of walks to be had closer to Gonwin Manor.

The Minack theatre is also a worthwhile trip but get there when the gates open to get a good seat, take a cushion and picnic and wrap up warm as it does get cold!

A perfect holiday, you will not be disappointed by this place - we certainly intend to visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kellyws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2007

we stayed in Bluebell cottage at the beginning of August and loved it. Everything is 5* quality, comfy beds, plasma TVs in all rooms so no kids arguing which channel they want on! Don't forget your iPod as you can plug it into the cottage wide hi fi system. The kids fell in love with the owners two spaniels, George and Jessie (I've never spaniels so placid, maybe it's the west country air?). Beautiful walks on the doorstep, and only 10 mins walk to Carbis Bay beach - pure white sand and turquoise blue water - paradise.

Nothing's too much trouble for Sharon and her mum, we really appreciated the little touches, like the bottle of wine and the clotted cream that greeted us on arrival, the kids even had some treats to feed the dogs.

Sorry we had to leave, we'll be back. Thanks.

The Grahams

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BecandBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews