We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place to stay ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Borthalan Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one week . The hotel is in a great location with sea views from room 7 the room was clean tidy and had everything you needed with a fantastic breakfast to top it all off
The beach is a 5 minute walk downhill and is lovely with the train station 2 minutes away with a 5 minute train ride or a fab coastal path to walk into St ives
A great location for visiting other resorts and Martin and Margaret were fab hosts and we will certainly be returning

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Johnjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

Stayed over last Bank Holidays weekend (weather turned it into proper Cornish Riviera).
Room was small with outdated deco and some mould stains in the ensuite but warm and cosy, so all we needed.
Amazing fried breakfast and good choice of cereal, fruit and yoghurt.

Short walk to the station and beach. Nice stroll along the coast to St Ives with plenty of restaurants and pubs.

Will stay again with when returning to Carbis Bay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karol_Jot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
111
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights. Great location, the owner was very welcoming, gave us the train times for the branch line to st ives ( 5 minute train journey, train platform under 5 mins walk from the hotel) Breakfast was nice. Really nice location as it's not in the centre of st ives so nice and quiet, but not far from activities. Room was clean. :)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights.
We stayed in the top attic room with the sea view which was lovely. The room itself is very small, but we found it cosy and the bed very comfortable. Overnight is was very quiet, with only the guests next door making any noise.
The room, although clean is in need of decorating and WiFi coverage on the top floor is non existent, however these are tiny niggles!
Breakfast was a mixture of fried and cereals /fruit and was were promptly and politely by the helpful owner, Martin.
Location was very good, only a 10 minute climb through local paths to the amazing Carbis Bay beach, or only 5 to the local train station which is a must to get to St Ives itself which is a nightmare in a car.
(beware as with a lot of places in Cornwall, hills are steep and access for those with mobility issues is difficult) but this is of no fault of the property.
For the money we paid, this was a good deal.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank learnedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Place itself its ok. Me and my wife stayed there for three nights. A bit of climb if You would like to go to the beach carbis bay. Car park is very tight so with my car we werent able to park at the site. We had to park on the street. Our room was a top room. Very small, not that clean. Shower very tiny, barely any place to move. Be prepared for softest materace ever! And not very wide. If You not use to it its very hard to sleep on it! We have struggled in first two nights to sleep. Breakfast was very good though. U can request extra portions. Owner very helpful and propably thats why im rewarding this place with 4 stars

Stayed: September 2016
1  Thank Mt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a few days, having already booked before I broke my foot. The owners really helped us out by carrying luggage amongst other helpfulness where my foot hindered our trip. Food great, room lovely and view of the sea very nice.

A great place for couples wishing to have a base for St Ives. Carbis Bay has a great fish and chip restaurant and a tapas bar too.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

I made the mistake of reading reviews for this hotel after I had booked but before I travelled. I think some of the reviews were unfair and I'm not sure what the people who left them were expecting.

The hotel is small so therefore the rooms are on the small side. Saying that, the only thing I didn't like about our room, room 5 on the top floor, is the fact that the slope of the roof meant we couldn't sit up in bed. The bed is very comfortable and the view is exceptional. It is extremely quiet at night but if you have the windows open you can just hear the sea.

The en suite is small but the room is on the top floor and the bathroom is tucked under the slope of the roof. It does have a full size shower and is scrupulously clean. The shower is a little tricky to get into though so very tall or wide people would struggle in the bathroom.

The owner, Martin, is very friendly and helpful. He left beers out on the bar in the evenings for my husband to take and leave the money. The breakfast is lovely and the public areas are immaculate. The parking spaces are tight but everyone managed.

So why not 6 stars? The wallpaper was a little untidy in places in our room, although this didn't affect our comfort. There was nowhere to hang wet towels. The Wifi was hit and miss, mostly miss. But I am being very picky. On the whole a lovely B&B in a lovely location and well worth the £80 per night we paid.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
1.9 km away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,044 reviews
0.3 km away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.6 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,776 reviews
0.2 km away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
322 reviews
2.8 km away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borthalan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borthalan Hotel

Address: Boskerris Road, St Ives TR26 2NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: C$124 - C$176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borthalan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Borthalan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borthalan Hotel St Ives
The Borthalan Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing