We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than meets the eye.”

Kendricks Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #11 of 103 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed July 16, 2018

At first glance Kendricks doesn't really grab your attention. In fact the awning has seen better days but don't let that put you off. Inside, the decor is quite plain, simple wooden tables and chairs and wood block floor. As we'd not long arrived in Dartmouth we were a bit spoilt for choice of restaurants but liked the look of the menu here. We had taken a chance and not booked but were lucky to get a table, as it was really busy. Once seated and drinks order taken, we were given a plate of tortilla chips and a pot of salsa (free) to nibble on while we looked through the menu. The drinks arrived very quickly and we ordered our food. We shared a plate of whitebait for starters and both had fish from the specials menu. The whitebait were piping hot, crispy on the outside and soft inside with a very creamy and delicious tartare sauce. The mains also came out without too much of a wait and were delicious. A thick, perfectly cooked cod steak for me and a huge Dover sole for my wife which almost filled the entire plate. She couldn't finish it all, so I did, rather than waste it. Delicious. We just about had room for a couple of desserts which were equally as good. The staff were very friendly and, although the restaurant was very busy, they still had time to chat, if you wanted. They also had a "specials/ featured" board for wines and ciders. Lots of choice of local bottled beers and ciders. We were so impressed we booked for another meal later in the week. We opted for meat on our second visit and were not disappointed. Two delicious and perfectly cooked fillet steaks for our mains. Everything was just as good as our first visit. If you want good food, generous portions, friendly staff and good value, you won't go far wrong here.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank MrAtt24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 848 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2018

We went here on Sunday evening not having booked but they kindly fitted us in.
It was very busy but staff were really helpful and friendly and immediately brought us a jug of water with the menus.
We just had one course with wine and beer, ribs and burgers were excellent and served with really good salad and fries.
A great place to go and they have a really varied menu, we will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

We went here after a recommendation and were not disappointed.
There was plenty of staff who were all attentive and genuinely looked happy to be there.
The ribs were tasty and the meat just fell off the bone, one of our group had steak and said it was one of the best he’s had! Portion size was generous with salad and chips.
Reasonably priced for the type of food served.
Overall we had an excellent meal.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank BritChris88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018

We visited on a Friday evening having booked in advance.

Excellent food, good value, good atmosphere, friendly extremely hard working staff, ignore first impressions from the outside and don’t miss it.

Only slight criticism chairs were not that comfortable.

We will definitely return

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank PaulaCannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2018

We were lucky enough to go early on a Thursday evening and get a table without a reservation. Great service and a friendly welcome. The gravadlax deserves a mention as it was excellent, substantially thick slices of salmon with slivers of crispy beetroot. The half lobster was delicious, bursting with flavour and cooked to perfection. Partner had the squid and the cod fillet which rendered him silent throughout the meal!! The best meal we had in 5 days in the area, pity we live 200 miles away.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Genepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kendricks Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Kendricks Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing