We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baked eggs with haggis, simply divine.”
Review of Beth's Bistro

Beth's Bistro
Ranked #1 of 102 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Description: All of our food is homemade and freshly cooked to order. We pride ourselves in sourcing good quality local produce.
Restaurant details
Description: All of our food is homemade and freshly cooked to order. We pride ourselves in sourcing good quality local produce.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Great breakfast with the family. I ordered the special, baked eggs with haggis, bacon and potato. It was was delicious, loved every mouthfull, the haggis was the best I’ve ever had. My wife had the eggs florentine and I’ve now been ordered to make it for her using the same recipe . Anyway, great food, great service, just make sure you book so you don’t miss out on a table.

Thank Ricardowaterlooville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 250 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2018

We found Beth's Bistro while doing some last minute souvenir shopping. I asked if we were OK to bring the dogs in and we were made welcome. The meal and drinks we had were served quickly and everything was delicious. The lady serving asked if our dogs would like water which was very thoughtful. Towards the end of our visit the gentlemen in the kitchen asked if our dogs were allowed some sausage as a treat for being well behaved. Our dogs really enjoyed their special treat and we thought it was really lovely. I would highly recommend this bistro to all. If we are ever in Dartmouth again I would certainly head for Beth's again.

1  Thank Shelagh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

Visited whilst staying a week in Dartmouth. Very quiet at 10am , only one other table . Waitress gave us table and menu . Drinks Owens cappuccino and latte good . Milkshake ok. The breakfast ( generous mushrooms) vine tomatoes small sausage and bacon all good and tasty . Plenty for me. Other guests had bacon sandwich, pancakes and scrambled eggs. The atmosphere improved when more guests arrived. We have had more happier chatty staff in shops and restaurants throughout our week .

Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

We arrived just before 12 hoping to enjoy an anniversary lunch with our 2 children. We noted that there was no children’s menu but were told that we could have items off the main menu as a smaller portion. We thought it strange that the lady serving couldn’t give us an exact price though but ordered anyway. About 5 minutes later another waitress came over to ask if we wanted dressing on the salad to go with the fish goujons. We asked if we could substitute the side salad for beans instead. The waitress went back to check but returned saying that they were not allowed to do this, despite having beans on the breakfast menu which had only finished just 5 minutes earlier. We therefore decided to just pay for our drinks and leave as it was obvious in this establishment that the customer doesn’t come first. At this point, the man who was cooking came over and leaned over the table and said he’d already started cooking our food and that we’d seen the menu when we came in. Thoroughly appalled we paid for our drinks and left. Not in a long while have we received such poor service. How you’ve made it to number 1 on TripAdvisor I’ll never know with this attitude. Try elsewhere, Dartmouth has so much more to offer.

1  Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BethW2117, Owner at Beth's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

You ordered your food at 12:15pm. This is half an hour after breakfast service has finished. You ordered one milkshake to be shared in two glasses and also asked if the tomato tagliatelle could have the olives removed.
We then took your order which included fish goujohns for your children to share. Your order was near completion when we asked if your children would rather not have dressing on their salad which had also been prepared. This was when you asked for peas (which we have nowhere on our menu) you then asked for beans then the male of the party said “forget it I can’t be bothered with all this” at which point the front of house owner - not chef went to the table to let you know your meals were already cooked. We then agreed that you should just pay for your drinks and go.
We were very surprised that you requested to change your order when all the cooking had been completed.
We are an extremely family friendly restaurant and are happy to accommodate reasonable requests but we do have a set menu not a pick and mix.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018

What a gold mine this place is. Came across it by chance last week while walking the South West Coast Path. Bright and colourful. The team were incredibly friendly and very helpful. The food smelt wonderful and was absolutely delicious. It was a shame to have to leave.
However, the sun was shining, the food great, Glen Miller music was playing and a wonderful start to the day’s journey.

2  Thank alanwarringt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beth's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Beth's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing