We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent experience”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Fisherman's

The cottage garden leading to 'Fisherman's' front door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage garden leading to 'Fisherman's' front door.
In Summer the flower filled front garden is perfect for breakfast, lunch or dinner! Ready for breakfast in the Dining Room with plenty of morning sunshine!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
The cottage garden leading to 'Fisherman's' front door.
In Summer the flower filled front garden is perfect for breakfast, lunch or dinner!
Ready for breakfast in the Dining Room with plenty of morning sunshine!
The light and airy front bedroom has twin single beds
The Kitchen is small but perfectly formed - everything needed for cooking in style!
The east facing living room has views of the cottage garden and a comfortable sofa faces the woodbur
The principal bedroom contains a Queen sized bed and has views west towards the upper part of town.
The Dining Room comfortably seats 4 people.
The Living Room window
Patriotic, historic Dartmouth
The harbour is still full of colourful working boats
The quant town centre is full of charming historic buildings.
This is a view of the Harbour and Lower Ferry crossing to the village of Kingswear
Dartmouth Castle is an easy walk from the Cottage and beyond the Coast path leads on to fabulous cov
Nearby Blackpool Sands is everything a good beach should be.
There is an artillery fort beside the quay, Bayard's Fort, built in 1534 to defend the harbour
If you like hills on two wheels then Dartmouth is the place for you!
This is a view from the 'other side' of the valley looking towards South Ford Road
The best place to apprecaite Dartmouth is naturally from the water!
Dittisham Creek on an early autumn morning. The colours in Autumn are amazing.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jaci W
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We booked on the spur of the moment and we are so pleased that we chose Fisherman's. Mark, the owner could not have been more helpful. We are foodies and he provided information, tips and advice on a whole host of opportunities. Eating out is brilliant, there are so many choices and the quality is excellent. He also sent info on everything that was on in Dartmouth during our stay. The cottage was immaculate, the colours and decor are very pleasing and the quality of the beds, mattresses, furniture are great. We were left with a full basket of logs for the wood burner which was a real bonus for late evenings in October. It was
lovely to have an area off the main bedroom to sit out in the mornings. There is also a front garden with decked area. We had an excellent Autumn break in wonderful Dartmouth. We left wanting more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality and standard of furniture, fixtures and fittings. The uniqueness.
Liked least: The steps but the position and accessibility of Fisherman's made up for them. Kept us fit too!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments. They reflect on what we try so hard to achieve, which is not only to provide lovely facilities, but to back these up with the support and advice enabling guests to make the most of a short stay in lovely Dartmouth. Great to know that it works!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeikoMind...
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Magical Escape”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

If you don`t fall in love at Fisherman`s where else could you? This lovely cottage has a unique magic that really takes you away. Of course it is well equipped with all the amenities of modern days, yet its splendor comes from another timeframe. It`s the little things like the welcome chocolate biscuits, the hand made cushions or the tiny sailing boats along the staircase hand rail that make Fisherman`s so exceptional. And even on rainy days it is a warm cosy place that seems to welcome you like an old friend with a fresh cup of Earl Grey or a delightful Cabernet. You will miss it the moment you drop the keys!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We felt very welcome as we stayed with friends
Liked least: to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradleygi...
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful cottage”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We enjoyed our weeks stay in Fishermans cottage. It's in a very quiet location and well located to walk into Dartmouth. The cottage is tastefully decorated throughout. We were fortunate with the weather while we were there but on the few evenings when there was a bit of an autumn nip the central heating came on making the house very cosy and warm. The house has a nice family bathroom which included a bath which for us was a bonus. There is so much to see in and around Dartmouth it's a perfect location for a base. I would certainly recommend Fishermans as a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location.
Liked least: Nothing we didn't like!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampsodin...
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This has been our second successive year staying at Fisherman's. It's the perfect size for a family of three or four, and is really well equipped with lots of thoughtful extras such as kids games; and with useful stuff like parking permits.

Dartmouth is a great place for a family holiday, with a really good range of things to do and see, friendly local restaurants, and good shopping.

Hope we'll be back in 2014.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having lunch in the sunny garden
Liked least: The steps up to the property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaLiv...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage, perfect location.”
Reviewed 19 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

The cottage is lovely and equipped and maintained to a high standard. It is in a great location. It was quiet and only minutes walking from the centre of Dartmouth. The weather was mixed so it was good to have the benefit of the log fire for those days when we returned soaked! Mark was really helpful throughout the booking process.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home and comfort of the cottage.
Liked least: The 34 steps up to the cottage from the Lane!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyth
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage, great location!”
Reviewed 26 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We booked this cottage very last minute which was available due to a cancellation. The owner was extremely helpful and gave us recommendations for eating places, things to see, walks etc and the cottage housed lots of leaflets to plan your days. The cottage was lovely and we considered ourselves very lucky to have secured it as a last minute booking. It was spotlessly clean, very well equipped with everything you could want and the decor was light and very tasteful. Location was excellent for accessing the main town. All in all a good find and whilst we had never visited Dartmouth before, it certainly whetted our appetite for a return at some stage and we would have no hesitation in recommending this property to anyone visiting the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail in the property for comfort and providing info for all tastes / activities
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2012
Many thanks for such a kind review. I think in many ways it sums up exactly what we try to offer our guests which is a combination of a great place to stay, in a great seaside town, with a service to match. Very much hope you return and visit us again one day. Thank You!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mick012
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic new year week”
Reviewed 22 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Had a fantastic week taking in new year, felt at home straight away, just a 10 minute stroll to the front, very helpful owner where nothing was to much trouble when contacting him, would highly recommend Dartmouth and Fishermans, Did not stray very far at all as Salcombe, Blackpool sands and many other nice places close by.Dartmouth good for pubs and eating out,would recommend Alf rescos and Rockfish fish and chips,so good we tried them both twice.
Julie and Mick Spencer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!!
Liked least: nothig
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$126
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing