We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Avanti

View from patio at Avanti
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from patio at Avanti
Alfresco dining and relaxing on Avanti's sunny patio Spacious bedroom and en-suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
View from patio at Avanti
Alfresco dining and relaxing on Avanti's sunny patio
Spacious bedroom and en-suite
Relaxing lounge with entrance
Kitchen to die for - even if you don't plan to cook!
Lounge at Avanti
En-suite bathroom
View from patio at Avanti
The Boat Float and Royal Castle Hotel, Dartmouth
The Butterwalk, Dartmouth
Shopping in Foss Street, Dartmouth
Red Arrows display at Regatta end of August
Blackpool Sands - 4 miles from Dartmouth
St Petrox Church and Dartmouth Castle on the river Dart
Kingswear across the Dart
Kingswear to Paignton steam railway
Ferry boats on the Dart
View of mouth of the river Dart
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Pam D
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 28, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We've just had a great week in Avanti. Di is a wonderful host, very welcoming and helpful and suggested some fine walks in the area - there's a folder in the apartment with detailed directions and maps.

The apartment is very well-equipped and spotlessly clean, with a fabulous view of the Dart from the living room window. The bathroom is very smart with a great shower and plenty of hot water. Really good WiFi too.

After being out all day, we didn't eat out at night, but the local M&S Food and Sainsbury's.
made it easy to eat in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2016
I think this is my best review yet, you tell it exactly how it is here and I'm so pleased that you loved so much about Avanti and the area too. Hope to meet you both again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: On-street parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
It was a pleasure and we are so pleased that you loved the apartment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 26, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Mar 2016
You're so welcome, it was lovely to meet you and you both must come again, I'm so pleased you loved the view from the apartment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patricia...
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed January 14, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Avanti for a few days in between Christmas and New Year. At the point of booking, the owner - Diane - was friendly, helpful and engaging. She gave us a warm welcome on arrival, including our dog! A welcome pack of mulled cider, crisps and dog treats was also waiting for us.

The apartment was modern, extremely well-equipped, warm and cosy and spotlessly clean. Beautifully decorated with a Christmas tree to create a lovely festive mood. I'm a professional caterer and, although I didn't do much cooking whilst we were there, there was everything I could possibly have needed in the kitchen. It was all very well thought through. On subject of food, there's a M&S Food, Sainsbury's and Lidl all nearby.

The bathroom included a great shower (and bath) and there was plenty of hot water at all times. Extra towels available on request. Underfloor heating made the apartment very cosy. Extremely comfortable bed too! Great reliable WiFi and phone signal.

Diane, and her husband Nigel, live next door and were a great source of info for local walks, shops, restaurants etc. There were folders in the apartment with very useful info on local walks, trips etc.

Dartmouth itself was lovely and accessible on foot (15 min walk). Interesting shops, great restaurants, pubs and cafes, especially RockFish for their fish and chips! The people were very friendly and our dog was welcome in all places, even clothes shops - they even gave him dog biscuits in 'Weird Fish'! We saw the New Year in watching fireworks by the harbour. The place was full of happy people, many in fancy dress. No drunken yobs, just everybody having a great time. How refreshing!

Dartmoor and all its great walks and scenery is a short drive away. The weather, predictably, wasn't great at this time of year but it didn't stop us enjoying it.

We came home feeling refreshed and inspired. Would definitely go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambiance and friendliness
Liked least: the rain!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2016
Wow, your review is first class and I'm truly thankful, for having such lovely guests, we always feel that we would be friends with so may who visit if we lived near them and you both were no exception. We are so glad that you had such a lovely time here in Dartmouth and thatnks for praising the town as well as our property as Dartmouth is so special and we forget that sometimes as we are so used to the friendly approach to vistors and dogs too. You're aways welcome here again anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Reviewed December 6, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Dec 2015
Hi and thank you for your great review to tell future guests how lovely and welcoming Dartmouth and apartment Avanti is all year round. So pleased you enjoyed Candlelit Dartmouth celebrations there is always something to enjoy here, 9a great place to come and unwind.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Heather M
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great views. Lovely clean smart apartment”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just right for relaxed holiday, clean smart and everything you need supplied. Di was lovely, gave good advice on what to do, where to go. Was on hand if help needed. Got used to the steps, good exercise. Do follow her directions in Dartmouth not sat nav. Pennywell Farm a must with little ones and the Round Robin Train,Bus,Boat trip. Blackpool Sands also lovely. Many thanks D.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2015
Thanks Heather, I'm so glad you enjoyed your break here in Dartmouth and all that you did in the area with the family and that you loved the apartment too. Hope to see you again some time and thank you for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about the apartment was very good, lots of extra nice little touches to make our stay more pleasant. Dianne and Nigel are very friendly. Dartmouth is very beautiful, but very hilly, lots of steps. We would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The steps
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review and we are friendly and you can ask us anything, anytime. Yes its hilly but that's what gives us the panoramic views. Hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing