We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mesmerizing experience!”
Review of Stone Lane Gardens

Stone Lane Gardens
Ranked #46 of 92 things to do in Exeter
Attraction details
Reviewed March 9, 2017

Spent a lovely afternoon here with some good friends of mine, the atmosphere and air is really quite breathtaking and a true delight for any visitors to the south

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

2 - 6 of 15 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2016

We first visited Stone Lane I the early 80s when the arboretum was in its infancy. We subsequently populated our own garden with many alders and birches from Stone Lane. We happened to visit on the first day of the annual (24th) sculpture show only to learn that June Ashburner had tragically passed away the previous evening. But what a legacy Ken and June leave behind. It was a beautiful May day and even with quite a few visitors it was a place of utter tranquillity. So a day of high emotion in the background but I commend Stone Lane to anyone. You don't need to be a tree fanatic or even a sculpture enthusiast - just take the garden for being the oasis it is.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2016

Visited again after a few years absence. Quite disappointed with our last visit. Not very impressed with the sculptures though the varieties of silver birch are stunning.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank JeanmC1447KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2015

We visited at the end of October when to be honest the garden is looking a bit run down and nothing like the pictures on their promotional leaflet or on this site. Probably better in the summer months when presumably there are more plants and sculptures to see. I did feel the entrance fee ( left in an honesty bowl!) was rather steep for a 45 minute walk. Look out for the rather hostile geese!

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank lisalufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2015

We found this lovely secret garden on Tripadvisor as it was close to home and we could take an elderly aunt with us so she could get a little air. What a lovely surprise and enhanced by the beautiful sculptures and art work being exhibited around the grounds. It was very quiet and peaceful but the selection of trees was superb. Set in the garden of the farm we strolled around this idyllic setting and sat to listen to the birds and relax. We'll definitely go back to see it in a different season. Open water on site so care needs to be taken with children.

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank Jgmg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stone Lane Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Stone Lane Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing