We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeds five star for everything”
Review of The Nobody Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Nobody Inn
Ranked #7 of 68 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2014

All I can say it exceeds five star across everything - accommodation, service, food and location.

A real hidden gem that is purely a great british example of hospitality excellence.

Beautiful charming rooms with modern facilities and the beamed roof; touches of sherry and towel origami!

Fabulous food which is exceptional quality and deserves mitchelin rating in a lovely ambience . What pub has it's own beer and ice cream made by a local farm.

All staff are professional, warm and personable and get to know all guests and locals. You can tell they enjoy you jobs and truly want guests to have a memorable, pampering stay .

I am reluctant to share our experience in case it gets full and we can't get in ourselves

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzie y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2014

Dinner here last night with my husband, who had visited some years ago and loved it. Unfortunately, despite booking in advance, the bar was full and we were directed a table in an empty room, only to be joined by a large party with a very small child, whose noise put paid to our conversation for the night. At this time of year, I really don't think very small children should be in a pub bar at gone 8pm, it's different in the summer when people are on holiday. Worst of all, there were only two staff serving the whole pub; the young waitress, who also served drinks at the bar, took orders, answered the 'phone, assisted customers - you name it, she did it - was excellent, polite and courteous, which was just as well, as her colleague spent 7 minutes waiting for a couple to make their choice at the bar, while others waited to be served, and then spent the rest of the evening cooing at the small child. So much time did she waste, we had to leave after two mouthfuls' of dessert, as our taxi had arrived. The food was also stodgy. We were very disappointed, especially my husband who remembers the mouth-watering food, excellent wine list and over 100 different malts of days gone by! You make up your own mind.....but we won't be back.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at The Nobody Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn.
Firstly, may I apologise for your obvious disappointment on that evening.
I think you will see from other reviewers, that fortunately your experience was indeed a rare one.
Addressing your concerns, I would like to make the following comments.
Our public bar is a child free area and is also not an area that you can book.
The reason for this being that we like to keep this space for people who call for a drink or just happen upon us. The "empty room" you refer to is in fact our other bar which is bookable and an enjoyable area in which to take advantage of what we have to offer. So we booked you a table in the window which is considered most favourable by other guests.
As it was the start of half term, we did have an adjacent table with a small child on it.
In our dining room we were hosting our monthly charity fundraising quiz, which was well attended.
So perhaps, our two team members on that evening may have been a little stretched with one not being apparent simply due to the lay out of the Inn.
I am delighted that you found the team member that was looking after you to be most agreeable.
People tend not to come to the Inn if they are in a hurry, so someone taking a little time at the bar to make their choice is not unusual.
I am please to say that your husbands recollection of the excellent wine list still stands with some 212 bins to choose from. We also now have 272 whiskys (this sometimes also slows down the selection process!).
I do wish that your disappointment had been brought to our attention on the evening. We pride ourselves on our customer service and the team take any detrimental comments to heart. Please do reconsider visiting in the future as I can assure you that your experience was an isolated one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2014

 
This has always been a splendid example of a great English country pub. I first found it back in the 1980's and on a recent trip to Cornwall with friends from the US choose to show them, one of Devon's best.

We had the steak and ale pie. Fantastic. The beer, great. Shootings friends love to stay here when they come down for the high valley birds. The selection of whiskey ( over 100 is well known) and even includes the almost impossible to find Sullivan's Cove.**

** Tasmanian distillery Sullivan's Cove has been named the world's best single malt whisky at the World Whiskies Award held in London in March 2014

Room Tip: The roads to find it are really narrow. Be prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank aholyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2014

We had an amazing evening meal and overnight stay for our wedding anniversary. The pub is in a very romantic location in the deepest Devon countryside. We had fantastic service, food and drink. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2014

The Nobody Inn is a charming, quirky, traditional English Inn. All the staff are friendly and really make you feel welcome. The choice of drinks is outstanding and I was actually asked if I would like a glass with a handle, which I really appreciated. It’s just one example of their attention to detail.

The food was excellent, the steak & ale pie was delicious and the meat just melted in the mouth, the pastry was just right, it was a slice of real pie. The cheese selection is amazing you can choose 9 or 15 cheeses depending on if it is a single portion or a sharing for two portion. What really impressed me is the fact that they leave you with the cheese menu and actually number the cheeses on your plate so you know exactly which one you are tasting.

The room was a bit on the small side, (room 4) but comfortable, clean and well furnished with a modern bathroom, albeit just with a shower. The decanter of sherry was a nice touch.

The full English breakfast was very good, not an item to select if you are trying to watch your weight, real black pudding, rather than a round slice and fried bread added to the cholesterol intake, wonderful! We shall be returning without doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stan_and_Sadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2014

Fantastic old little pub. Excellent 'restaurant' food, definitely not 'pub grub'.

Incredible selection of whiskeys, and other beverages for that matter.

Visited for a corporate dinner but will definitely be returning to sample the whiskeys and stay.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank KJKons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2014 via mobile

If you get the chance to go there, do.
Even better stay for the night and eat.
The perfect English pub with the best staff, beer, wine, food, rooms and atmosphere. Happiness.
I may sell my house and move in.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
8.8 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#16 of 31 in Exeter
1,402 reviews
8.9 km away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
630 reviews
2.7 km away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
The Telstar Hotel
The Telstar Hotel
#6 of 68 in Exeter
269 reviews
11.1 km away
The Globe
The Globe
#1 of 6 in Topsham
501 reviews
19.2 km away
The Silverton Inn
The Silverton Inn
#1 of 2 in Silverton
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nobody Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nobody Inn

Address: Doddiscombsleigh, Exeter EX6 7PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range: $136 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nobody Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Nobody Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nobody Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing