We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
294
71
31
19
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
294
71
31
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak and ale pie the pub decanter of sherry rose room country inn cheese board an extensive wine list off the beaten track sunday roast superb food pudding an overnight stay full english whiskey bedroom gins dartmoor
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 419 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2017

We've been 'regulars' to The Nobody Inn for over 20 years. When I say 'regulars', we stop off there on the way to Cornwall once a year.
Our experience has been patchy - some good, some bad and once overcharged!
This last visit at the end of September '17 was the worst ever. We forgot that they don't do sandwiches nor any lunch type snack items. We ended up choosing from the main menu - ham and cheese ploughman's and shared between 2. Good portions of the ham & cheese - but scant on the bread. This surprised us as we thought the bread would be the cheapest and filling ingredient that Caterers love , but this was restricted to 2 very small 1/2 slices of very dry bread. We asked for more and 4 more 1/2 slices 'dry' came. For this latter concession - we were charged nearly £2. To be fair when we complained this was latter refunded.
It's a pity we wont be going back - as the village is lovely - in a scenic part of the country - and the pub could be marvellous - old world charm etc.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank wykeham67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at The Nobody Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Thank you for your review
You are quite right we do not offer sandwiches. However we offer 6 starters which our visitors order if they wish to have something light. Our menu far from being uninspiring has some 10-12 main courses on offer each day. All made from scratch here on the premises. We have never served 1/2 slices of bread. We use fresh crusty ciabatta. You chose to share a dish and seem surprised that there was insufficient bread for 2 ! Good portions of ham and cheese you concede which I think most will agree is the crucial element of an excellent ploughman’s not to mention apple, picked onions, mixes leaves, our own red onion marmalade and delicious local butter. We do not bulk up on the less expensive ingredients as you suggest is the obvious answer. I think it is quite acceptable to charge for extra portions when 2 are sharing a lunch intended for 1.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

Went to the nobody Inn for dinner this evening, a dog friendly pub.
Staff most helpful and food as always was fantastic.
The one thing that completely spoilt it for us and we won't return again, were the clearly dog hating group of people in there, rude and unpleasant. There were three well behaved dogs there but all we could hear from the table next and behind us was complaining about dogs. Small minded idiots.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 123456789can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at The Nobody Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Thank you for your review.
I am so very disappointed that you will not be returning due to other customers comments - something we have no control over and that you gave us only 2/5 despite the staff being helpful and the food fantastic.
Please do not allow the opinions of the few stop you enjoying dinner with us in the future. I often comment that dogs are sometimes nicer than people and that was obviously the case on your visit. Dogs are welcome in the bar leaving other areas for those who do not seek canine company.
Do hope we see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017

What a gem of a place. We'd been warned that it might be busy at lunchtimes but had forgotten the English schools weren't on Summer break so the woman who took our booking in the morning sounded a bit bemused at our eagerness but was very polite and friendly.

It's a beautiful Inn in the middle of a ridiculously pretty village. It's like someone ticked all the boxes on the order form for English Countryside Inn: charming, historic, beams, character, beer, tiny lane, pretty flowers in the garden, birdsong. Only church bells and the sound of a cricket match were missing.

Five of us - three adults, two children - all had the most delicious food. Everything was amazing no matter what sort of food it was. Crab salad, steak and ale pie, steak, ham and egg...the menu wasn't worryingly huge but everything was done to perfection. Generous portions - don't go for a light lunch - and the most incredible value for money. I don't usually order dessert but we all had to because we didn't want to miss anything the kitchen made.

The staff were so relaxed and welcoming. They gave us games from the bar so the kids were well entertained with no huge telly blaring. It was just lovely and we could happily have hung out for ages but had to get on with sightseeing. Thanks so much to everyone there - we still look back fondly on a lovely afternoon.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago and had such a lovely time we felt a review was necessary. The staff were warm and welcoming and the inn itself is quite charming. Our room was comfortable and nicely decorated and we had a lovely meal in the evening. I had fish and chips and my husband had steak and ale pie, both dishes were quite delicious. We had to share a pudding as we were too full to manage one each. I would certainly recommend anyone to stay here or even just visit for an evening meal. We very much look forward to returning.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank fabbiabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2017

Having stayed at The Nobodys Inn over the last 30 years I know it quite well. It is set in peaceful surroundings in the heart of the English countryside and we have had in the past, some lovely stays with great food. The old Landlord was lovely and kept a clean pub which had a good reputation for excellent food.

However this time, we were so disappointed in the cleanliness of our room and throughout the pub. Outside it looked tired and needs a lick of paint. The menu holder on our table were covered in dust and dried food. Our bedroom had seen better days, and needed a good clean and worse of all the shower needed a thorough clean. Black mould on the shower hose and door was visible. There was no mirror in the bedroom so not sure how anyone could see when they blow dried their hair.We had a bad nights sleep owing to the locals who seemed to have been drinking since mid afternoon and were still drinking outside right underneath our room at 11 and were getting louder by the minute. I just hope they didn't drive home. We will not go back I am afraid. Such a shame.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank goosiegander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at The Nobody Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Dear reviewer
I am so sorry that your room was not up to our usual high standard regarding cleanliness and it is something I will be investigating in full.
With regard to the mention of noise - we are a very popular country inn and the bedrooms are over our public areas. We adhere to a closing time of 11pm for non residents and there is very little noise past that time. I am sorry if you were disturbed until 11pm.
You will see from our other reviews that you seem not to have received our usual attention to detail and for your disappointment I certainly apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews