We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rooms with a view!”
other travellers have booked this property
Harbour Point with Water Powered Railway in background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Harbour Point with Water Powered Railway in background
Summer sun on balcony Balcony Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Harbour Point with Water Powered Railway in background
Summer sun on balcony
Balcony Room
Balcony room
Balcony room
Dining area of lounge
Turret room
Turret Room with slipper bath
Gold bedroom
Harbour Point from Lynmouth Beach
View from lounge, balcony bedroom and turret room
View from Coastal Path of Harbour Point
Lynmouth Harbour
Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
90sallie
Felpham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rooms with a view!”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This apartment is sublime. We had a week (too short) with our friends in this lovely place in July. Everything we could wish for, comfy beds, well-equipped kitchen, well presented and clean home from home. Friendly and helpful owners, . Lynmouth is magical and here we were right in the centre, with the most fabulous views. There are a lot of stairs and as some of us are ancient we wondered how we would cope, all I can say is, it is worth a slight struggle, stairs not steep or difficult except up to the turret room. Good banisters and we managed pretty well. If you like walking there are wonderful coast walks on the doorstep. Or just chill out on the balcony!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
It's lovely to hear that you had such an enjoyable time in Lynmouth and Harbour Point. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Hope to hear from you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Q
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Good as usual”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have stayed at Harbour Point several times, and have always enjoyed it.
The location is exceptional and has all the facilities you would wish for, including a car park permit! Next door but one to the Rising Sun pub with excellent food.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay. You have always been fantastic guests, hope to hear from you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guenter F
1 review
“Expectations were high, the experience surpassed them.”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We: 74 yrs. husband and spouse 68yrs.

Smooth booking, excellent service by housekeeper.
Wash-dryer and dish washer as advertised.

Harbour Point has large rooms: dining/living room, balcony bedroom and turret room are especially spacious. The 'golden' bed room we did not use, but it seemed adequate enough, though with limited sea view. The kitchen has a small bar style table for two or three for a quick cup of tea but we preferred the dining room for its glorious views any way. The bathrooms are adequate though a bit quirky as they were later additions to the layout.
It is hard to imagine a holiday accomodation that can top the sea views of Harbour Point. The location at the strategic corner on the harbour front gives 270° views of the sea and the valley with its picturesque Little Switzerland looks and the tiny small boat harbour. The large stylish windows are just right to frame the views.

Two further notes relating to 'stairs/coast path' and getting to Lynmouth from Berlin, Germany.
My wife was keen on the exercise of climbing stairs and as it turned out of going up the coast path to Lynton (height 500 ft.). At first we went up (and down, of course) every day and in the second half of our holiday twice (!) on a daily schedule. The coast path starting at the Exmoor Centre is actually quite steep but covered with tarmac, the surface providing excellent grip even when wet.

Berlin - Lynmouth by public transport
All services excellently presented on the Internet sites, and easily booked in advance
Easyjet Berlin-Gatwick (this is preferable to Berlin-Bristol, as the air service is more frequent)
Rail Gatwick- Reading: Gatwick station is directly integrated intot the Gatwick Southern Terminal (hourly direct service)
Hotel (Ibis) 200m from Reading Station, book at least two weeks in advance for lower price :-)
Rail Reading - Barnstaple (change at Exeter St. Davids)
Bus 309/310 Barnstaple-Lynton/Lynmouth

Actually we spent 6 nights in Reading to use cheap flights, to have plenty of time for all the disruptions and glitches of transportation, and to have a good look at Reading which is well worth the time spent there.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The walk up to Lynton is pretty steep but certainly worth it when you can get there in about 10-15 mins. I'm very impressed you walked up there twice in one day, I've never managed that!
I will pass on your kind words to my housekeeper, she will be delighted that you thought her work was excellent.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Curate's egg”
Reviewed 30 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Much of this is worthy of its high ratings: the house is well sited and has very good views, the bedrooms are well decorated, and extras like tea bags, sugar and salt were all provided. But there are also problems - not least with getting in, because nobody under 5' 4" can reach the key safe and, even if you're tall enough, you risk your fingernails trying to get the damned thing open. There are other niggles. For example, the bedrooms and kitchen aren't warm enough for a winter break. the plumbing in the turret room is loud enough to wake the occupant of the room below, and the shower in the balcony room alternates spontaneously between scalding and freezing. But, most of all, you are not made to feel welcome. A deposit of £150 is automatically taken (and, in my case, not returned until a week after leaving). Politely admonitory notes warn of the consequences of exceeding the (admittedly generous) electricity allowance, of making an expensive phone call, or of failing to return the key or the parking permit. Someone has even taken the trouble to list costs and to instruct you to put the appropriate money in the envelope provided, should you break a cup, for example. Of course none of this is unreasonable, and of course it must be extremely galling when guests behave badly. But you don't want this sort of unwelcoming approach when you're on holiday and, in 40 years of renting, all the other owner/agents I've dealt with have managed to avoid it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The unwelcoming approach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Harbour Point. I'm sorry that you found some elements to be unsatisfactory. I will try and address some of your points.
We use a key safe for our guests to access the house so that they can arrive at a time that suits them best, rather than tie them down to specific time. It is a new system that we are using, and I will investigate the issues with opening the key safe and also the height at which it is fixed.
The £150 damages deposit was returned 6 days after your departure. I'm sorry if you felt this was an excessive amount of time to wait.
We provide a free landline for our guest to use during their stay with us as mobile phone signal can be somewhat patchy in the area. We only make charges for using the phone when people use the landline to call mobile phones and numbers such as 0845's. Most guests find this free service useful for calling home, the tourist information and other local services.
The parking permit and house keys are used every week by our guests, it would therefore be very difficult to replace them at short notice. The reminders are left in the hall so that when you leave the house, it jogs your memory.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracy1870...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place to Stay”
Reviewed 11 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a long weekend, and yet again wasnt long enough. Harbour Point is a fabulous place to stay with lovely places to eat on the doorstep. The sun inn is a must. Also the visitors centre 2 doors down is fabulous and does the most amazing cooked breakfast. We will most definately be back again in 2015. Walk along to watersmeet is a must, unfortunately for us the national trust cafe was shut for the season.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Harbour Point. I haven't tried the cooked breakfast at The Pavilion but it is now on my to do list. Hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsten Y
Esher
1 review
“What a view.”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

As regular visitors to Lynmouth, this was our first stay at Harbour Point. Normally it would be just my wife and I travelling but we took this opportunity to invite friends to stay. I was delighted with the accommodation as were our guests. For 6 adults we had 3 wonderful bedrooms and a superb spacious lounge looking out over the harbour, sea and hills. Perfect after a hard days walk! A well equipped kitchen made cooking in a pleasure but equally we were only 20 paces from the wonderful "Rising Sun" with good ale and food. Booking was easy and the owners extremely helpful, making our stay a hassle free delight

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of Harbour Point. It was great to hear how much you enjoyed the village and the house. Next time you are looking to stay in Lynmouth I hope you will get in touch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F
Woolhope, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This is the perfect place for a holiday, the house was very light and airy with a fantastic view from every window, the kitchen was well equipped with everything you could need ( and more). Having a cup of tea on the balcony was the highlight of the day, it's the sort of place u can just sit an watch the world go by, we enjoyed our stay so much that we really didn't want to leave. We will be back next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The great view from every window
Liked least: The fact we had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Harbour Point. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time in Lynmouth, it is a very relaxing place to be. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing