We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,134)
Filter reviews
1,134 results
Traveller rating
362
417
216
90
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
417
216
90
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand old hotel car park traditional hotel sash windows superior room plymouth pavilions lounge bar beautiful building room was large porridge ferry port four poster bed full english cooked breakfast city centre theatre royal one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 1,134 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel as we were visiting family in Plymouth. Our room was very spacious, and the beds were super comfy and warm. The hotel itself is immaculate and full of character and charm, the staff are all very lovely and the choice of food at breakfast is delightful. Unfortunately on our last morning at the hotel, our cooked breakfast was ordered but it didn’t arrive until 45 minutes later, by which time the staff questioned us as to whether we were waiting or had already eaten it. The staff were very apologetic and our breakfast arrived swiftly after the interaction. Within our room, the only issue I have is that the shower was temperamental. It was a mixer bath/shower and when the cold tap was turned on to cool the roasting hot water, it just made the water cold instead of mixing to be warm. This made showering an uncomfortable chore. I wouldn’t change any aspect of our room, except the mixer shower. The shower could do with and update to a manual/electric shower, with bath taps beneath separately or just update the mixer so that it comes out warm, instead of either roasting hot or freezing cold.
During our stay we noticed that the hotel was very busy with party guests, but we didn’t hear a peep throughout the night. It’s also safe to say that neither could we hear the neighbouring rooms either side of us, this was reassuring that we would have a pleasant nights sleep. The free car park for the hotel is quite small, however there is sufficient parking around the location of the hotel but you do have to pay for it, which we discovered during our stay. If you’re lucky to grab a parking spot in the hotel car park, I recommend that you leave your car there and walk to the waterfront, not only is it a pleasant walk and good exercise but also you’re not guaranteed a free space when you return if you travel out by car. Considering the size of the hotel, and the number of weddings and parties that are had there, you would think the free car park would be bigger. The hotel has its own restaurant, but there are other restaurants and pubs within a short stroll from the hotel or a couple of minutes car journey. The Waterfront Pub (a short stroll away) and Wildwood Restaurant (Royal William Yard - a short car journey) are highly recommended. We didn’t have any food in the hotel restaurant other than breakfast, but I’m sure it’s delicious there too. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, perhaps for a birthday treat or celebration as I would love to sample the afternoon tea that they offer.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank EmeRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila N, Director of Marketing at The Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Good afternoon, thank you for taking the time to leave a four star review, it is appreciated. We are pleased to hear that your bedroom was comfortable and that you enjoyed the varied choice available for breakfast. Apologies that you experienced a delay on the final morning of your stay, I am pleased to hear that our staff were helpful and this was dealt with quickly. I am also sorry to hear that you experienced issues with the shower, I hope that our reception team were helpful when you raised this.

We are pleased to hear that you were able to make use of our free car park during your stay. The hotel can become very busy, especially when we are hosting a wedding or function. As you say, parking around the hotel is available and is charged per hour and with a fixed overnight charge.

We are fortunate to be just a stones throw away from Plymouth Hoe and the Barbican as well as the bars and restaurant located at Royal William Yard. We are glad to hear that you were able to explore the city during your visit. Thank you for all of your lovely feedback, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for one of our delicious Tea at the Top experiences! Best wishes, The Duke Team.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018

Only stayed one night as we were seeing a show at The Pavilions, which is just across the road. The location is great for The Pavillions, obviously, but we also walked to The Hoe and The Barbican easily and a little further to Drakes Circus the next day.

We had a large, quiet room, with loads of windows but sadly only one pack of biscuits! The breakfast was fine, no problems or quibbles and service was pleasant and efficient.

We were so lucky to get a parking space, as the hotel's car park is very small in relation to the size of the hotel. There was a wedding on the Saturday of our stay, but luckily a guy was leaving as I was trying to manoeuvre our car out of the car park. Other cars came in after us and had to turn around and pay for the pricey on street parking, presumably.

The stand out positive of this hotel were the two receptionists who dealt with us at check in and the one who helped with the check out on Sunday 9th September who had been on duty the afternoon before. They were so incredibly welcoming and helpful. They are a real asset to this hotel.

Overall a very pleasant stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila N, Director of Marketing at The Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Good afternoon, thank you much for taking the time to leave a review, it is appreciated. The hotel is located in fantastic proximity to Plymouth Pavilions, we hope that you were able to enjoy our wonderful Pre Show Supper menu!

We are pleased that you found your room to be comfortable. Thank you for your feedback regarding the biscuits, we will be sure to pass this onto our Operations Manager.

We appreciate that our carpark can become busy, especially when the hotel is hosting a wedding. We are pleased that you were able to make use of our free car park during your stay. As you say, parking around the hotel is available and is charged per hour and with a fixed overnight charge.

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback regarding our reception team, we will be sure to pass this onto our Reception Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Best wishes, The Duke Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018

Arrived to find a lovely appointed room, very spacious and very quiet on the 5th floor. The bed was Sooo comfortable and warm and we both enjoyed a really good nights sleep. Breakfast was quick and tasty, which was good as I was due to go to work and the staff were very friendly. Would definately recommend if visiting Plymouth for either business or pleasure!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Sam_Drake186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila N, Director of Marketing at The Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a five star review, it is really appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed a comfortable nights sleep and that the bedroom on the fifth floor was to your liking. Thank you also for your lovely comments regarding breakfast, we certainly agree that it is delicious! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Best wishes, The Duke Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for one night, my room was on the 5th floor and u couldn't find a lift. Room was clean and bed comfortable . Good views and although I was informed there was no parking space as the hotel had an event on when I came back there was a space in the car park. Breakfast fast was excellent cooked fresh and super coffee as well.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila N, Director of Marketing at The Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Good afternoon, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the views from the fifth floor and that breakfast was to your liking. Apologies that you were unable to find a space in our car park. As you said, the hotel car park can get quite busy when we have an event taking place. We hope that you were able to make use of the on street parking behind the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes, The Duke Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018

Wow, what can I say. Amazing service from our butler Kristian. Nothing was too much trouble, he went above and beyond what was expected to make this visit for my wife’s 50th Birthday extra special. The food was superb, the views were fabulous and the afternoon was absolutely lovely and very memorable. Thank you again Kristian.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank pleeree59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila N, Director of Marketing at The Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Good afternoon, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a five star review, it is really appreciated. Thank you also for your lovely feedback regarding Kristian, our wonderful Tea at the Top butler. Kristian loves his job and is amazing at what he does, we receive such wonderful feedback and will be sure to pass on your comments! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes, The Duke Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews