We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Plymouth”
Review of Westwinds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westwinds
Ranked #28 of 79 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed at Westwinds some years ago when visiting my daughter at the university and was impressed then so, when some friends and I were travelling through Plymouth on our odyssey along the South West Coastal Path, I had no hesitation in recommending it to them. We stayed there the night of 3 March - 5 tired guys and 2 equally tired dogs - and were met with the same warm welcome described by other reviewers.
Westwinds is ideally located for the Hoe, the Barbican and the city centre, There are plenty of good restaurants in walking distance (we used a Thai around the corner) and Westwinds, itself, is comfortable, very well presented and friendly. You could spend a lot more in Plymouth for a great deal less.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Westwinds Tues - Fri of this week. Last stayed here in Dec 2011. The service is fantastic, the breakfast is hearty and tastey & made to order. The rooms are always clean and fresh. Phil and Family run a tight ship here and is well worth the stay. 5 min walk to the Hoe. End of the road has a welcoming pub called the Yardarms. Just a few min walk to the town centre. About a 5 min walk to the Barbican. You just can't go wrong by staying here. Oscar and Molly (resident Spaniels) are a delight. The best part of my stay is that I feel like I am at home here. I will stay there every chance I get and would highly recommend people try it for themselves. I can't say enough good things about WestWinds, Phil and Family.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We were looking for somewhere to stay where our dog would be welcomed. We didn't need to go any further than the Westwinds. We were met at the door by the very amical owner, Phil. He showed us to our lovely room and our dog was made to feel at home by a quick visit from the lovely Oscar and Molly (resident Spinger Spaniels).

We had a lovely breakfast in the morning, very ably cooked and served by Phil. After breakfast, I found myself catching up on emails by using my laptop in the small, but very comfortable, sitting area next to the breakfast room. More often than not I was assisted by Oscar with his chin on my foot to keep me company.

The location of the Westwinds was perfect for walks on the beautiful Hoe, which was less than 5 minutes away, and not that far from the Barbican. Plymouth is very much a walking place, so the Westwinds was a perfect base for exploring.

We had a lovely dinner, just down the road at the busy Yard Arm, which was quite a revelation, and accomodated our dog without a problem.

Thank you to Phil and his family for a lovely stay. We look forward to returning one day soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChinoHills-MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Hotel near the plymouth hoe but walking distance to city center. Small rooms but very clean with friendly hosts. English breakfast very tasty.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nichpa2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Rupert my dog had an excellent stay at Westwinds. We were greeted by Oscar and Mollie (the springers) as we came in which was nice. The place was clean, comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. I would love to come and stay here again - great value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollymermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

If you are looking for great service and value in a great location in Plymouth, this is the place. Really enjoyable place to stay and the hosts were spot on. Our dog also loved it. The Seagulls were a nightmare in the morning as they were so noisy but I think that is beyond the proprietors control..

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sampig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

I recently moved down to plymouth as I had been offered a job here and as I was looking for a permanent residence I had to stay in a B and B. Originally I was at Avalon(just down the road) but frankly the service and room quality were rubbish! So instead of staying there I moved over to westwinds and I am so thankful I did!
Phil and family were hospitable and very friendly and the room was amazing compared to where I had just stayed! When I needed a witness for some paperwork or needed something scanning I was given all the help I required without asking for anything back!
Thanks a lot, I will heartily recommend your B+B to anyone I can and I will pop in sometime in the near future to say hello!
All the best
Jonathan
P.S The breakfast was amazing as well!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Syphonjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
11.4 km away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
211 reviews
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
178 reviews
0 km away
Tudor House Guest House
Tudor House Guest House
#1 of 79 in Plymouth
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#3 of 79 in Plymouth
476 reviews
7.4 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
0.9 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwinds

Address: 99 Citadel Road | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $85 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run guesthouse ideally located for all amenities. Although in the heart of the Hoe it is a quiet location ideal for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Westwinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing