We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stuck in a Timewarp!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edgcumbe Guest House
Ranked #4 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stuck in a Timewarp!”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Edgecumbe Guest House, although in a good location, was not for us. From the moment we walked in, we noticed the decor was extremely dated and the accomodation was in great need of a makeover to be brought up to today's standards. The bedding was tired, faded and worn from many years of use. The carpets were also very old and dirty. Although the premises did not permit smoking, we found at least two cigarette burns in the carpet of our room. The shower in our room was old and the cubicle/shower tray was discoloured from years of use - again, all needed ripping out and updating. The house itself had an odd lingering smell in the hallway and upstairs. For £66 per room per night, I found Edgcumbe Guest House to be grossley over-priced by comparison to it's piers.

On a positive note, the breakfasts were excellent and the hosts were pleasant, but unfotunately it did not outweigh the negatives

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissDoolinlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlton_dog, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I would have appreciated any negative comments at the time of your stay however as this would have given me the chance to address any complaints and offer you an alternative room if appropriate. I'm afraid that I must disagree with most of your comments. The bedding in your room is certainly not tired, faded and worn, nor are the carpets old and dirty. We are a totally 'non smoking' guest house. There is one burn on the carpet in that room - unfortunately, we cannot control what guests do behind closed doors. Although this room was recently refurbished it will be decorated again this winter and the carpet replaced. We have an ongoing refurbishment program so no rooms are ever permitted to be as bad as this one is claimed to be. I'm sorry you weren't happy with the shower either - it too is NOT old or discoloured. No other guest has ever complained about any smells so I find that comment odd. You were most unwell and did request that your room to be left uncleaned for several days. When we did get in to clean the room, it was apparent that you had indeed been extremely unwell. I am pleased that you enjoyed the breakfasts. I understand that you were having difficult times during your stay and no doubt this contributed to the overall negativity of your reviews on more than one website. I hope that problems have been resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    63
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
107
196
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights and had a great time - thanks, in large part, to Carla's attentive service. Our room was spotlessly clean, spacious and airy with en-suite facilities. Our cooked breakfast was delicious each morning and Carla was always ready to answer any question we had. We could see she was going out of her way to make each guest as comfortable as possible, which really impressed us and really contributed to the enjoyment of our stay. We'll be coming back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joobooloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed for 4 nights. Room good size v clean with e suite. Great breakfast freshly cooked with lots of choice. Landlady very welcoming. My only criticism and it was minor because we were out and about a lot was that the free wi fi wasnt very good in terms of signal. I had my 3G on phone tho so was able to use that. Good location.

Room Tip: has ground floor rooms for those with limited mobility
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Austria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

we stayed 5 nights at the edgcumbe guest house as we had decided to make plymouth our pivotal point while exploring the area. on the whole, we did not regret our choice, although the first impression of our room - on the top floor, no lift and very steep and narrow stairs - was mixed. the room was large, with basic furniture, but ... with a full working kitchen - which we did not need and which took much of the atmosphere of the room away. no other room was available, however, so we eventually got used to the situation.
on the positive side, which prevailed by far, are the ample parking facilities (except ... see later!), the excellent location of the guest house - a few steps from the port, with a large but comfortable pub, whose terrace offered us front row seats during the british national fireworks championship which took place on two of the five nights we were there (and which meant we had trouble finding a space for the car) and only about 10 to 15 minutes to the barbican and to the hoe, the friendly proprietors (who were unhappy that we did not appreciate the kitchen in our room!) and the more than adequate breakfasts.

Room Tip: NOT the top room with the kitchen facilites, if you don't need them! there are very nice and com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atticus47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My father and I were bringing my nephew from Australia on a visit to Plymouth to see the city where his mother was born and brought up. We were very happy with our stay at the Edgcumbe Guest House. I had a single room but in fact there was a double bed. The ensuite facilities were small but more than adequate and I was very pleasantly surprised at the effectiveness of the shower. The add ons in the form of toiletries etc. were more than I have experienced in international hotels. My dad and nephew shared a twin room - one double and one single bed and separate en suite. Breakfast was tasty and on the nail. For value for money, cleanliness and efficiency, you couldn't do better.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetunnery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Although it looks quite plain from the outside, the Edgcumbe very sizable but cost rooms that are neat and clean. It offers a good breakfast and we found the location perfect. 10 minute walk to the old port area and 2 minutes walk to a great pub with very good restaurant quality meals. Don't let the online photo of the outside put you off, this is a very safe choice.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HueyGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We booked and arrived at very short notice but without any problems,. easy parking and a warm welcome. The room was karge and clean with more than adequate facilities. We slept well and enjoyed a very substantial breakfast, freshly cooked. This was our first experience of bed and breakfast and it was a very pleasant one. We would thoroughly recommend the Edgcumbe and the helpful lady who we assume was the propietor. Thank you.

Michael and Sally West London

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguelencasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 km away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
0.3 km away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
5.8 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
0.5 km away
The Imperial, Plymouth
The Imperial, Plymouth
#3 of 78 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgcumbe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgcumbe Guest House

Property: Edgcumbe Guest House
Address: 50 Pier Street | West Hoe, Plymouth PL1 3BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgcumbe Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly recommended guest house offering superb bed and breakfast accommodation a stone's throw from Plymouth Hoe and the sea front. All rooms en suite, delicious breakfasts freshly cooked to order using top quality produce, warm and friendly welcome, limited private parking, ample roadside parking, free unlimited wi-fi, hairdryers, free tea/coffee/hot chocolate, toiletries, ironing facilities. Newly refurbished to the highest standard. Top quality furnishings and bedding. We value our guests and strive to offer them the best of everything. We are within easy walking distance of the city centre, historic Barbican and Royal William Yard, Theatre Royal and Plymouth Pavilions. Close to University and Brittany Ferries. Check in is available up to midday and from 4-9pm. Please advise preferred arrival time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Edgcumbe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing