We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and Welcoming”
Review of Hotel Kistor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kistor
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent and Welcoming”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed here from 3rd to 6th February - came as part of a coach party. Food, room, staff - everything was wonderful. The staff were very hardworking and efficient. Food was top class - freshly prepared and cooked, attractively presented and good menu range. I am missing the breakfasts and dinners already! The gentleman who served our table (sorry I don't know his name) was very efficient as well as pleasant and welcoming - we never had to wait long for the food. Can't fault anything in the room (stayed in room 14) - the bed was very comfortable, there was plenty of wardrobe/drawer space, the room was very clean on arrival and cleaned every day and the shower worked well (good temperature control and constant flow). Also going into the bathroom on arrival and seeing a non-slip rubber bathmat was very much appreciated thank you - essential item for me and a lot of hotels don't provide them. There was a note on the wall in the room asking guests for feedback and ideas for improvement - this in itself shows the management value their customers. The only comment I can make regarding improvement is that many guests (me included) may find a small grab handle on the wall over the bath and near the shower useful. Overall an excellent place to stay - thank you to Eileen and all of the staff.

Room Tip: Room 14 a spacious double room - at the back of the hotel it is away from any (if any) main road tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
I am pleased that you found everything to be wonderful!
As to the grab handle in the bathroom, many rooms already have them fitted and if a guests asks for one in a room where one is not fitted a simple request...... & it will be done, with pleasure.
Eileen was pleased to read your review. thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed one..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    99
    27
    18
    20
See reviews for
42
71
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I have been travelling here for five years, every January, and I really cannot fault it. The food is excellent, the staff cannot do enough for you, and the entertainment is very good. I go as part of a coach tour and it is a welcome post Chirstmas break

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Well, thank you for your support. Here's to the next 5 years. See you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Just returned from two nights stay at the Kistdor a party of four.
How this hotel passes any inspection beggers belief,
Its dangerously delapertated, Health and safety would have a field day if ever they were reported. The rooms, all I can say they were warm as it was a very cold weekend,
As for the gound floor Bar/ entertainment room also restaurant were feezing cold.
So many people complained they put a couple of small heaters out to try and take
the chill off , As for our room the electrics were so dangerous trailing wires to adaptors
cracked toilet systern and tiels ,bath was disgusting so badly stained.
Shower (of a sort) was either boiling hot or cold,
Some of the guest had only very luke warm water,
As for the food, the comments that have been posted saying the food is good !
So many elderly people stay there, without being rude, love them they look like they live on meals on wheels. The carpet is frayed badly and on the stairs ! Nothing there works correctly
Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WeshCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
i am sorry that you had such an awful time. But I wonder if we live in parallel universes with slight differences in each one. I come to the hotel KISTOR every day and never feel that I am in any danger. I see no reason why H & S would have a field day. The weather wa exremely cold (-6 c) and some areas of the ground floor were cold especially when outside doors are left open by inconsiderate people.
Your room sounds absolutely dreadful but no mention of any of your complaints were made to me or Eilleen the Duty Manager. I agree some baths in some rooms need to be changed but they are clean.
I am not aware of any trailing electrical leads in bedrooms, there are some rooms with extensions for the television aerial and I would welcome a reply from you stating which room you stayed in where nothing worked correctly. I will however in the meantime carry out a full check of all the rooms, I do that every week any way but perhaps I need to look more closely.
As to your fellow guests I am not sure they would appreciate your derisory comments about how they obtain sustenance. You will be old one day, perhaps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANGLESEY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Just returned from Kistor Hotel in "Torquay" & had a wonderful few days there, the staff are very polite & reaching out to do all they can do you make you happy, I enjoyed this stay so much I will return again soon, Peter the manager is a treat to listen to, he is a laugh a minute, the food is very good The Hotel is very good, it is cheap, what more do you want, I have stayed at 5 star hotels & not enjoyed myself a quarter as much as in the Kistor, in the Kistor there are no snobs, I was on my own there & everyone spoke to me. Len Williams

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAFFY-LEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The room we had was in a desperate need of a makeover and this was the worse one we have stayed in. We had a front bedroom with excellent views but there was some traffic noise. Other than the overall appearance, the service, meals etc. was very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for your review. Yes, I agree that there are some rooms and areas that are in need of some refurbishment but as I have stated on several previous responses we are gradually working our way around these parts but as with all matters of cost and time, being so busy with advanced bookings finding an appropriate window is not always that easy. We are constantly repairing and renewing as is every hotel in the land. I do hope that we will be better by your next visit.
Your ratings unfortunately were not truly reflected on the overall star rating at the top of the page, but none the less I'm sure readers wii see the individual scores at the bottom.
Thanks again. I look forwrd to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Nice comfortable room, very good food, fair entertainment, friendly staff. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Des1740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Short but very sweet review. Thank you. See you again I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This hotel is a must.The food is good and the staff can not do enough for everyone.Such a friendly warm hotel.Some room's could do with a spruce up but they seem to be slowly doing all the room's.Peter is amazing never laughed so much as we did last week.Well worth visiting.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngatheart_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Yes, you are quite right. We are trying to brimg our rooms and public areas up to standard albeit slowly. It is very difficult when we are as busy as we tend to be. We rarely have spare empty rooms which means redecorating has to be carried out when ever there is a spare hour or so when guests are out or on change over days.
i am pleased the staff provided you with every thing you wanted and am particularly happy that you enjoyed my humour. Keep smiling...... see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 km away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.0 km away
Beverley Hotel
Beverley Hotel
#71 of 87 in Torquay
36 reviews
0.1 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#52 of 87 in Torquay
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#46 of 87 in Torquay
150 reviews
1.7 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,750 reviews
0.1 km away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 87 in Torquay
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kistor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kistor

Property: Hotel Kistor
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Kistor Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing