We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Burleigh House
Ranked #28 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

We arrived a little earlier than expected from our long drive from the North East, but we were still welcomed with a very warm welcome and offered tea and coffee even though our rooms were still occupied. Like I said we weren't due until 12pm and this was around 07.30! We left our bags and explored Torquay a little, when we returned the rooms were ready early for us, and we were very pleased with them, spotless and cosy, really comfortable and you really didnt feel like you were in a B&B, it felt like you were staying at a friends house :) Breakfast was superb every morning, Martin and Marcia managed well and were very attentive, accomodating all tastes and requirements, but try the sausage and bacon-gorgeous, locally sourced and more-ish!
All in all superb, would definitely stay again !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffnKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
86
18
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

we Stayed for only one night ,but wish it had been longer,everything was excellent,from the hospitality to the lovely breakfast
Mature couple from Frome in Somerset

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy504128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

A fine place to stay. Clean comfortable, excellent breakfast. You can walk into town, Marcia and Martin are friendly everything you could ask for in a host, overall a first class stay. I would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank last_man_standingGb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

The service we received from martin & marcia was excellent, after a long journey we were met by martin who helped us in with our case, then made us a very welcome pot of tea.The room we had was very comfortable and very clean. breakfasts were cooked to order . We didnt have to us the car as there was a very good bus service right outside the lodge . There was also a train station about 400 yards across the road. Good parking facilities at lodge.We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiltonKeynes40years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

This was the second time we have stayed at Burleigh House. We didn't write a review after our first visit (August 2009) but having now stayed for a second time we were again impressed by the overall and experience and felt compelled to pay tribute to the proprietors for the extremely high standard of service we received
On arrival we were greeted in the car park followed by a pot of tea & interesting conversation. We spent most of our 3 days in the area out and about but whenever we were back at the hotel we were always made to feel really comfortable & welcome.
Throughout our stay both Martin & Maricia showed a genuine sense of enthuiasm, passion and commitment to the business. We were made to feel like nothing would be too much trouble and experienced a friendly & professional level of service that would be hard to match anywhere. Breakfast was spot on, a wide choice and excellent in both quality & quantity. The room was very clean, tastefully decorated (having been refurbished since our first vist) and providing everything we needed. Overall I cannot recommend Burleigh House highly enough. This is an excellent value for money B & B for any short-term break to the Torbay area.
l

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuznuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

I stayed for the weekend and I was a bit worried as I have not stayed at a bed and breakfast before, but I would stay here again no trouble at all. They made me feel very welcome and nothing was to much trouble. The breakfast was made to order so was very good as it had not been sitting around for ages.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bark59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2009

My family found ourselves in a very difficult position when my father ended up in Torbay hospital as an emergency whilst on holiday. I contacted the Burleigh as they were situated very near the hospital and explained the emergency to which they contacted me straight away to help.
On speaking to Martin & Marcia they were able to accomodate both my mum & myself in the short term with my mum having an open ended agreement to stay as long as required.
On arriving we were welcomed with the offer of a cup of tea that even came with cake whilst our luggage was taken from the car to the room for us.
The room was excellent with tv/tea & coffee facilities/internet connection. Breakfast was very tasty, plentiful & enjoyable.
On top of this Martin & Marcia helped with my family in any way they could, washing, shopping, even transport if mum was called at short notice.
Whilst they went on holiday they even helped my mum moved to their friend's B & B next door, The Silverlands, who continued the amazing help & service.
This is customer service at its best, why would you want to stay anywhere else when these people make you stay the best ever, dispite our trumatic circumstances.
If I ever visit Torquay again its here I would stay because no other hotel does it better than Martin & Marcia.
I want to say a VERY BIG THANK YOU for all their help & also thanks to Linda at the silverlands too :-)

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyP1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 km away
Silverlands Guest House
Silverlands Guest House
#38 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 km away
Stover Lodge Hotel
Stover Lodge Hotel
#50 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.3 km away
Harmony Guest House
Harmony Guest House
#27 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#30 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.4 km away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#8 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.4 km away
Avron House
Avron House
#32 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burleigh House

Property: Burleigh House
Address: 25 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Burleigh House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burleigh House is a family-owned and run guest house, open all year round. We offer a warm welcome and comfortable, affordable accommodation whatever the purpose of your visit to the English Riveria. Burleigh House is just a short walk to the town centre, harbour, beaches, Conference Centre and Torbay Hospital. We're also on the route for local buses to Paignton, Brixham, Newton Abbot and Exeter. These buses run every 10 minutes from just a few yards from our front door. Torre railway station is close-by with local trains to Paignton, Newton Abbot, Teignmouth, Dawlish and beyond. There are eight guest rooms (one en-suite twin, five en-suite doubles and two singles). The two single guest rooms share a bathroom and separate toilet on the same floor. All our guest rooms have wide-screen, digital freeview television, radio/alarm, tea/coffee-making facilities and hairdryer. Wireless internet is available and we make no additional charge for internet access. We have private off-street parking at the rear of the house, wireless internet is accessible free of charge. We use local produce for our full English breakfast which is served in our pleasant, sunny dining room. For the best prices please do contact us direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Burleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing