We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay”
Review of Stover Lodge Hotel

Stover Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stover Lodge Hotel
Ranked #43 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2016

After arriving with plenty of free parking we had a warm welcome from owners.
Our room was very spacious with nice size bathroom with nice soft cozy towels.
The dining room was spacious and I must mention the oak wooden floor which looks great laid by the owner himself. The breakfast was plenty well worth the money paid, had a large garden around back not sure if it was private or guests could use it but had lots of birds and squirrels running around.
Tea and coffee in rooms with tv and comfy beds.
Will stay again here when returning to Torquay.
Thanks for hospitality had a great time Kevin and Debbie Plymouth

Room Tip: Back rooms with garden views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kevinanddebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2016

There was 8 of us staying for a long weekend & we arrived to find plenty of on-site parking and a very warm welcome from David & Alison, we were then shown to our room which was bright & airy & spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable & the en-suite bathroom was a good size and again, spotlessly clean with some nice personal touches such as face wipes and cleanser pads, there was plenty of tea & coffee and even a hot chocolate drink, also some very nice biscuits. we stayed for 3 nights and the room was fully cleaned every day with fresh towels provided every day also.
breakfast was also a pleasure, with great atmosphere and service provided by David & Alison, there was fruit juice and a selection of cereals to help yourself to and the cooked breakfast was excellent, I would recommend the very generous full English with a very good pot of tea & a rack of toast, we don't drink coffee in the morning but it smelled amazing and some friends said it was lovely. they deservedly have a 5 star food hygiene rating.
The hotel is ideally situated on the outskirts of town, the bus stop to & from the seafront is right outside and Torre train station is just across the road, all fares are very reasonable so no need to move the car.
David & Alison are super friendly & helpful, they have plenty of advice on the local area and couldn't do enough for us, nothing was too much trouble, even to the point that when my sister in law said that she had forgotten her toothbrush, David returned a few minutes later with a brand new for her.
I would highly recommend Stover Lodge to friends & family and we will definitely stay again, many thanks guys from Darren & Christine.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank darchris2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Stayed here for the weekend for Paignton BMAD Festival during May Bank Holiday. On arrival there is onsite parking, and good friendly welcome. Rooms were very comfatable, and spotlessly clean including bathrooms. Tea, coffee and premium biscuits also provided which is nice when get back in the evening. We stayed at front on main road but noise was not an issue. Breakfast was good, with choice of cereals and full English. Hosts very friendly and really nice atmosphere amongst the hosts and all guests. The BnB also has a 5 star hygiene rating by the Foods Standards Agency.

Location wise although outside the town is fine, with being able to walk to Torquay within 15 minutes and also nice walk to Paignton. The upside of being just outside is felt my car was safe, and not parked up in an unlit central carpark. Also got Torre Station across road which allows access to Torquay and all other coastal towns. For the £3 rail fare you really don't need the car.

Would definatly recommend a stay here

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Reg1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Arrived at about 10am with the idea of asking alison if we could park the car in the car park then we were going to walk into Torquay until we could book in at 2 o'clock.
But alison informed us that the room was ready and we could go straight in which meant we could freshen up then go into torquay, we thought this was really good of alison and something that you don't often see.
The location was ideal situated by a bus stop and train station or a short walk away from town.
The rooms clean and comfy.
The breakfast was excellent Dave couldn't do enough for us and was very friendly.
Definitely would go back and would definitely recommend this b&b

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank andrew e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Just returned from a 1 night stay at this property with my husband and 1 year old baby. As per other reviews the accommodation was perfectly clean. The room was warm, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was a good size with thoughtful touches like make up remover wipes & cotton wool pads. There were complimentary beverages to include tea coffee and hot chocolate in the room and even some yummy biscuits. The room was spacious enough for us even with my little one crawling around exploring.
Breakfast in the morning was lovely. Generous full English breakfast and a small selection of cereals, fruit and juice. Oh, and the coffee is really good (freshly ground Colombian). Owners were friendly and accommodating which was reassuring as when travelling with a baby I sometimes feel nervous about the reception we'll receive.
Good location right next to Torre train station and approx 15-20 mins walk to Torquay. Another plus side is the onsite parking.
Would definitely stay here again and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank malteser26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015

Rooms perfectly clean and homely. Everything worked! Lovely shower, easy to use and always plenty of hot water. Although my room was at the front, on what seemed to be a busy road, absolutely no problem sleeping, as all went quiet fairly early. Plenty of storage space for a week's stay! Very comfortable bed, with good quality pillows, and linen.

Breakfast absolutely delicious, perfect eggs every day, and all served in good time, and with good humour! Service impeccable. Alison and David are a good double act!

Towels lovely and fluffy, and a good size.

Comfy smoking shelter was a bonus for me, but would not infringe on any non-smokers.

Would recommend Fredericks wine bar/restaurant in town, very good service and meal, but the very best gourmet chips I have ever had the pleasure of eating.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed as good, but only saw two, one at front and one at side, equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015

My husband and I recently stayed at this B&B as a break in Torquay, Devon to celebrate our 9th Wedding Anniversary and my husbands birthday, we have also stayed there for our honeymoon and a few other times in between!

Stover Lodge is spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable! The rooms are ensuite and bright and airy with central heating for the colder times of the year! The breakfasts are excellent, filling and there is a selection of fruit, cereal and cooked with juices, tea and coffee! It is within good reach of the town centre and both buses and trains to other parts of Devon. Allison and Dave, the owners, are friendly, helpful and adorable and made our stay so enjoyable and welcoming!

We would go as far to say it's our favourite and the best B&B in Torquay!

Room Tip: All rooms are good and some are family rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucienne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 km away
Silverlands Guest House
Silverlands Guest House
#30 of 149 in Torquay
197 reviews
0.1 km away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#27 of 149 in Torquay
211 reviews
2.4 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,547 reviews
0.5 km away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#56 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stover Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stover Lodge Hotel

Address: 29 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $98 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stover Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stover Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing