We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable place !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tor Dean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tor Dean
Ranked #37 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bordeaux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very enjoyable place !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Thank you Nicola and Dave for your warm welcome !
We did enjoy spending some days at your peaceful place.
The family bedroom was large and very clean as well as the bathroom.
Dave, Eric will always remember your jokes !...
Nicola, your meals were great !
Thanks again !
We'll come back to your home one day.
Sincerely yours.
Catherine, Hervé and Eric

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefairway, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Thank you Catherine for your lovely review. It seems such a long time ago now , time flies when you are having fun. It was great meeting your lovely family and if you ever visit Devon again you know you are more than welcome. We might look you up next time we cross the channel.
Love to you all
Nicola & Dave xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
127
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

As a young solo female traveller I stayed in this hotel during the summer. I would say the following and not in any order
- great location, close to the front but easy to get to by car and train, quiet street
- lovely, clean and large single room
- brilliant breakfast - good choice and cooked well
- very accommodating hosts, bent over backwards to give local advice and even lent out maps and books to enhance the holiday experience
Sarah

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefairway, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Thank you Sarah for your kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Nicola & David
xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Lovely couple that go that extra mile to make your stay more enjoyable! Hotel close to all amenities but far enough away to have a quiet relaxing break.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefairway, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Nicola & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We would recommend this hotel to anyone. David and Nicola provide a lovely warm and friendly atmosphere and it is like home from home. The home cooked food was wonderful with a good selection and we would definitely return again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefairway, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you and looking after you and we so look forward to accommodating you again. We are so pleased you felt so comfortable here and enjoyed the meals, enjoy this good weather we are having and we will see you next year.
Nicola & David xxxxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Wonderful place, lovely people, so hospitable. This was our first visit and we were made welcome from the moment we arrived by David and Nicola. So nice to be greated by a cup of tea. Breakfast was brilliant. As we were meeting up with friends in the evenings we only managed to have the evening meal on two occasions but it was well worth having and we only wished we could have dined there on more occasions,. Thank you David and Nicola for looking after us so well and we even enjoyed David's jokes. Will definitely book again next time we visit Torquay.

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefairway, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thank you Anne and Ernest,what a pleasure it was meeting you both for the first time. We all had lots of laughs and fun which makes our job so much easier and contributes to you having a good holiday.
Keep smiling
Nicola & David xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Dave & Nicky always give a warm friendly welcome. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the meals very tasty. I often stay at Tor Dean twice a year and occasionally three times a year.
I have also brought friends with me who alos enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefairway, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thank you Peter for your lovely review. It has been a pleasure accommodating you over the past 10 years, and meeting all your lovely friends too. It is lovely that guests come back year after year and helps us to run a friendly establishment. We look forward to seeing you again next May and I am sure we will speak soon.
Nicola & David xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

This is our second year staying at this hotel. David and Nicola welcome you with open arms (and a cup of tea!). The food is brilliant and the rooms are the cleanest that I've ever known, infact I've never been to a hotel where the rooms are this clean. A friendly atmosphere, and you soon make friends with the other guests as well as a couple of jokes with David. Definetely coming back next year, because of the warm hospitality and the great food. This hotel is highly recommended from us, you would not be disappointed ! :D from the Manley family. Gordon, Janet, Gavin , Heidi and Stephanie (remember David no tomatoes hehe)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellybeanmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefairway, Owner at Tor Dean, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Thank you to the Manley family for their great review. We too had a great time with you all and it was a genuine pleasure accommodating you all again. You are already booked in for next year,the same rooms, just one thing make sure you come prepared for Dave's tricks.
Lots of Love
Nicola & David
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 km away
Court Prior
Court Prior
#67 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.3 km away
Capri Hotel
Capri Hotel
#91 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 km away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#105 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#22 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 km away
Kethla House
Kethla House
#29 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Iona Torquay
Hotel Iona Torquay
#51 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor Dean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor Dean

Property: Tor Dean
Address: 27 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Tor Dean 4*
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing