We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Bowling Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #17 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Sa45 9sg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bowling Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

My wife and I, together with my bowling club all had a wonderful time. Comfortable, clean, but rather small room. Excellent food. Efficient, friendly staff. Really enjoyed nightly entertainment. On occasions had to wait too long for the one lift (2nd lift was out of action for our entire stay)

Room Tip: Worth the extra to upgrade to a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    404
    131
    38
    29
See reviews for
334
288
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tonypandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

weekend stay with family at the derwent hotel good location, excellent value for the money, rooms need a little updating but very clean and comfortable . Breakfast and evening meal good choice.Staff were very helpfull and friendly , weekend entertainment excellent shirley bassey tribute .Only used leisure facilities wish we had more time to use other areas will visit again .

Room Tip: room 111 good size best two nights sleep for the first time normally don't sleep very good on ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynpugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just had a great weekend break at the Derwent for a Legends weekend to watch a Shirley Bassey tribute act. All staff were very friendly and helpful always ready to help. Rooms are o.k. nice and clean and comfortable, food in the restaurant was very good and our waiter "Michael" was excellent. On friday night we wen to the Albert bar which id part of the complex and had a great night with the resident singer. On saturday being a welshman it was even better, we saw our fabulous rugby team win at Twickenham in Alberts bar, the day got better when we watched Debbie Farrell`s tribute to our welsh wonder Shirley Bassey and fair play it was brilliant. This was our fourth time at this complex and it didn`t fail to please, I will certainly be back again, thanks to everone at the complex foe making our weekend a great experienc.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pontypandy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We only had a weekend there, but what we had was brilliant.
We were there as part of a 'Christmas works do' in February. It was a Soul/Motown weekend. Not exactly my choice in music, but what we saw was excellent. The effort from the singers was extraordinary. They deserved all the applause given. I have never seen a dance floor so packed on both nights.

The room we were allocated was clean and had all we needed for a hotel stay. Luckily it was on the first floor as it was quicker to walk up the stairs (with arthitic knees) than wait for the lift.
The food was excellent and a varied choice. The waiter was the best Ive ever encountered. We didnt get his name, but he was Polish, with blonde hair and glasses. He couldnt do enough for us. He was chatty and funny and made meal times most enjoyable.

As it was just a 2 nights stay with so much entertainment to see within the complex, we didnt manage to see it all. Maybe another visit is needed very soon.

How the hotel was ever given only 2 stars is a complete mystery as it was definitely worth more.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanny-ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We thought the hotel was good value for money at this time of year. The location is excellent and also being allowed into any of the facilities of the 4 hotels in the resort gave good variety for all tastes in respect of day time activities and evening entertainment. We prefer going out every day travelling around Devon and out to different pubs and bars in the evening, so probably didn't benefit from all that the hotel has to offer, but for anybody who wants all the facilities and entertainment on site, especially for families or anyone who cannot get out and about too easily then this hotel is perfect. Our room was clean and quite spacious - my only problem was that the hot water was too hot and I had to run a lot of cold water into my bath for it to be bearable. We were only on Bed and Breakfast so I cannot comment on the evening meals, but breakfasts were fine with good service and hot food. My only small complaint here was that we had to keep asking the waitress for more butter, as there were only 2 small packs on the table and the extra packs which she brought were straight from the fridge and therefore hard and difficult to spread. My other half lost his mobile phone on a Stagecoach bus and reception staff were very helpful in helping him locate it in taking calls from the Stagecoach depot.

Room Tip: We were in room 135 on the first floor, which was right next to the fire door which was open during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is a 2 star Hotel with 3star food and 5star entertainment and leisure facilities. Bedroom we had had got the washing basin in the bedroom with toilet and bath en suite...felt this was unacceptable. One mattress was so old and thin it was uncomfortable for a five year old. A four year old in our party was sick in the bed overnight, and it wasnt until going to bed the next night we realised that the sheets had not been changed!! The floorboards in the corridors and bedrooms creaked unbelievably...very noisy. Simple things were not fixed, like the bath plug which had no chain attached-could have been fixed very easy. It appears Hotel Management do not leave their offices at any time to inspect the rooms. alltold a nice Hotel but could be so much better with a little effort.

Room Tip: When booking specify room with full en suite facilities and good beds as part of your booking condit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ringley84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taken the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay. I was surprised to read some of your comments regarding the changing of a bed sheet and the broken chain on the plug. This will be addressed with our head housekeeper. We do have good systems in place to address issues of this nature. I could not find a record of you making us aware a child had been ill in a bed during the night, but concede that the housekeeper should have picked this up the following day. We would not normally change bed linen every day, but the bed should have been changed at least once during your 3-night stay. I have made notes on your booking profile to avoid you being allocated a room with a sink in the bedroom should you visit us again. We continue to invest in our bedrooms removing the sinks as we refurbish. We have just completed 4 more full room refurbishments this month. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel to discuss this further. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We recently stayed at the Derwent as part of a family 60th birthday celebration weekend. There was 32 in our party ranging from 6 months to 60+ so it is always hard to book a weekend that suits everybody. The TLH has tried really hard to meet this criteria and offered excellent value for money. We paid a very reasonable rate for a motown weekend, bed, breakfast and evening meal and all-inclusive drinks from 6pm - 11pm. Before we arrived we were warned by other family members that the hotel was a little dated and shabby. The lobby is stuck in a 70's time warp and the stairs and lifts (only one working) are laughable. The lift is like walking into a broom cupboard and the stairs are very narrow, steep and not easy to find to find! I thought I was going to perform CPR on an elderly gent who was struggling with the stairs and had to stop and catch his breath after every step. Having eventually found our family room (sleeps 4) we just stood and laughed! The carpets are threadbare, the beds have plastic sheets under the cotton ones and are uncomfortable and old. The room was cramped for four, there was only one power socket in the entire room and the deco left a lot to be desired (very dated and tired). However, it was clean and warm and the staff were attentive to requests for more pillows etc. The food in the dining room was surprisingly good and the staff worked hard to serve us quickly and efficiently. The drinks package proved to be excellent value for our large party, however you had to que to be served for upto 20 minutes during the busy part of the night and was only allowed two drinks per visit. The enternainment was OK on the first night, awfull on the second night and on the third night catered for the more mature guests. To sum our weekend up, nice family get together but would probably not return again unless it has a major revamp.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms for the less able.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,442 reviews
0.1 km away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.1 km away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#34 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#33 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.2 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Property: TLH Derwent Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#17 Business Hotel in Torquay
#25 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#34 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing