We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pensioners Party!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pensioners Party!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I booked a week to take a group of pensioners to the Derwent and had a great stay, the hotel and the amenities were excellent. The staff were fantastic and nothing was to much trouble for them. We are already planning our return visit.
Brlliant

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    405
    133
    38
    29
See reviews for
335
289
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abertillery, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Weekend stay with friends at the Derwent. Our room was spotless and well maintained but a little dated. We stayed on a B&B tariff so did not sample evening meals but the breakfast was very good. We did have a meal in Albert's Bar which was very good and excellent value.The entertainment during our stay was very good except for the duo on the Saturday night. The pool area and all its facilities were very good. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.We have stayed a few times before and always had a great time and will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westieaber36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

this was about our 6th visit but we will probably not return as standards seem to have dropped drastically ...............on arrival entrance stairs now very shabby from car park and littered..entertainmement was good with plentyof variety.food was hit and miss with pancake day a major flop with 1 wafer thin pancake for sweet.the room was very drab with the floor having lumps all over it and in major need of a refurbish.staff still very friendly and room cleaning still very good.the price of our break was reasonable but with food and restaurant standards dropping and rooms so bad our past happy memories will not be enough for us to return

Room Tip: stay at 1 of their other hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for providing your feedback. During the February half term we had to grit outside our entrances to avoid people slipping on the icy roads and car parks. This did mean the entrances were not always looking their best, as the grit would have been constantly walked in. I have highlighted your comments to our management teams to avoid a reoccurrence and to ensure these areas are checked more frequently.
On your food comments I would like to make the following points. Our February comment card report for the Derwent indicated that 86.7% of people thought our evening food offering was either good or excellent and 90.7% said that our breakfast was good or excellent. Food service standards were at 87.4% for the month, again this represents guests saying service was either good or excellent. Food comments in general have been very strong for the past few years. We will continue to strive to improve all areas of our business and listen to all feedback. It is true that your view is the only one that matters to us, in relation to yourself. We hope that our rooms represent good value for money when considering our offering, which includes free daytime and evening entertainment and the use of our extensive leisure facilities. We will continue to invest money in our bedrooms as well as our public areas to raise our standards. I am truly sorry that you felt that this visit did not compare to previous visits. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sa45 9sg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

My wife and I, together with my bowling club all had a wonderful time. Comfortable, clean, but rather small room. Excellent food. Efficient, friendly staff. Really enjoyed nightly entertainment. On occasions had to wait too long for the one lift (2nd lift was out of action for our entire stay)

Room Tip: Worth the extra to upgrade to a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonypandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

weekend stay with family at the derwent hotel good location, excellent value for the money, rooms need a little updating but very clean and comfortable . Breakfast and evening meal good choice.Staff were very helpfull and friendly , weekend entertainment excellent shirley bassey tribute .Only used leisure facilities wish we had more time to use other areas will visit again .

Room Tip: room 111 good size best two nights sleep for the first time normally don't sleep very good on ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynpugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just had a great weekend break at the Derwent for a Legends weekend to watch a Shirley Bassey tribute act. All staff were very friendly and helpful always ready to help. Rooms are o.k. nice and clean and comfortable, food in the restaurant was very good and our waiter "Michael" was excellent. On friday night we wen to the Albert bar which id part of the complex and had a great night with the resident singer. On saturday being a welshman it was even better, we saw our fabulous rugby team win at Twickenham in Alberts bar, the day got better when we watched Debbie Farrell`s tribute to our welsh wonder Shirley Bassey and fair play it was brilliant. This was our fourth time at this complex and it didn`t fail to please, I will certainly be back again, thanks to everone at the complex foe making our weekend a great experienc.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pontypandy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We only had a weekend there, but what we had was brilliant.
We were there as part of a 'Christmas works do' in February. It was a Soul/Motown weekend. Not exactly my choice in music, but what we saw was excellent. The effort from the singers was extraordinary. They deserved all the applause given. I have never seen a dance floor so packed on both nights.

The room we were allocated was clean and had all we needed for a hotel stay. Luckily it was on the first floor as it was quicker to walk up the stairs (with arthitic knees) than wait for the lift.
The food was excellent and a varied choice. The waiter was the best Ive ever encountered. We didnt get his name, but he was Polish, with blonde hair and glasses. He couldnt do enough for us. He was chatty and funny and made meal times most enjoyable.

As it was just a 2 nights stay with so much entertainment to see within the complex, we didnt manage to see it all. Maybe another visit is needed very soon.

How the hotel was ever given only 2 stars is a complete mystery as it was definitely worth more.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanny-ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
0.1 km away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.1 km away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#30 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#34 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.8 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Property: TLH Derwent Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#17 Business Hotel in Torquay
#25 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#34 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing