We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good weekend break at the Derwent”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #19 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Rhondda
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good weekend break at the Derwent”
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Stayed at the Derwent in Feb2011 to celebrate my birthday and had a good time, plenty to do at this complex of hotels, fab indoor pool and amenities at the Derwent were very good. Food was very good, room clean and tidy and staff were very cheerful and always helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pontypandy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    420
    143
    39
    29
See reviews for
342
304
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Very nice place clean and pleasant however not very updated the rooms are old decor and a lot of old people stay there because of the bowls I think (me and my boyfriend are in our twenties so it didn't really apply!) but we only stayed one night and enjoyed the nearby shopping centre and the zoo and the Indian restaurant Bombay express just up the road was lovely

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawny1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Needed some down time, after busy Christmas and New Year, so the all inclusive break at the Derwent seemed the perfect solution, and we were not dissapointed. Great British House Party was great, food excellent, staff very attentive, great room, all newly refurbished, on the down side, there was quite a lot of work going on there at present, but only for the betterment for guest's for the summer season, entertainment was good standard, and the K.J. Sounds night was brilliant. Last but not least, the swimming pool, and spa were excellent, so once again Thank you for a great few days stay at the Derwent, and will definatly be visiting again this year.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We booked a 3 night all inclusive break at TLH, accomodation in The Derwent. If you like a couple of drinks of an evening and brilliant entertainment this is the package for you. Fantastic 25m swimming pool.There was dancing and entertainment each evening of our stay. The dining room was delightful with lovely friendly staff the restaurant manager made every guest feel special. Excellent place for a family stay with loads to do in the play zone and great for couples too.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana_P57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Stayed at the Derwent for our Daughters 18th and had an absolutely fabulous time. 22 of us alltogether and the ages varied between 9 yrs and 75 yrs, found something for everyone to do and the evening entertainment was very great (motown weekend) and staff very helpful.
Only one very small moan and that was it was very hot in rooms and corridors BUT if it was cold we would have probaly moaned about that. We are going back in April for our nieces 30th as it was a great place for everyone to get together.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giffey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Once again a fantastic stay at the Derwent and would highly recommend to others.
The staff are to be commended on their hospitality to each individual, they try their best to accomodate every need.
The hotel has achieved and retained the Investors in People award which in itself from an establishment as big as this is quite an achievement. The ethos of the hotel reflects in its staff'
I regularly have emails and checkout their website for any offers there may be just for the 'excuse' to return!!
Already booked for the summer and i'm sure i can squeeze easter and whitsun in too!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytilmademad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

This was our 7th stay at this hotel,good value for money.Food good,entertainment good,we took our friends this time and they were impressed by facilities,cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 km away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#26 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.6 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
0.1 km away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#32 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#31 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Property: TLH Derwent Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#17 Business Hotel in Torquay
#25 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#34 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing