We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab chinese”
Review of Phoenix Gold

Phoenix Gold
Ranked #222 of 377 Restaurants in Torquay
Description: All You Can Eat --- Chinese & Thai Buffet Open For Lunch & Dinner Food Freshly Cooked Everyday Family Friendly
Restaurant details
Description: All You Can Eat --- Chinese & Thai Buffet Open For Lunch & Dinner Food Freshly Cooked Everyday Family Friendly
Reviewed October 23, 2018 via mobile

Just been here for a fab chinese.excellent service and food..
Highly recommend the satay chicken skewers as a starter...best ever.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank debs043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 48 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

As part of our holiday in Torquay, we were eager to eat out and seek out a Chinese restaurant. We were pleased to stumble on this place as it had beautiful decor and the host was so wonderfully friendly and inviting. We were shown to a lovely table for two and proceeded to have a lovely conversation with the host. We then ordered our food, of which we were given some recommendations. Once it arrived we were not dissapointed. The food was ample, tasty and nicely presented. We received good service and would definitely go back if we visit again!

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank Patsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

While on holiday earlier this year we called in to this resteraunt and were disappointed with the buffet type service. The food cold and very little food left.
However with the return of the owner who had been away looking after an elderly relative normal service has been restored, the table service returned and a good chef from London Chinatown installed. If you have stayed away give it a try again.

Date of visit: September 2018
3  Thank paulsea01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

We visited this resteraunt in March but were unimpressed by the buffet type offering. We were told DC that things had changed for the better so we went to see for ourselves.
What a transfmation, it appears that the es owner was away for a while we caring for an elderly relative and appointed a manager to look after the business but on her return she realised that all was not well.
However she has returned to the menu that worked so well in the past.
The food was delicious as the service second to none. A vast improvement to our last visit. Do give it a try.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix Gold R, Manager at Phoenix Gold, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2018

Thank you very much for your review and we will continue to provide best service as we can

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018

Me and my husband came in here after being extremely disappointed in another Chinese just up the road from 2 days before. We were so so so delighted to have found this place. The food is to die for! Traditional Chinese cuisine. I was told the chef has been a chef in china for 10 years and the other chef has been a chef for over 20 years, working in places like China Town! And I have read below that many other guests have said the old reviews should be ignored due to it being a buffet previously (and owned by different people), which I completely agree with since it is now under new management. The staff are extremely friendly, our food came so quick (unlike the previous Chinese we had tried in the area) and the food is fairly priced, for what we had would have cost us at least £100 in London. This restaurant definitely deserves to be a lot busier than it is. Do not let previous reviews from the buffet stop you from trying this lovely restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank sophie123666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phoenix Gold also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Phoenix Gold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing