We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average and quite pricey!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliff Railway Cafe

Cliff Railway Cafe
Ranked #3 of 9 Dessert in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Open 364 days a year serving freshly cooked breakfast, lunch, homemade cakes and scones. Ice cream kiosk open all year with 22 flavours of icecream and milkshakes available. Uninterrupted views over Lyme Bay from floor to ceiling windows and a panoaramic view from our outside terrace. All meals are cooked to order and we use fresh locally sourced ingredients.
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very Average and quite pricey!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We visited this place on Good Friday for a spot of lunch as most other places were busy and as a party of 7 we were limited to where we could dine so thought we would give the Cliff Railway Cafe a go. A couple of us had the Brie and Cranberry Panini, this was ok but overloaded on Cranberry and tasted more like a jam sandwich! We also ordered cheesey chips, a crab sandwich and sasuage egg and chips. the cheesey chips came out with cheese just thrown on the top and not melted, this had to be sent back to be grilled, the crab sandwich was fine, as was the sasuage egg and chips but all seemed very overpriced for what it actually was. I wouldn't return here for food, maybe just a drink next time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ll_crawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    97
    24
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TELFORD
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for a break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Visired on Monday 19th March.Weather was good so we sat outside and had a crab sandwich on granary bread followed by a cream tea . Food was excellent and they make a super latte also . The view from the patio outside is fantastic. We did go back a few days later for breakfast which was ok but we found the sausages not to our liking .

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LINDYLOO99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely clean cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

A lovely clean cafe at the top of the cliff railway. The cafe also had a lovely outdoor area where on a nice day you can relax with a snack or just a drink.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thechair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
610 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Nice cup of tea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Very welcome at the top of the funicular. Nice tea and cakes either before or after your jaunt to the beach below.!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank shish57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Worth it just for the view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

A nice cafe with a fantastic view over Lyme Bay.
It serves a traditional cafe style menu of sandwiches, panninis, baked potatoes etc.
I usually have a pannini which are very good, however the crisps that are served with them are hard to the point of being inedidble - must be a "Gourmet" brand.
The cakes always look delicious but haven't been tempted so far - maybe next time.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cliff Railway Cafe also viewed

Teignmouth, Devon
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Cliff Railway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing