We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (651)
Filter reviews
651 results
Traveller rating
456
140
38
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
456
140
38
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree barfirst classmajestic tourssteve laisterexcellent entertainmentsummer sizzlerrock n rollself drivecoach driverturkey and tinselthemed weekendentertainment managerbrilliant weekendour waitersea viewevery eveningweekend break
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 651 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2017

Nice Hotel, could maybe do with a facelift, comfertable rooms, good food, Grateful Entertainment, all in all a very pleasent stay Good Value, Good excursions, very helpful staff, our waiter Dougie was the best, will return.

Room Tip: Try and get a SeaView
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huw J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Great to know you will be back. Thanks from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2017 via mobile

Went to the 60s show at the Princess Theatre, Friday to Monday break. Been coming here for years and the value for money never ceases to amaze me (& I’m not a pensioner! ). Of course it’s not the Ritz but it’s a hotel with heart that does its best to accommodate their guests requests. Give me this over a corporate hotel anyday! Thoughtful coach availability for the theatre for those who wanted it and various excursions over the weekend. Excellent entertainment and as clean as any 5*. Free bar with great selection of drinks. Will be back again ! Thank you.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Smith666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Wonderful to know you will be back. Thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

A 10 hour journey from LIverpool to Torquay- 11-16th September 2017,
The coach did not have a toilet on board- The journey to Torquay had 2 -stops for break- We where told by driver that Majestic do not supply coaches with toilet facilities
We where disappointed when we arrived as the Hotel was old and in need of refurbishment.
The staff who served food where brilliant- and couldn't do enough for guests.
however the same could not be said about bar staff.
The coach driver named Paul who took us on trips during our break - on return journey home he only made one toilet break as he was getting off at Stoke and then next driver only stopped when he was asked to and guests had to use toilets at council offices in Crewe
Would not recommend this holiday- especially if you have a weak bladder.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Extremely upsetting to hear of your displeasure. Please let me answer in three respects:

Coaching Experience - Majestic provides a variety of coaches, some with facilities. On this occasion there were none, though we do stop for breaks. Most clients prefer no on board toilet due to the unpleasant odours when you sit within their vicinity. As long as we stop for breaks, we have no issues. Travelling time by coach from Liverpool is long and unfortunately on the week you travelled there were numerous car incidents on the M5, extending the journey as I have explained on a previous comment. In regards to stops, there are a number of points that toilets can be used, twice on designated driver breaks and also at a number of the departure points such as coach stations. At any time the driver will pull in to any motorway services at a customer's request. I am so sorry if this was not made clear.

The Hotel - I believe your travelling experience prejudiced your view of the hotel. Your poor review of cleanliness and service does not match that of all our other clients as can be seen in their reviews. Yes, it is an old hotel, but all bedrooms are refurbished and immaculate. We proudly hold a 5 star hygiene certificate.

The Bar - Your holiday included a nightly free bar. This can put a lot of pressure on the bar staff who must serve 150 guests and ensure responsible drinking. This can sometimes slow service. At no time should they ever appear rude. Their approach and manners to clients are being currently addressed by management to ensure all staff provide the exceptional level of customer service we all expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017

stayed here for a few days was lovely rooms really nice food great and staff friendly , in a great location not far from the town ,went with majestic tours , would go again , met some lovely people , more for the older generation , entertainment was really good

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jackiegeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Thank you Jackie. Great to have you stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2017

We have been to this hotel on numerous occasions, always value for money and entertainment is brilliant especially Steve Laister, Andy Oakley and the female vocalists first class. My only complaint would be the food , compared to our visit 2 years ago when meals were excellant the quality of meals now are disappointing. Our coach driver Paul is very entertaining and made the trip very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Great to have you back Lyn. Very upset to hear food was not up to expected standard. We had a temporary stand-om chef who it appears, from you report, was not up to standard. We are back to normal staff now and the food should be as good as ever. Really sorry that it may have not been right during your stay. Please remember to let us know at the time and we will act immediately to resolve any issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews