We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock & Roll Weekend at the Templestowe Hotel”
Review of Templestowe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Templestowe Hotel
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 October 2017

we arrived as a party of 10. our luggage was portaged to our allocated bedrooms which we found clean and tidy, attended a meet & greet and all info was passed to us. We found the food very good and Entertainment excellent, the Bar preferences were explained regarding free drinks, the staff were most courteous and as a group we intend to repeat this experience next year.
Thank You to all the staff at the Templestowe.

Room Tip: the front of the hotel is a little noisy, the rear a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bm007j8388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Fantastic to hear you all had a great time and thank you for your promise to return. It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for the kind remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017

Just returned home from the templestow hotel after a great weekend away with a friend the hotel although it’s dated was clean and very comfortable,best hotel bed in a long time,and the walk in shower was great too,what a great atmosphere too the staff from the the cleaners and restaurant staff were very helpful and hard working nothing was too much trouble,it was a rock with laughter weekend and boy did we laugh,Paul and Simon were hilarious especially those it’s bits you denim shorts they did suit Paul to a tee,will definitely be booking again,see you next year

Room Tip: Sea view is quietest
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Great news to know you enjoyed your weekend so much. The team take great pleasure in knowing their efforts to provide a great experience are rewarded. Thank you, and looking forward to seeing you next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel staff great, rooms clean,food good selection & fresh & entertainment spot on ,we went for 4 nights & would definitely go again, apparently they do a good weekend break there which I will be booking

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fghu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Brilliant. So glad you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you again soon,=,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Had a lovely weekend at the Majestic Templestowe Torquay , with Friday night at the Princess Theatre for an incredible 60s experience , and a full weekend of great entertainment in the Hotel
The rooms are clean and comfortable, Food is pretty good, and all the staff are really helpful, and can’t do enough to make sure that your stay is as comfortable as possible, the value is tremendous,
The Hotel is reasonably close to Main Shopping area, which has most of the High Street Names,and a lovely place to go shopping, and within 10 miles is the Fabulous Trago Mills

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for your super review. It was a pleasure to host your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Nice Hotel, could maybe do with a facelift, comfertable rooms, good food, Grateful Entertainment, all in all a very pleasent stay Good Value, Good excursions, very helpful staff, our waiter Dougie was the best, will return.

Room Tip: Try and get a SeaView
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huw J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Great to know you will be back. Thanks from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Went to the 60s show at the Princess Theatre, Friday to Monday break. Been coming here for years and the value for money never ceases to amaze me (& I’m not a pensioner! ). Of course it’s not the Ritz but it’s a hotel with heart that does its best to accommodate their guests requests. Give me this over a corporate hotel anyday! Thoughtful coach availability for the theatre for those who wanted it and various excursions over the weekend. Excellent entertainment and as clean as any 5*. Free bar with great selection of drinks. Will be back again ! Thank you.



Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Smith666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Wonderful to know you will be back. Thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

A 10 hour journey from LIverpool to Torquay- 11-16th September 2017,
The coach did not have a toilet on board- The journey to Torquay had 2 -stops for break- We where told by driver that Majestic do not supply coaches with toilet facilities
We where disappointed when we arrived as the Hotel was old and in need of refurbishment.
The staff who served food where brilliant- and couldn't do enough for guests.
however the same could not be said about bar staff.
The coach driver named Paul who took us on trips during our break - on return journey home he only made one toilet break as he was getting off at Stoke and then next driver only stopped when he was asked to and guests had to use toilets at council offices in Crewe
Would not recommend this holiday- especially if you have a weak bladder.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Extremely upsetting to hear of your displeasure. Please let me answer in three respects:

Coaching Experience - Majestic provides a variety of coaches, some with facilities. On this occasion there were none, though we do stop for breaks. Most clients prefer no on board toilet due to the unpleasant odours when you sit within their vicinity. As long as we stop for breaks, we have no issues. Travelling time by coach from Liverpool is long and unfortunately on the week you travelled there were numerous car incidents on the M5, extending the journey as I have explained on a previous comment. In regards to stops, there are a number of points that toilets can be used, twice on designated driver breaks and also at a number of the departure points such as coach stations. At any time the driver will pull in to any motorway services at a customer's request. I am so sorry if this was not made clear.

The Hotel - I believe your travelling experience prejudiced your view of the hotel. Your poor review of cleanliness and service does not match that of all our other clients as can be seen in their reviews. Yes, it is an old hotel, but all bedrooms are refurbished and immaculate. We proudly hold a 5 star hygiene certificate.

The Bar - Your holiday included a nightly free bar. This can put a lot of pressure on the bar staff who must serve 150 guests and ensure responsible drinking. This can sometimes slow service. At no time should they ever appear rude. Their approach and manners to clients are being currently addressed by management to ensure all staff provide the exceptional level of customer service we all expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.6 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,235 reviews
1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,575 reviews
2 km away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 85 in Torquay
417 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.4 km away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templestowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templestowe Hotel

Address: Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: C$106 - C$211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Premier Entertainment Hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing